Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Typography

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Typography von California Institute of the Arts

4.8
2,678 Bewertungen
535 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top-Bewertungen

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

Filtern nach:

151 - 175 von 511 Bewertungen für Introduction to Typography

von Chi C

Feb 02, 2018

Great instructor. The assignment is challenging but useful. Thank you.

von John A W

Jan 26, 2017

I really enjoyed auditing the course as I've been meaning to take a short course on typography for a while. Some concepts I already knew, but others were new to me, especially some of the technicality of measuring and displaying type. For designers, I definitely recommend taking this course as part of a holistic graphic design concentration.

von Shivansh S

Mar 30, 2016

This is a very informative course. There are so many books available on Typography but I think this is best way typography can be defined for the graphic designer. As a person belonging to design and architecture fraternity, I would definitely recommend this course to every aspiring graphic designer and artist.

von Elisabeth Z

May 04, 2016

Great course - lots of detailed information. The teacher spoke clearly and very deliberate. However, I just wanted to audit the course.

von Juachi O

Sep 21, 2017

Really enjoyed this course. Helped me to really examine my typography choices instead of always working intuitively

von Gustavo P

Sep 26, 2016

Excellent teacher, course and specialization.

von Filipe C V H

Apr 18, 2016

Excellent course

von Giorgio Z

Oct 30, 2016

I loved the course! Thank you

von Courtney A

Apr 04, 2016

Very informative and a lot of fun to learn about! I also thought the assignments were very beneficial.

von Hernan A O R

Aug 13, 2016

Clear and so complete.

von Heidilee

Feb 01, 2017

Very interesting course!

von Trang P

May 17, 2016

This course was incredibly interesting and informative, even for an introduction class. The layout made a lot of sense even for someone with only a little bit of experience in typography. Definitely do all of the assignments because they have been planned out with a lot of care and thought to further your understanding in the topic.

von marwa

Dec 19, 2016

Great course!

von Akash S

Jul 11, 2016

one of the best courses I have taken

von Eugenia S

Aug 08, 2016

I like this course! It realy helps me to understand typography and its usage. Thank you!

von Samantha W

Feb 04, 2018

A very fun class.

von Cristina L F

Dec 12, 2017

Easy way in understanding type and getting extra insights on typographic design.

von Md. M

Apr 03, 2016

NICE course

von Joe C

May 13, 2016

this was a quick but engaging introduction to typography and typographical concepts.

von Jennifer C

Sep 01, 2017

Perfect content, homework design, and examples.

von Carlos L

Jun 16, 2017

excelent journey, very useful!!!

von WTWONG

May 05, 2016

i love it!!

von Megan M S

Nov 15, 2016

Interesting to learn the history and rules of typography and very helpful.

von Ginger H

Mar 23, 2016

I have been working with Typography for the last 10 years and still learned a lot from this course. Very informative and will be useful in the years to come.

von Jessika G

Aug 10, 2016

Excellent Course