Chevron Left
Zurück zu SQL for Data Science

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für SQL for Data Science von University of California, Davis

4.6
Sterne
8,022 Bewertungen
2,086 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Top-Bewertungen

JP
5. Apr. 2020

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

MP
17. Juli 2020

best course for learning SQL for beginners.I learned so much from this course.the speaking language is also simple ..So i Recommended this course for beginners who's 2nd or third language is English.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 2,078 Bewertungen für SQL for Data Science

von shubham

24. Jan. 2019

i want my money back

von Sandipan C

11. Nov. 2019

The course was pretty good for a beginner. The instructor was very clear and explained all the concepts in a very easy to grasp manner. However, the entire course could do with more coding exercises. Concepts such as joins, group, etc could be better understood if there were more exercises. Also, during the coding exercise (at the end of the week) it would be really helpful if correct answer and an explanation would have been provided. Having said that, its really good for beginners and I would and have recommended this to others.

von Chloe W

31. Okt. 2018

=) Very clear walkthrough of important concepts in SQL and why use certain functions for certain tasks.

=( Wish there were more practice questions so it's more interative.

=( Also it would be great if there are more "real-life" SQL practices that involve solving for an actual question that you might encounter as a data scientist working for a tech company.

Thanks so much for sharing this with us, Sadie!

von Alex H

30. Juni 2020

Thought some of the intuitive thinking was a bit challenging, but really liked how the sqlite server was built into the course and didn't require any download or off-site work. Think some of the time estimates should be a bit longer, but overall good course.

von Prashanna G

5. März 2020

Good course for anyone starting to learn SQL but the course needs more assignments to ensure that the learners have got a good understanding of the concepts. Also, the final project is a bit overwhelming to do without prior experience in SQL.

von Deepak G

1. Juli 2020

A nice course for introduction with SQL but they could have used the software currently used in the industry like oracle's MySQL or SQL server.

von Rathindra M

1. Juli 2020

Would have been better if there was a chapter on connecting to an sql server from an application or gui.

von Nikhil S

30. Jan. 2019

Great course with great learning and an opportunity to apply that learning

von Kunal S

19. Juli 2020

Good for beginners

von Muhammad A B

30. Juni 2020

best courses

von Omer G

2. Juli 2018

While I did learn some useful bits, I found the course lacking. I think it could have been much improved if certain conditions would have been met:A. More practice! You don't learn a computer language by hearing about it, you learn by using it. The only practice this course had were the quizzes, and they were far from sufficient. I would expect each lesson to be followed by at least some practice. I often found myself venturing to different websites in order to practice what I had learned, and learned more from that than I did from the actual course.B. Better explanations. I found the explanations short and sometimes lacking. Moreover, at times there was no synchronization between what the instructor was saying and what was presented on screen (e.g. she was talking about products when the example presented data of employess). It's a small thing but can be very confusing. It is very important to be precise here. Again, I found myself reading elsewhere in order to better understand certain concepts, which I might as well have learned elsewhere altogether.C. Examples! Again, you don't learn a computer language by hearing about it. You learn by using it or by seeing how it is used. Whenever I'm taught something, I want to be shown examples of possible ways to use it. Examples were scarce and incomprehensive.D. Applicability. The course is called "SQL for Data Science", yet I found very little in the way of applying SQL to data science. I would expect a lot more tips and tricks and examples of real-life problems and how an actual data scientist would tackle them. There was almost none of that. There were positives as well. The instructor was pleasant, the course was pretty well structured and did provide an introduction (although not much more) to SQL. But I did not get what I was hoping for.

von Brent L

14. Aug. 2020

Examples, examples, examples. This course could be drastically improved by providing more concrete examples of each function, preferably one we can play and explore with in some exercise (not just a practice quiz) if not right there in the lesson (much like w3schools does). I felt that this would have increased my understanding, confidence, and proficiency exponentially.

von Madanuri N S

30. Juni 2020

This is really a good basic knowledge course. Actually the more usable commands will be convered

von Toby C

13. Juli 2020

I felt the course was put together in a hurry. There was a lot of information that was incomplete or just plain incorrect. The assignments were even more vague than I was expecting. OTOH It does lead you through learning very basic SQL.

Too much focus was given to SQLite which is not an industry standard. Perhaps using a free DBMS like Postgres or MySQL would have been better. Are there any interactive T-SQL or Oracle engines that could be put in a box like the SQLite here?

von Ana

9. Juni 2020

This is the first course from Coursera that I didn't like at all. For absolute beginners is not suitable. There is only theories and somehow boring because there isn't any examples to do at the same time to understand the content better.

I recommend to add more examples to the weekly courses like the ones for the final project so we can understand the theory more.

von Jan C

12. Sep. 2020

It stars strong, but on weeks 3-4 it lacks comprehensive examples and guidelines, and that makes you feel lost. Also, the final assignment is very hard, and it asks things in a non-comprehensive manner, which makes you spend a lot of time until you understand what they are asking you.

von Jibran A

20. Aug. 2020

The teacher has really good knowledge of SQL and I really respect her for that, but as someone who is not familiar with SQL finds it difficult to give quiz without any side by side practice of the topic

von Ahmad S

21. Juli 2020

Nice course! Only giving it low stars because the assignments are so out of data. Please update your assignments corresponding to updates to Database.

von Salim A

1. Juli 2020

It's very basic SQL, definitely not challenging for anyone with SQL experience

von Chank C

11. Aug. 2020

Could you please give at least ***ONE EXAMPLE*** for each function introduced in lecture videos???

At week 3 & 4, more complex functions/features were introduced with ***JUST CODES, NO SAMPLE OUTPUT***!? How do you expect me to know what the output would be?

You may say I could run the code and to it myself, I learn better that way. True, BUT it is the situation of "1-minute job for you, but 10-minute job for me". You are leveling up the bar of who can benefit from the course - this should not be the case for beginner level course!

von Rashid S S

28. Juli 2020

The course was not easy to understand. Because the lessons were not sufficient enough to understand the questions in quiz and final exams. I think if all the things are described in a more elaborate fashion with a lot of examples it would be easy for the learners. Actually in this course I've to relay more on google and internet rather than my course lessons which was very disappointing. I personally think this course is not for a beginner student who really wants to learn about sql.

von Octavio I

14. Juni 2020

The Course examples were very little. Demonstration of new commands while teaching them would've been very helpful. But, there were little to no examples related to the teaching materials. There were gaps in concepts that required further reading to understand. Some syntaxes were used before being taught.

von Victoria A

14. Juli 2020

I can't pay for the course to get certificate. The free 7 days subscriptions never ends. So I can't send the tests to get results and get the certificate.. Lost a lot of time... Too bad

von Treston W

16. Juni 2020

This course is incredibly poorly designed and does not provide sufficient guidance to learn SQL.

von Rajnish K J

5. Juli 2020

Most of the command line does not work.