Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Big Data

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Big Data von University of California San Diego

4.6
Sterne
7,670 Bewertungen
1,829 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top-Bewertungen

HM

Sep 09, 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

PB

May 25, 2018

A step by step approach stating from basic big data concept extending to Hadoop framework and hands on mapping and simple MapReduce application development effort.\n\nVery smooth learning experience.

Filtern nach:

1626 - 1650 von 1,767 Bewertungen für Introduction to Big Data

von Jeffery Y

Aug 23, 2017

Overall it is a good course introducing Big Data concepts. However, there is no technical help on how to get the tools working. Some posts in the forums help. The course designers should mine the forums for problems and solutions and develop FAQs or technical tips for the tools. I had to change settings in windows control panel, app features based on a cryptic (but helpful) post and finally g

von Tamalika M

Nov 18, 2016

The course was very useful with what knowledge it provides. However, it would be better if there were more hands-on exercises on relevant stuff. The exercises are too easy and boring. Tougher exercises should be added and more time should be spent on the Hadoop Ecosystem part. Knowing the history helps but it should not replace more important topics.

von David T

Oct 28, 2016

A good introduction to big data (last time I was working with it was in the 1990s when a few 10s of MB was a huge dataset!). Slightly let down by the forums, despite loads of mentors there seems to be almost no presence of the teaching staff beyond setting up a few posts to spark discussion which in reality just prompt short responses and no replies.

von Philippe H

May 29, 2017

Week 3 should have been broken down into at least 2 weeks and probably 3 weeks. We probably needed more guidance on using Hadoop as there were a lot of technical issues such as removing directories and local files that were not explained. It is easy to spend numerous hours running the same program over and over and not realizing the problem.

von Madhura B

Aug 19, 2017

The installation part was tough and there were many issues with starting Virtual Box. Crossed each and every step by searching for the answers in discussion forms. Many are unanswered there so had to google extensively. Finally I am done with this course and I hope the rest of the courses are not so technically challenging.

von Emily V

Mar 04, 2019

Sometimes difficult to follow. I'm a computer person but the program discussed were completely new to me and I found I struggled with the material at some points. A lot of new terms as well but overall do-able. I feel like I learned something but not confidently enough to list any skills on a resume or anything like that.

von Matt S

Jan 27, 2017

The first week or so feels inconsistent and oversimplified. After that, when you get into the actual content, it gets much better. It then ends on a peer-graded assignment. While the assignment itself is creative and fun to complete, I've never been a fan of peer-graded assignments so early in an introductory course load.

von Sudipta M

Aug 09, 2017

The course is well structured with relevant theories & definitions. However, my opinion there was too much stress upon theory and less focus on practical. It didn't cover all possibilities where Hadoop Code might not run, given the fact that almost most of the learners were using Hadoop for the first time.

von Rebecca C

Jan 09, 2017

I little slow to start but the pace picks up nicely. Content is generally easy to follow. Some differences between spoken and voice recognition subtitled text. Practical tests were interesting but not particularly well explained for the MapReduce shapes task, which seemed to leave a few puzzled.

von Jefferson C B

Aug 27, 2019

Bom curso, por ser um inicio ao haddop e nao informar que é direcionado para pessoas que tenham um conhecimento prévio, precisa procurar na internet comandos e dicas sobre como atuar em algumas situações que nao ão discutidas em aula, mas no geral material muito bom.

von Jorge L

Aug 29, 2016

I believe this course can be performed much faster, beware that it is really an introduction, and IT professionals persons may feel it slow, in addition the presenter speaks English very slowly, good for non English proficient persons, but bad for the others.

von Palash V S

Oct 24, 2017

Better content needed. While I understand this was an introductory course, it was challenging only in semantics (remembering exactly what subjective thing Ilkay mentioned/ selecting one of two partially correct options etc.) and not in concepts

von Abhishek D

May 04, 2020

Very informative, and I've learned a lot. But I felt it a little bit slow and boring. There are so many ways to make it so much interesting, and it's important too. I think that's why I took a long time to finish this course.

von Miriam F

Aug 10, 2017

The course is nice for people without any background. With some background in physics/math/computer science it moves very slowly and doesn't provide much technical details. I wouldn't call it a specialization though.

von Rohit

Mar 22, 2020

Very Basic course. Don't expect in depth expectations. Inadequate hands on exercises in the course. You will get 10,000 ft view of Big Data after completing this course. Don't expect much from this course.

von David W S

Sep 14, 2016

An introductory course that seems like it should have been the first week of a more in-depth course instead of being a stand-alone course. The cost vs benefit of this particular course is questionable.

von Fernando R

May 12, 2020

The content is good, but the VM is bad, slow, and old version of everything. I have downloaded a Docker Container to continue with the program. They should update the VM or provide a Docker link.

von Murray S

Jan 11, 2017

I'm not sure who the target audience is for this course. The level of presentation seems rudimentary to me. I had a hard time sustaining interest in the course and did not finish.

von Dmitry S

Dec 18, 2016

The time / usefulness rate of this course is very low. Most of the stuff they teach (at least in introduction) is very basic theory that's presented in not really interesting way.

von Matej F

Nov 14, 2016

The course is a lot about talking and theory which is not very interesting. Final part of course is trying to work with hadoop using virtualbox and provided virtual image.

von Txerra P

Nov 30, 2017

De momento he aprendido conceptos nuevos e interesantes, pero todavía no entiendo las herramientas utilizadas. Hadoop me parece muy confuso y dificil de utilizar

von IMAD E M

Feb 14, 2017

An amazing course to get a brief understading about Big Data, the course needs an improvement in the slides, and additional resources for better understading.

von Robert L

Aug 15, 2016

Very informative but the structure is a lecture where the concepts are basically read from a paragraph. Perhaps I'd give more stars if I only saw diagrams.

von Yanpei L

Mar 11, 2017

Was expecting more hands on stuffs, the class is too conceptual. The sound volume of the videos is not consistent, hope Coursera can improve a bit on this.

von Marta L M

Oct 30, 2017

Interesting concepts and basics about Big Data. However, it could include more practical exercises or quiz to continuously learn and evaluate the student.