Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Typography

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Typography von California Institute of the Arts

4.8
2,798 Bewertungen
548 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top-Bewertungen

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

Filtern nach:

151 - 175 von 522 Bewertungen für Introduction to Typography

von Dana R S

Oct 16, 2017

Recommended for beginners and self-taught typographers. Good explanation on basics and foundations.

von Shirlena R

May 24, 2016

This course also fed my artistic fantasy and allowed me to lose myself in knowledge. I'm still going over what I learned from this course in my head. I even create aside from this course. I don't want to stop and Professor Anther

von Filipe C V H

Apr 18, 2016

Excellent course

von Giorgio Z

Oct 30, 2016

I loved the course! Thank you

von Tianyin L

Feb 22, 2018

An enjoyable experience, good amount of information for a novice.

von Kolya K

Jan 26, 2018

Loved this course, would love to dog dipper after it.

von Ineke v E

Jun 12, 2016

Good course! Learned a lot.

von Kostas H

Mar 25, 2017

Just excellent. Very well organised, great narration, interesting homework.

von Juan C E

Nov 14, 2016

This course works as a reminder and as an inspiring turning point for my career. Great job curating the contents and choosing the teachers.

von Alicja S

May 06, 2016

It was really interesting and inspiring. Thank you!

von Arunava R

Jun 10, 2016

This is good introduction on Typography.

von Dulce A

Apr 07, 2016

I enjoyed the course, too much

von Keith W

Jun 08, 2016

I work with type regularly for my job, and I still learned a lot in this course.

von Oleg R

Feb 01, 2018

Very nice cource

von celina o

Mar 30, 2016

Very accessible, clear and well documented course

von Diana-Mihaela S

Aug 12, 2016

I highly recommend this course! Before taking it, typography was some sort of mystical art, now everything is crystal clear. Concise and to the point, the course allows you to gain essential knowledge.

von Anusha

Oct 15, 2017

I literally love this subject. It has given me a lot a of information from basic to advanced.

von Katty A

Apr 17, 2016

A very good introduction to typography. Makes you face some aspects of text editing that were obscure before. Assignments are not overwhelmingly hard but tricky in details and interesting for investigation and execution.

von Erhan D

Mar 23, 2016

All basics of typography. More advanced topics are next.

von Tigran G

Oct 23, 2017

I enter the world of typography, typeface, fonts, greeds, expressive posters and etc. It was realy cool

von Sarah N

Jul 10, 2017

lot's of info .. recommended for anyone in the design industry

von Tarang S

Mar 28, 2017

This course is brilliant... that's all I can say.

von ilias b

Apr 08, 2016

I found this course very well organized and executed. There was clarity and focus in the lectures, and the exercises, should one apply themselves, proved a great space for putting things in practice, in a progressive and meaningful way.

von Abhilash V

Dec 24, 2016

Typography is an important part of graphic design.This course will give a brief introduction to the historical context of typography and the evolution of typography in this modern computerized age.A great course for those interested in graphics design and can be used as a refresher for the working professionals.

von Patricia M C

May 15, 2017

Maravilloso a pesar no manejarme en el mismo idioma puede aprender bastante con algo más de tiempo y esfuerzo