Chevron Left
Zurück zu Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors von University of Pennsylvania

4.8
Sterne
650 Bewertungen
188 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

Top-Bewertungen

AT
10. Jan. 2021

This is an excellent course. The lecturer presents the material very clearly, carefully bringing out what is at stake in the views and arguments of the Greek thinkers and schools she considers.

LG
25. Apr. 2019

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 185 Bewertungen für Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors

von Nabil K

13. Juli 2017

Absolutely amazing course. Very excellent teacher. She is eloquent, knowledgable and effective at teaching. The only sad part is that she only has 2 courses on Coursera.

von Mandhir S

1. Feb. 2021

Excellent course. Really well presented and the prompts/quizzes were appropriate. I wish there were more. I have done both her courses. And they are both excellent.

von Laura M P

5. Mai 2020

Excellent second part of an equally excellent first course. Complete and interesting. Both agreed courses are ideal for having a solid base on the ancient philosophers.

von Angelina W

10. März 2016

Formatted like the the preceding course. This one goes in depth with the later philosophers. The lectures are very detailed and in-video quizzes are engaging.

von Florence R

19. Feb. 2021

Excellent course! I enjoyed the journey in Ancient Philosophy, Susan Sauvé Meyer provided in this course and the former one about Plato and his predecessors.

von Raimundo P J d O

14. März 2019

Excelente Curso! Conteúdo, metodologia, de uma forma dinâmica e interativa, conseguir aprender o material e atingir o objetivo. Vou indicar para meus amigos!

von Josef P

19. Mai 2016

Introductory course, but nontheless it offers deep insights and explanations of some special problems in Aristotle, Epicureanism and Stoicism. Thank you!

von ivan l a

12. Juli 2020

Excellent course, like that of Plato and Predecessors. I feel it intellectualy stimulates and challenges you. Very well the teachers clasees. I loved

von Inga B H

6. Mai 2018

Loved every minute of it! A big thank you to professor Susan Sauve Meyer - it was beautiful experience, I wish the course would be intimately wider.

von Mandy S

19. Juni 2016

This is a great course because the great instructor shares her knowledge about Aristotle and his successors in a comprehensible and exciting manner.

von Chris P

22. Mai 2017

i learned from this lecture that aristotle is true genius and I sincerely give admiration to the lecturer thanks for the work you have done

von Matthew A

27. Nov. 2019

I honestly looked forward to this class at the end of each work day. Modest course work and excellent lectures and discussion exercises.

von Catherine M

9. Juli 2020

Fantastic :-) I really enjoyed the course, I learned a lot, and Professor Meyer explains everything very clearly. Highly recommended

von FRANCISCO D

7. Juli 2020

A great survey of Aristotle and his successors. I´m very glad to have finished this course, taught by a great professor and writer.

von Vangel V

27. Juli 2018

Excellent overview of Aristotle, the Epicureans, and Stoics. The ideas were clearly expressed in a way that makes learning easier.

von Deleted A

31. Okt. 2016

This was an enjoyable course. The professor through her explanations made what could be difficult concepts understandable and fun.

von Cees O

29. März 2020

Excellent course that gives a good introduction into Aristotles thinking. Very well taught by the instructor, very clear!

von Francisco J J

23. Mai 2016

Outstanding course for those who don't fear the important questions, such as: "What makes a good life?". Don't miss it!

von Todd B T

16. Dez. 2020

I really enjoyed this course, And with the other 2 courses in philosophy I've already taken I've really learned alot.

von Marco A S A A

19. Mai 2020

It has helped me to understand the four causes and the difference between the Epicurian school and the stoic school.

von Jacob R

27. Okt. 2016

Very good basic introduction to the philosophers and their ideas. Very succinct while staying true to the content!

von Linda

26. Apr. 2017

The professor is very great, she stated clealy and intersting about Ancient Philosophy. I love very much. useful!

von Ying X

27. März 2017

learned a lot about the subject under the guidance of Professor Meyer that's otherwise hard to study independently

von Camilo A G R

11. März 2016

This course give us a particular synthetical view of ancient thought with a particular conciseness and precision.

von Екатерина Х

27. Feb. 2018

Very well-prepared and informative course. I've really enjoyed reading and listening to the lectures. Thank you!