Chevron Left
Zurück zu What is Data Science?

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für What is Data Science? von IBM

4.7
18,705 Bewertungen
3,037 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people working in data science have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In this course, we will meet some data science practitioners and we will get an overview of what data science is today. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top-Bewertungen

BB

Feb 22, 2019

Excellent quality content! It's a great introductory course that really gets you interested in Data Science. I would highly recommend it to anyone curious in learning about what Data Science is about.

PD

Jul 19, 2018

I thought this course introduced the topic of data science very well. I think I have a much better idea how to describe data science and common terms associated with the field (like machine learning).

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 3,029 Bewertungen für What is Data Science?

von Kevin M

Mar 25, 2019

Very basic course, to be honest. The grading seemed to be dependent on memorizing exact quotes from videos. Looking forward to some of the more advanced courses in this series.

von Aman J

Jan 05, 2019

Videos often have disjointed or unrelated elements. Final week quizzes and mid-video questions often have useless or otherwise unhelpful reading questions. An example from week three's final quiz, "True or False: The Untied States Economic Forecast is a publication by McKinsey University Press." The answer is false and is covered in the reading, but the question has absolutely nothing to do with data science.

von Jianfei Z

Jan 10, 2019

Too much introduction. There is no need to spend so much time on it. People that take this course usually understand what is data science. they need to learn real knowledge, not spend the whole week on introduction.

von Pooja S

Apr 19, 2019

Too basic.

If you live under a rock and have never heard of Data Science, a Data Scientist or any terms related to this industry then this is a wonderful course for you.

For everyone else, it is a total waste of time.

von Lauren J

Mar 22, 2019

This was a good introductory course, especially as someone with basically zero experience in the field. I've been struggling with where to begin (should I take a course on Python? R? What languages are even useful? WTF is cloud computing?) And this course gave me a good starting off point. That said, it wasn't technical AT ALL. It's really just a bunch of "fireside chats" with data scientists, talking about the languages they use, what concepts they're used for, what knowledge is necessary and what isn't, etc. If you're looking for a "roadmap" to continue learning on Coursera, this is it.

This is exactly what I feel the college experience gives students that online or self-taught learning lacks: context. AKA there are a billion courses on Python on Coursera, but none explain WHY I'm learning Python. This course does that. I'd recommend this course for anyone looking to start with data science from zero.

von Xhuljana M

Jul 01, 2019

I liked this course very much. The way it is organised to collect different data scientists opinions about the same topic, make it very valuable to the ones who are starting the road to Data Science.

von Shubham P B

Sep 10, 2019

Very learning experience, I am a beginner in DS, but the instructors in this course simplified the contents that made me I could easily understand, tools and materials were very helpful to start with.

von Julian L G

Jan 03, 2019

Very, very basic... completely useless and a waste of time. I feel like the only purpose of this course is to drag out the certification process so that it costs you more money...

von Govardhana

Jun 02, 2019

Very nice course and it has a piece of very nice information taught by professionals. The content is related to the practical application of concepts which increase interest in you to proceed further

von Robert C

May 23, 2019

Good overview of data science, its history, and uses of data science.

von lianghui t

Jan 15, 2019

useless, wasting time

von Mark L

Jan 26, 2019

This course is not consistent with someone who would sign up for an entire certificate. This course is more suitable as a recruitment tool for a certificate program. Watching these videos was an absolute waste of my time.

von CHIN-HUNG, Y

May 23, 2019

Good for fundamental knowledge of data science and data scientists.

It is also inspiring for young people like me to get ready to step into the world of data science.

Great course

von Bradly

Feb 22, 2019

Excellent quality content! It's a great introductory course that really gets you interested in Data Science. I would highly recommend it to anyone curious in learning about what Data Science is about.

von Parker D

Jul 19, 2018

I thought this course introduced the topic of data science very well. I think I have a much better idea how to describe data science and common terms associated with the field (like machine learning).

von Akshay B

Apr 04, 2019

This is a great course for anyone willing to start exploring the field of Data Science. It starts with basic definitions with proper examples that helps one understand this field with a greater ease!

von Erik M

Jan 03, 2019

Friendly and gentle introduction to data science! Can't wait to go further...

von souro

Dec 31, 2018

It was a good introduction for everyone even novice.

von Nathan S

Jan 03, 2019

This was a nice and easy course, but the material was quite obvious and not new and could be included in one week lessons of another course.

von Francesco

Oct 31, 2018

Poor course overall, not much "meat". An introduction to the subject that could have been given in one hour of lessons.

von Weishi W

Oct 21, 2018

For what?

von Faisal C

Oct 25, 2018

The course doesn't teaches anything except for explaining data science benefits and examples.

von Huyen P

Jan 14, 2019

Good contents and brief understanding about Data Science

von Mahesh K

Jan 03, 2019

It encompasses fine details to introduce data science and explore data scientists as a career.

von Andrew F

Jan 03, 2019

Great introduction to Data Science!