Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Typography

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Typography von California Institute of the Arts

4.8
Sterne
4,016 Bewertungen
821 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top-Bewertungen

BG

Aug 04, 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

Filtern nach:

201 - 225 von 800 Bewertungen für Introduction to Typography

von Ramesh I

Jun 12, 2020

very informative and good basics. Must do this course and get a good historical grounding if you are keen on a career in design

von MD. T R

Jun 05, 2020

This course will help you to know in-depth about typeface and its use. After completing assignments I felt I grew as a designer.

von Monique D

Jan 10, 2017

Rich information about the main aspects of Typography for those who don't know where to start. It was a great experience for me.

von DILEEP K B

Feb 18, 2020

Amazing experience and skills I learned, not only how to do typography but also I learned How to see the letters in the world.

von Lisa A C

Oct 09, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed this. I won't look at type the same way again. Thanks to all those involved in making this course happen (:

von Fred R

Feb 19, 2017

I loved the course and learnt a lot. Spending one month working on the same font is a great way to learn to see it and use it.

von Tomelilla G

Mar 04, 2020

A fantastic course to give you the basics of typographic theory as well as practical skills for creating great type and text.

von Salem F A

Sep 22, 2019

This is helpful course to learn typography and different typefaces, and know what's the best typeface for your design to use.

von Benjamin H

Oct 05, 2017

Very clear and create video lessons. Examples shown were inspiring and I learned so much that I didn't know about typography.

von Eugen M

Aug 20, 2016

Perfect presentation.

Full of information, but, being excellent exposed, it's relatively easy to understand.

Excellent course!

von Wai Y M

Jul 21, 2020

This is a good course for those who like to improve typographic skill and for the one who wants to dive into graphic design.

von Yuliya S

Oct 27, 2019

It was interesting and informative for me. I like the presentation of the material - everything is clear and understandable.

von Daniela C V

Sep 08, 2019

Really great course! It explores the basics of typography while challenging the learners to practice the acquired knowledge.

von Andrés C M

Apr 29, 2018

One of the best decisions I've taken was to sign up for this course. If you are interested in graphic design, thi is a must!

von Miroshnikova I

Oct 30, 2017

Thank you for this awesome course! I am starting to understand now how typefaces work and what each of them is designed for!

von christy p

Jun 23, 2016

I really loved this course. I learned more than I ever expected and more than any school I paid double for could teach me!

von Claveau

Feb 01, 2017

My best of the 4th courses on Conception Garphic (impossible to register to the last courses which is Brand New Brand...)

von Jordan L P

Aug 09, 2020

It's absolutely lesson-filled and provides new yet intuitive techniques in using typefaces for design styles and themes.

von Claudia M L T C

Sep 20, 2020

A good way to learn about typefaces, their parts and how important it is to considerate text even for paraghaphs. Nice!

von Mariana L S

May 15, 2020

Great complementation of the first course. You really learn new skill who help you to create better typographic designs

von SaSha D

May 02, 2019

Amazing! Super helpful! I learned history, terms, helped me with my college courses, and built onto my portfolio. LOVE!

von Tevah P

Apr 14, 2018

The scaffolding of the assignments was really elegant and this class presented a lot of information in engaging videos.

von Мартин М

Mar 20, 2020

It was really great part of course, which gave me a lot of new knowledge. What i like the most - practical cases yeah!

von Justyna B

May 06, 2019

I absolutely enjoyed this course! Especially the little projects - I could actually see my progress. Really recommend.

von Muhammad T

May 03, 2016

Excellent course, I recommend this course to all learners, who want to get introduced with Typography and Typesetting.