Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Typography

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Typography von California Institute of the Arts

4.8
2,794 Bewertungen
548 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top-Bewertungen

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

Filtern nach:

201 - 225 von 522 Bewertungen für Introduction to Typography

von Hernan A O R

Aug 13, 2016

Clear and so complete.

von Utku K

Jun 22, 2016

Nice course.

von Anusha

Oct 15, 2017

I literally love this subject. It has given me a lot a of information from basic to advanced.

von Jessika G

Aug 10, 2016

Excellent Course

von Md. M

Apr 03, 2016

NICE course

von OlgaYermolina

Dec 01, 2017

very informative

von Diana-Mihaela S

Aug 12, 2016

I highly recommend this course! Before taking it, typography was some sort of mystical art, now everything is crystal clear. Concise and to the point, the course allows you to gain essential knowledge.

von Olena

Jun 05, 2017

Great course that covers basics you need to know in order to move in GD direction!

von celina o

Mar 30, 2016

Very accessible, clear and well documented course

von Luka D

Apr 06, 2016

Excellent course as a graphic design practitioner and avid reader of typography books i still found plenty of new facts. Its very well thought through

von Katty A

Apr 17, 2016

A very good introduction to typography. Makes you face some aspects of text editing that were obscure before. Assignments are not overwhelmingly hard but tricky in details and interesting for investigation and execution.

von Diogo M

May 01, 2018

This course will help you view written text in a completely new light! You will learn basic vocabulary to describe fonts and vital clues for better text organization and hierarchy construction.

You will also get a glimpse of how a font can be molded to express a feeling, this is particularly useful for poster design.

The exercises are peer reviewed and consistent across the course, in a way that allows you to reevaluate your previous work.

The knowledge I got here improved the way I write simple documents, but also the way simple changes to your style can make a huge difference for the reader.

Thank you

von Julie L

Aug 05, 2016

Very interesting, you have to always push your limit and experiment to benefit this course!

von Diana A

Jun 29, 2016

An excellent course, I learned a lot.

von Shubham Y

Nov 20, 2017

Good Course for beginners. Covers fundamentals of Typography.

von Muhammad T

May 03, 2016

Excellent course, I recommend this course to all learners, who want to get introduced with Typography and Typesetting.

von Ruping M

Nov 14, 2016

Great theory and practices.

von Assel N

Jul 12, 2016

This course is very informative and interesting! I will definitely recommend it to my friends.

von Jo-Anne D

Mar 24, 2016

Very informative.

von Lidia B

Apr 08, 2016

Plenty of information on various aspects of typography presented in detail and in a comrehensive manner, as well as engaging exercises really boost your knowledge and broaden your design horizons!

von Igor S F d A

May 14, 2016

It is a great oportunity to learn.

von Nayari C

Sep 07, 2016

VERY NICE CLASS

von Zackary A K

Jul 06, 2017

This was a very enjoyable introduction to Typography. The more I study typography, the more I am able to appreciate the high quality of this brief introduction.

von lhys

Sep 29, 2016

The videos are beautifully edited and interesting to watch. There's a good amount of information, without making the course overwhelming. The assignments are clear and focused on the content.

von Eugen M

Aug 20, 2016

Perfect presentation.

Full of information, but, being excellent exposed, it's relatively easy to understand.

Excellent course!