Chevron Left
Zurück zu Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors von University of Pennsylvania

4.8
Sterne
659 Bewertungen
195 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

Top-Bewertungen

LG

25. Apr. 2019

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

AT

10. Jan. 2021

This is an excellent course. The lecturer presents the material very clearly, carefully bringing out what is at stake in the views and arguments of the Greek thinkers and schools she considers.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 193 Bewertungen für Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors

von Sylvia H K

3. Apr. 2016

An excellent start to get knowledge about the philosophy principle of the ancient thinkers. Their vision have influenced the way of thinking in European and Western culture.

von Luís A G

23. Feb. 2022

It is an excelent course given by an incredible professor. To enroll it was a pleasure and a very great honor to obtain a certificate from the University of Pennsylvania.

von Noemi M

3. Aug. 2020

I found this course very interesting. Professor Meyer managed to make Philosophy lovely and easy to understand for students who, like me, have never studied this subject!

von Jutta B

3. Okt. 2021

I really enjoyed this course and the way it was presented. It was very accessible also to someone who has no philosophical background. A big thank you to the lecturer!!!

von Felipe Z G

18. Mai 2020

Excelente como curso introductorio de la filosofía aristotélica, estoica y epicurea. Las lecturas sugeridas son muy apropiadas y las explicaciones en los videos también.

von David M L

20. Mai 2018

me ha gustado mucho aunque esté practicamente en ingles, no importa, se aprenden muchisimas cosas tanto de términos como de explicaciones, espero uno de Ortega y Gasset.

von Nabil K

13. Juli 2017

Absolutely amazing course. Very excellent teacher. She is eloquent, knowledgable and effective at teaching. The only sad part is that she only has 2 courses on Coursera.

von Mandhir S

1. Feb. 2021

Excellent course. Really well presented and the prompts/quizzes were appropriate. I wish there were more. I have done both her courses. And they are both excellent.

von Laura M P

5. Mai 2020

Excellent second part of an equally excellent first course. Complete and interesting. Both agreed courses are ideal for having a solid base on the ancient philosophers.

von Angelina W

10. März 2016

Formatted like the the preceding course. This one goes in depth with the later philosophers. The lectures are very detailed and in-video quizzes are engaging.

von Florence R

19. Feb. 2021

Excellent course! I enjoyed the journey in Ancient Philosophy, Susan Sauvé Meyer provided in this course and the former one about Plato and his predecessors.

von Raimundo P J d O

14. März 2019

Excelente Curso! Conteúdo, metodologia, de uma forma dinâmica e interativa, conseguir aprender o material e atingir o objetivo. Vou indicar para meus amigos!

von Josef P

19. Mai 2016

Introductory course, but nontheless it offers deep insights and explanations of some special problems in Aristotle, Epicureanism and Stoicism. Thank you!

von ivan l a

12. Juli 2020

Excellent course, like that of Plato and Predecessors. I feel it intellectualy stimulates and challenges you. Very well the teachers clasees. I loved

von Inga B H

6. Mai 2018

Loved every minute of it! A big thank you to professor Susan Sauve Meyer - it was beautiful experience, I wish the course would be intimately wider.

von Mandy S

19. Juni 2016

This is a great course because the great instructor shares her knowledge about Aristotle and his successors in a comprehensible and exciting manner.

von Erickson T

18. Feb. 2022

The course did not only serve as a refresher course on Aristotle, it actually capacitated me to know more and anew. Thank you for this program.

von Chris P

22. Mai 2017

i learned from this lecture that aristotle is true genius and I sincerely give admiration to the lecturer thanks for the work you have done

von Matthew A

27. Nov. 2019

I honestly looked forward to this class at the end of each work day. Modest course work and excellent lectures and discussion exercises.

von Catherine M

9. Juli 2020

Fantastic :-) I really enjoyed the course, I learned a lot, and Professor Meyer explains everything very clearly. Highly recommended

von FRANCISCO D

7. Juli 2020

A great survey of Aristotle and his successors. I´m very glad to have finished this course, taught by a great professor and writer.

von Vangel V

27. Juli 2018

Excellent overview of Aristotle, the Epicureans, and Stoics. The ideas were clearly expressed in a way that makes learning easier.

von Deleted A

31. Okt. 2016

This was an enjoyable course. The professor through her explanations made what could be difficult concepts understandable and fun.

von Cees O

29. März 2020

Excellent course that gives a good introduction into Aristotles thinking. Very well taught by the instructor, very clear!

von Francisco J J

23. Mai 2016

Outstanding course for those who don't fear the important questions, such as: "What makes a good life?". Don't miss it!