Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Typography

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Typography von California Institute of the Arts

4.8
2,667 Bewertungen
532 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top-Bewertungen

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

Filtern nach:

201 - 225 von 509 Bewertungen für Introduction to Typography

von Nayari C

Sep 07, 2016

VERY NICE CLASS

von Heidilee

Feb 01, 2017

Very interesting course!

von Trang P

May 17, 2016

This course was incredibly interesting and informative, even for an introduction class. The layout made a lot of sense even for someone with only a little bit of experience in typography. Definitely do all of the assignments because they have been planned out with a lot of care and thought to further your understanding in the topic.

von marwa

Dec 19, 2016

Great course!

von Katarina B

Nov 10, 2016

very good quality, very good teachers.

von Blanca

Apr 26, 2016

very useful

von Ethan M

Jan 14, 2018

I highly enjoyed this class. I found it very helpful crash course on typography. The activities were engaging enough to help me understand more of the importance of typography in graphic design

von Diogo M

May 01, 2018

This course will help you view written text in a completely new light! You will learn basic vocabulary to describe fonts and vital clues for better text organization and hierarchy construction.

You will also get a glimpse of how a font can be molded to express a feeling, this is particularly useful for poster design.

The exercises are peer reviewed and consistent across the course, in a way that allows you to reevaluate your previous work.

The knowledge I got here improved the way I write simple documents, but also the way simple changes to your style can make a huge difference for the reader.

Thank you

von Jessika G

Aug 10, 2016

Excellent Course

von Julie L

Aug 05, 2016

Very interesting, you have to always push your limit and experiment to benefit this course!

von Diana A

Jun 29, 2016

An excellent course, I learned a lot.

von Nicole F

Jun 08, 2016

For a short course it worked out very well.

von Priscila G

Nov 17, 2017

Really liked the course, a lot of the great information!

von Nakash

Jun 14, 2016

i learn many thing form Introduction to typography.its really good course

von Gayatri S

Feb 03, 2018

Very Helpful Course. Thank You!

von Geraldine D

Apr 19, 2017

Nice course : good explanation and interesting assignement

von Claveau

Feb 01, 2017

My best of the 4th courses on Conception Garphic (impossible to register to the last courses which is Brand New Brand...)

von Francesca S

Jan 22, 2018

It was a great opportunity to learn the basics of typography. I truly enjoyed it!

von Sherly N G

Nov 24, 2016

The typography is well- explained. The important typeface history also covered. It will be very useful to those who will become a typographer. it suits for beginner well. thanks, sir. i learned about the typography well. Your assignments are very helpful to me.

von Tatsiana T

Oct 17, 2016

Thank you so much!

One of the best online courses I've had before.

von Yiyang Z

Jul 10, 2017

My favorite course in the Graphic Design specialization. The course is very informative, structured, and well-edited. I really enjoyed Anther's lectures. In addition, the mentors and the instructor responded to questions in the Discussion Forum thoroughly and promptly.

von MARISOL P V

Sep 30, 2017

Very good introductory course!

von José R S L

Sep 27, 2016

Fun and enjoyable. It has also helped me a lot at work. If you work in Marketing, Advertising and/or Design you'll love this course

von Guo Y

May 03, 2017

favorite one of this series!

von Natasha G

Dec 28, 2016

Dear Teacher,

thank for your perfect introduction and explanation of the Typographie.

I really enjoyed all 4 weeks. It was my pleasure to learn from you! Very understandable videos and i learned a lot! Thank you! I will enroll further :) I wish you all the best in your future work!