Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Typography

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Typography von California Institute of the Arts

4.8
Sterne
4,056 Bewertungen
830 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top-Bewertungen

BG

Aug 04, 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 804 Bewertungen für Introduction to Typography

von Chiara S

Apr 03, 2017

Would have liked to do the assignments if they weren't all locked by payment requirements

von Amanda W

Apr 17, 2016

Great introductory course, that really helped me to understand typography a LOT better. I now get what my friends are on about when they get all excited about typefaces! I really like the way that the course develops your knowledge, and gets you to practice and upgrade your skills as you go. Although it was only 4 weeks, I feel SO much more confident in my knowledge and understanding.

von Anand P D

Apr 19, 2018

A really useful course in learning about the basics of typefaces and typography. I was able to learn that Typography is what conveys the meaning in various designs compared to the other forms like colors and shapes. Also learning about the history of various typefaces and designers enabled a curiosity in me to learn more about the history of some of typefaces that i use often.

von Chana M H

Jun 15, 2018

I am finishing my final project and am amazed at how much I have learned in this abbreviated and accelerated course. As with all learning, you have to do a little unassigned research to expand on the info given, but the basics are nicely presented and easily understood.Thanks Coursera and CalArrs for this wonderful learning opportunity at such an affordable price.

von Balaji S

May 07, 2020

This was just a beautiful experience, what I originally thought would take me only a few minutes actually kept me thinking and diving dep into things that never thought I’d be diving into, this course just like the other courses gave me a few view on a few things and as my knowledge expands i start to notice a few tiny details that make all the difference.

von MOHAMMED T A

Sep 08, 2020

I learnt the value typography adds to graphic designing and how any graphic design work is incomplete without a good understanding of type. Also the course is designed in such a way that it gives you first hand experience of graphic designing by motivating you to learn more practically in form of assignments.

I love the course Instructors also!!!

von Anna E T

Nov 07, 2016

I really enjoyed this course as it made me stop, look, and think about the different elements within a typeface and how to typeset text in an interesting and professional way. Thank you for taking the time to make courses like this so easily available to those of us who do not have the time or money to travel long distances to a formal college.

von John A W

Jan 26, 2017

I really enjoyed auditing the course as I've been meaning to take a short course on typography for a while. Some concepts I already knew, but others were new to me, especially some of the technicality of measuring and displaying type. For designers, I definitely recommend taking this course as part of a holistic graphic design concentration.

von Teri L

Jun 24, 2018

This course was really interesting, brought about more awareness to my knowledge of words and typefaces and some histories of them. The assignments built upon one another and proved how working hard really pays off :) This was an easy to understand course, and definitely is essential if people want to go further into graphics design.

von Trang P

May 17, 2016

This course was incredibly interesting and informative, even for an introduction class. The layout made a lot of sense even for someone with only a little bit of experience in typography. Definitely do all of the assignments because they have been planned out with a lot of care and thought to further your understanding in the topic.

von Minjeong K

Jun 01, 2020

We learned about typography through the lens of historical context and learned to set type in ways that was expressive and legible. I have gained foundational knowledge that is already letting me see details in type in the real world that weren’t apparent before. The workload felt a tad lighter compared to the Image Making course.

von Fatin I

Aug 23, 2016

I've always wanted to learn typography but learning on it's own without any practice is really boring. The assignments are really good in applying what I have learnt, making the learning really enjoyable. The course teacher is super zen and loving his style of teaching. I would want to take this full design course some day.

von Mohd. U Y

Jun 30, 2018

This course came as a savior to me. I had to make a project report during my summer vacations, and I did not the technicalities that have to be looked upon in text. I am glad I joined the specialization and enrolled in this course as soon as the last one was complete. I had a fun time learning. Highly recommend it to all.

von Heleina E

May 02, 2016

I really enjoyed this course. I learned so much things and I feel like my typography skills just went up on a whole new level. Signing up to this course helped me understand all the stuff I've been reading about typography. They teach typography in a way that's so easy to understand and process. Highly recommended. :)

von Aymen J

Dec 15, 2019

I was always confused whenever I've heard the word typography. This course opened my eyes to the world of typefaces and made me discover the richness and beauty of typography. Now I feel that I have a better understanding.

I can not go without expressing my gratitude for allowing me to benefit from this opportunity.

von Abhilash V

Dec 24, 2016

Typography is an important part of graphic design.This course will give a brief introduction to the historical context of typography and the evolution of typography in this modern computerized age.A great course for those interested in graphics design and can be used as a refresher for the working professionals.

von Shivansh S

Mar 30, 2016

This is a very informative course. There are so many books available on Typography but I think this is best way typography can be defined for the graphic designer. As a person belonging to design and architecture fraternity, I would definitely recommend this course to every aspiring graphic designer and artist.

von Зубрихина А А

Sep 20, 2020

Hello! I'm Ann from Russia, and I'm really happy to have completed this course! I've found a lot of new information about typefaces, grids, and so on. Now, I'm ready to use it in my work! Thank you so much! I definitely will recommend this course to my friends if somebody gets interested in typography.

von Maria I F

Jul 24, 2020

This course is an amazing tool for anyone who is interested in design and may not know too much about it. I have always had a liking for fonts and typefaces, so this course was amazing to me. The course is easily digestible, the lectures are engaging and visually appealing, and the instructor is great.

von Jyotsna M

Sep 18, 2020

I found both the courses so far to the point videos precise and interesting and though (before I joined this course) I had worked with typefaces/ graphic designing yet gained a whole lot of confidence so feel thankful. The assignments were interesting and kept my brain on it's proverbial toes :)

von EminOj

Nov 17, 2018

It was one of the best online courses I have attended before. I liked syllabus and teacher. I boosted my knowledge about typography in English and knew good information about some specific typefaces as well. I recommend this course for everyone is interested in typography in English letters.

von Megan

Dec 12, 2017

Very interesting course. I learned a lot- about the history of typography, the importance of digital typography today, how to design a poster, different typefaces and their uses and meanings, etc. Highly recommend as an intro to typography class! Some knowledge of InDesign is helpful.

von Jory H

Aug 07, 2020

I really enjoyed this course! It really helped me to see type as a medium for creating an interesting compositions. I also really enjoyed learning about and exploring the history of type, it gave me a new respect for those who design typefaces and am eager to continue learning more.

von parvez a

Oct 27, 2016

I wish I would have found this course a little earlier in my career. I can now justify my usage of typeface in any projects.

The course is short and well thought.

I would really appreciate if there can be more assignments to design a brand identify, user interface, magazine layout etc.

von Mitali D

Sep 03, 2018

The course is very helpful and makes you develop a lot of typographic skills in just 4 weeks. The assignments are very interesting and helps in developing design skills and improves design thinking. The lectures are very explanatory and cover all the important areas of typography.