Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Typography

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Typography von California Institute of the Arts

4.8
2,667 Bewertungen
532 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top-Bewertungen

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

Filtern nach:

476 - 500 von 509 Bewertungen für Introduction to Typography

von spencer z

Aug 06, 2017

i would prefer more case study or posters comparison! but still, this class is awesome!

von Lisa H

May 06, 2017

Nice course that will give you a great understanding of typography.

von Alice H

Oct 20, 2016

The last assignment wasn't as specific, and I wound up giving people lower grades than I should've. Be more specific when you use the phrase "secondary piece". I thought it was referring to the notes we took, not the text that's supposed to go below the title and subtitle.

Really good class. It was very interesting.

von Bruce R

Feb 05, 2017

Fascinating and organized!

von Broderick S

Jun 20, 2016

Well-made videos. Assignments could be more rigorous. Not too much overlap with first course in specialization.

von yariv d

Mar 30, 2016

Very basic course. I enjoyed the lessons and the assignments. Gave some fundamental view and perspective about the field of typography.

von Annamaria J

Aug 28, 2017

I would rate this course 3.5 stars. I had to pause and rewind the videos a lot because they were fast and packed a lot of information, which is great but it was also sort of misleading that they appeared to be short videos but in reality they were rather "rushed". This course was less on hands in comparison with the first in this specialization, but altogether interesting and engaging.

von C. M C

Apr 15, 2016

I was not 100% motivated about this cours and I thought it would be easy...but I was wrong!, it was serious stuff to deal with typo and I learn so much in the process, I saw some pretty works of my peers and it gave me the push to make my best!

von Leroy S

May 23, 2016

Very good overall explanations on the basics of Typography. Anther Kiley did a great job of explaining things in a simple yet detailed format. I never realized there was so much to letters and words in type!

von Harshal B

Nov 29, 2016

This is a fantastic course to start with Typography. This course will help you get the basics of typography and fonts. Highly recommended if you are starting out in this field.

von Patty N

Sep 13, 2016

Enjoyed the history of the typefaces

von Christine S

Feb 05, 2017

Very basic introduction to typography. The material a bit more simplistic than I had hoped.

von Brooke K

Aug 07, 2018

great course, i learnt a lot

von wessam

Aug 27, 2018

love this course , open mind to realize a typography process in design

von Rama A

Aug 13, 2018

This course is very good. Gave me a whole new experience with Letters. Powerful lesson in Typography. After this course, I have started noticing the words and their styles in almost everywhere I see them and in every brand.

Cons: Since the assignments are graded by peers, you won't always get a grade you expect. Peers are also learning and sometimes they grade and review according to their own perceptions and knowledge. Some can be at least fair if not generous ;)

von Chic C

Nov 22, 2018

Very good course. I find some parts very convoluted with information and very fast paced. I had to keep rewinding the videos to catch all the information because it was too much for one 4 minute video in most cases.

Besides from the inconvenience of having to stop and go back several several times, the information is amazing and the visual exercises are incredible.

I hate not being able to send my homework but oh well... no money.

von Joy S

Aug 20, 2018

surprisingly interesting and cool

von rwaa h

Jun 19, 2019

i think it is good

von Geeshian

Jul 04, 2019

Very informative, great content

von Rose G

Aug 02, 2019

I was excited to learn about typography, these assignments were fun to do. I wished there were more assignments to create more posters for this typography course, overall I enjoyed and learned a lot.

von Laurensia L S

Aug 21, 2019

It's very useful and clear, and I love Week 4's project. But the assignments and videos are less exciting than Fundamentals of Graphic Design.

von israa h h

Mar 09, 2019

nice

von E. C C

Jan 24, 2017

Basic overview of Typographical ideas, terms and so forth. A bit short and not very technical, but playing with Type as an integral part of design was really fun and inspirational.

von Rania M S M

Oct 27, 2017

i think some point in the course need more explanation , too much information in little time

i wish that the instructor give his feed back about all the assignments , this will be very helpful and useful , but the course is good and useful

von Carlise T

Mar 31, 2016

It was extremely high level. I would have appreciated more content in the videos.