Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Big Data

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Big Data von University of California San Diego

4.6
5,561 Bewertungen
1,334 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top-Bewertungen

HM

Sep 09, 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

RG

Jul 14, 2017

First of all i would like to take this opportunity to thanks the instructors the course is well structured and explained the foundations with real world problems with easy to understand the concepts.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 1,277 Bewertungen für Introduction to Big Data

von Catherine B

Nov 08, 2018

Very interesting course. Explained concepts I'd heard of but didn't really know about. It is a foundation course for a specialization, it's not enough by itself but very good as a foundation course.

von Isara A

Oct 05, 2018

I think the course could be shorten by half. The instructors extended the course into 3 weeks, but I think the real meat can fit into just 2 weeks. They use too many examples and several similar case studies to make the same points about why big data is important and beneficial -- repeatedly.

I know why it is important, that's why I took the course! Just give a few mins intro and move on already.

They even have a session discussing why should learn basic tools and theory and have a quiz about that; A quiz about why should you learn how to add and subtract before using a calculator. They can just explain once and people would understand.

Anyhow, I feel like I learned quite a lot, but those I can do my reading just first chapter of big data book or watch 1-2 YouTube tutorials.

Should not waste so many hours watching the course.

von Abdul K

Sep 27, 2016

The course provided almost no value , and there was almost nothing covered that you couldn't find online for free. The presentation was probably the worst part of the course: It was extremely boring and made it hard to get through the videos.

I didn't expect much practical parts in the course, but there was even less than what I expected: What was described as setting up a hadoop cluster consisted of downloading a preconfigured VM image and running it, and then typing in a couple of commands that were provided to you. Again, nothing of value was added, and quickly going over the FAQ page of any of the products mentioned would be more helpful, faster and a lot more interesting.

von Matthew L M

May 11, 2019

Good intro that also helped me understand some of my previous assumptions

von Jeffery T

Aug 31, 2016

This is a great introduction for Big Data. It helps me to revisit what I learned from the meetups and webinars, then put the fundamental knowledge and information in a solid foundation. Thank you.

von Rongon C

May 14, 2019

Perfect for starters!

von Hendrik B

Dec 01, 2017

I have participated in better courses on Coursera. I think the power point presentations are very very ugly. The colors really don't match well. This could be a lot more visually appealing. Also, for self learners, a bit more text would be cool, even though I know that not having too much text, but rather pictures, is beneficial. The presenter could speak a bit more natural. At the moment, it is very obvious that she reads text aloud. Also, there need to be some more FAQs in the practical parts, because there can be quite a few problems when trying to run mapreduce. I was only able to do it using Google, because I also had to install another hadoop version (5.12.) because my Intel Chipset was not compatible with the version you wanted me to download. There, the file path to map reduce was different from the example you proviided. To be honest, I did not check the Discussion Forums because I was not aware there were any. Maybe I could have gotten help there.

von Raivis J

Feb 05, 2019

The general concepts of big data (week 1 and week 2) seemed a bit drawn out, much of the same was repeated over and over again. This was not necessary. The peer-graded assignment needs more detailed instructions - like mentioning that it is ok to resize the fields, and that shapes need to be copy/pasted as much as needed.

von Patricia P

Nov 07, 2018

The intro part is too long. You will not start with the practice till the end of next week and I find that the lectures and videos by then are a lot less complete even when the content is harder. I would have prefer is the theoretical part was shorter and there was more support when we start learning about hadoop

von Pranav V

Mar 07, 2019

This was absolutely useless. Lots of definitions with no motivation. The one saving grace is that the slides are comprehensive.

von DHANRAJ N

Nov 19, 2018

Very information and knowledgeable

von karra k k

Nov 17, 2018

It is a fantastic platform to upgrade our skills and the way of teaching is every nice to hear and understandable really impressive.Thanks for this beautiful course

von Bob J S

Nov 17, 2018

I like to course work with interactive questions and guidelines.

von MATHUMITHA .

Dec 04, 2018

Everything was explained in brief manner with day to day examples . Thanks to Ilkay Altintas and Amarnath Gupta for their clear cut explanations and also my reviewers for my assignments . Such an awesome course for beginners. Ample amount of time was given to finish this course successfully

von Ali S

Dec 20, 2018

this was a great short course for starters in big data analytics and hadoop. the teachers had an excellent in depth knowledge of their field and they communicated it a very learner and professional manner.

von Nishit P

Dec 06, 2018

This is a great introduction to Big data as well as introduction to tools related to big data.

von Kosala W

Dec 09, 2018

Superb introduction to the concepts of Big data for total newcomers with a simple hands on exercise at the end. Well done team!

von Shesh S

Dec 09, 2018

Excellent introduction to the world of Big Data

von Tejprakash U

Dec 10, 2018

course is well designed and structured.

von Siddhant Y

Dec 25, 2018

Great course! Detailed explanations in the basics of Big Data! Keep it up!!!

von Mic T

Dec 11, 2018

This is an excellent course! The teachers are wonderful and the course design is very good! Highly recommended if you are new to Big Data!

von LIU X

Jan 01, 2019

Very good introduction course! Well rounded and well explained

von keihan k

Jan 02, 2019

awesome!!

von Vikas G

Jan 28, 2019

Concise and Informative course! Excellent course material and teachers.

von Bradley T D

Jan 04, 2019

Great intro, nicely updated from the 2015 edition.