Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Typography

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Typography von California Institute of the Arts

4.8
2,676 Bewertungen
535 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top-Bewertungen

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 509 Bewertungen für Introduction to Typography

von Yunshu

Jan 09, 2017

I have learnt a lot from this introduction course. The peer reviewed assignments also give me the opportunities to see works from other students and inspire me more. Thank you!

von Hezekiah A

Jun 19, 2017

I will recommend all student who attempted the graphic design course to also take on the introduction to typography, its necessary i n understanding fonts and their use.

von Lee S

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.

I really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.

Thanks for the great course!!

von Leisa W

Feb 17, 2017

This was my first introduction to Typography. I played around a little with calligraphy as a hobby. I learned so much from taking this class and by far my favorite.

von Ludmila S

Aug 28, 2017

Love it! Highly recommended!

von Aadit S

Jun 27, 2016

amazing course

von Jo-Anne D

Mar 24, 2016

Very informative.

von Carlos V W

Mar 20, 2017

Very goo

von Владимир К

Jul 26, 2016

G

von Nathaniel M Z

May 10, 2016

I love this course my introduction to typography is great. The lesson wasn't too much to handle. We focused on the basics and I learned to appreciate type and it's usage

von Laura E

Jan 10, 2017

VERY INTERESTING COURSE

von Daniel D

Mar 06, 2017

Great course!

von Natalia A

Oct 17, 2017

Love this course!

von Leticia C R

Jul 17, 2016

Loved the activities, it was a fun course to do.

von Ignacio R G

Nov 06, 2017

Good basics for beginners.

von Alicja S

May 06, 2016

It was really interesting and inspiring. Thank you!

von Arunava R

Jun 10, 2016

This is good introduction on Typography.

von Dulce A

Apr 07, 2016

I enjoyed the course, too much

von Keith W

Jun 08, 2016

I work with type regularly for my job, and I still learned a lot in this course.

von Monique D

Jan 10, 2017

Rich information about the main aspects of Typography for those who don't know where to start. It was a great experience for me.

von Wei-Ru L

Sep 05, 2016

Detailed knowledges of typography. It's also very practical for applying to any kind of design job.

von Nastassia

Mar 16, 2016

I do love this course!

von Dee M

Sep 14, 2016

Great course - really insightful

von fernando V S

Apr 05, 2016

What an Excellent option for studing outside home....Thanks Coursera!!!

von maria K

May 06, 2017

Great course!!!