Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Typography

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Typography von California Institute of the Arts

4.8
stars
2,897 Bewertungen
561 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top-Bewertungen

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

Filtern nach:

476 - 500 von 534 Bewertungen für Introduction to Typography

von Gyula W

Jan 23, 2017

Course stuff could have better interaction and response time and grading could be more challenging.

von Chris L

Sep 24, 2019

it felt a lot the same as another course but teaches you how to look from another perspective too

von Robert O A

Aug 25, 2017

Interesting entry lesson to typography and went through all basic rules of thumb on how to think.

von Sasha B

Mar 29, 2017

Good short course. I would have like a few more quizzes on top of the assignements for repetition

von Amélie P

Jun 02, 2018

Really cool course! But it was really to short. More lectures and more projects should be great.

von Abbie W

Apr 12, 2017

I would like some input from the instructors on all the Graphic Design specialization courses.

von P Z C

May 27, 2017

Typography got really interesting after the teacher told many different artists in history.

von Christine S

Feb 05, 2017

Very basic introduction to typography. The material a bit more simplistic than I had hoped.

von 邱菁

May 16, 2016

Nice course! Hope the teacher can give us more instruction about how to design typography.

von Shaivy B

Oct 17, 2017

not being able to submit my assignments even though I took a financial aid, please help

von spencer z

Aug 06, 2017

i would prefer more case study or posters comparison! but still, this class is awesome!

von Sandesh S

Feb 22, 2017

The course was really fun and I learned a lot. I wish there was more to this course.

von Joly F Z

Jun 14, 2018

A good intro course to Typograph - with basic information and practical skills.

von James H

Apr 01, 2018

A few key snippets here and there have really enhanced my typographic fluency.

von Masahiro S

Dec 01, 2016

I could learn this course in the "step by step" way, by refined assignments.

von Michelle G

Sep 11, 2017

This one really got me thinking about typography in new and different ways.

von Edward G C

Jun 24, 2016

Es un buen curso sobre tipografía... Debería tener subtítulos en Español.

von wessam

Aug 27, 2018

love this course , open mind to realize a typography process in design

von Carolina A

Mar 16, 2018

Nice introduction for the typography and some important bases to start

von Lisa H

May 06, 2017

Nice course that will give you a great understanding of typography.

von Ibrahim K

Dec 19, 2017

I think videos should include more about typography techniques.

von Rachel K

Apr 30, 2018

Very straightforward lessons with good practice techniques!

von caenn

Jun 30, 2016

Fantastic introduction to type, even if it's a tad short.

von Mohini R

Aug 18, 2016

I had fun with this course and learned new things.

von Benjamin g

Feb 22, 2019

Great way to learn terms and apply techniques.