Chevron Left
Zurück zu Bioinformatic Methods II

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Bioinformatic Methods II by University of Toronto

4.7
201 Bewertungen
39 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Large-scale biology projects such as the sequencing of the human genome and gene expression surveys using RNA-seq, microarrays and other technologies have created a wealth of data for biologists. However, the challenge facing scientists is analyzing and even accessing these data to extract useful information pertaining to the system being studied. This course focuses on employing existing bioinformatic resources – mainly web-based programs and databases – to access the wealth of data to answer questions relevant to the average biologist, and is highly hands-on. Topics covered include multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, gene expression data analysis, and protein interaction networks, in two separate parts. The first part, Bioinformatic Methods I, dealt with databases, Blast, multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, selection analysis and metagenomics. This, the second part, Bioinformatic Methods II, will cover motif searching, protein-protein interactions, structural bioinformatics, gene expression data analysis, and cis-element predictions. This pair of courses is useful to any student considering graduate school in the biological sciences, as well as students considering molecular medicine. These courses are based on one taught at the University of Toronto to upper-level undergraduates who have some understanding of basic molecular biology. If you're not familiar with this, something like https://learn.saylor.org/course/bio101 might be helpful. No programming is required for this course although some command line work (though within a web browser) occurs in the 5th module. Bioinformatic Methods II is regularly updated, and was last updated for March 2019....

Top-Bewertungen

RG

Apr 06, 2017

Gives the student real world exposure to the tools to study proteins gene regulation, etc. Instructor is involved and friendly. Highly recommended for someone who is interested in contemporary

NM

Jan 09, 2018

Hi Nicholas, Thank you so much for giving a lot of information. Bioinformatic Methods II was little difficult but understood after repeating the lad discussions. Thanks a lot.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 of 38 Reviews for Bioinformatic Methods II

von Carlos M H

Feb 20, 2019

Very useful for gene expression analysis, I have learned a lot and now I have a list of useful websites for future researches.

von shikha K

Jan 17, 2019

very good course

von Fridah G W K

Dec 18, 2018

The course was great. I have developed and learnt so much that can be applied to my thesis. i especially love the hands on lab.

von Catalin P

Sep 01, 2018

Quite good introductory course for Bioinformatics.

von Mariano R R S

Aug 20, 2018

It was a very complete course to understand protein interaction and how to use data bases to quantify it

I recommend this course to every master student doing molecular biology or genetics.

von Katherine G B L

Apr 01, 2018

I just loved the course, I learned several tools in a short time and I hope to take advantage of them in the future. This course encouraged me to continue with similar ones.

Many thanks to Professor Provart, for his simple way of explaining, I hope he continues to dictate other courses in the future.

von Nissi P M

Jan 09, 2018

Hi Nicholas, Thank you so much for giving a lot of information. Bioinformatic Methods II was little difficult but understood after repeating the lad discussions. Thanks a lot.

von Padma S

Sep 16, 2017

An amazing course....highly recommended.

von Rajeswara R E

Sep 06, 2017

Truly Knowledgeable course........

von José L V A

Sep 02, 2017

Excellent!

von MAHAMADOU A N

Jul 16, 2017

Thanks a lot! Thanks for the time spent to teach us this Nice Bioinformatic Methods II!

von Kolchenko S

Jul 15, 2017

This was extremely usefull course for me. The only thing I can suggest is making a small course book with all methods from this course. As for assignments, probably it could be better no include more questions to it, like it has been done in lab notes, not just five.

von Alexander K

Jun 08, 2017

It is excellent and absorbing cource of bioinformatics. I enjoyed it a lot: many interesting and complex topics are explained by Prof. Provart. And almost everything becomes clear.

Only one topic was significantly difficult for me - the topic about gene expression, where R programming is applied. Some commands work only in online version of R. I nees some more time to realize the algorithm of this magic.

I recommend this course for most advanced students of medical university, and they have been expanded their horizonts of understanding biochemistry.

von Benson N M

Jun 02, 2017

I really enjoyed the course -- especially learning more about proteins, gene expression and cis regulatory elements for example. The material provided has extra readings to augment what was done in the lectures and Labs. The discussion forum is active and from time to time the instructor answers the questions in the forum as well as mentors. A good place to start if you're starting out learning bioinformatics.

von Maaly a

Apr 24, 2017

Very useful and interesting course

von Robert G

Apr 06, 2017

Gives the student real world exposure to the tools to study proteins gene regulation, etc. Instructor is involved and friendly. Highly recommended for someone who is interested in contemporary

von Malcolm B

Oct 09, 2016

Wonderful course. :)

von Trevor S M

Oct 09, 2016

well structured and useful course

von Ji-Young K

Oct 03, 2016

I absolutely loved this course. The material is highly relevant to someone who works with large databases and computational tools. The lab portion really demonstrates how different online resources can help answer research questions.

von Deepthi C

Jul 24, 2016

very useful!!!

von Bart S

Jun 22, 2016

Outstanding, do it again!

von saroj p

Mar 25, 2016

good but lengthy videos..

von Sharem M

Feb 23, 2016

Awesome Course!

von yaohuan23

Feb 01, 2016

excellent job

von Mim A

Jan 30, 2016

I really appreciate these series of courses, I want to thank Prof. Provart and his coligues for their great job on preparing and presenting these series. Thanks a lot!