Chevron Left
Zurück zu Exploring and Producing Data for Business Decision Making

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Exploring and Producing Data for Business Decision Making von University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.8
378 Bewertungen
78 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course provides an analytical framework to help you evaluate key problems in a structured fashion and will equip you with tools to better manage the uncertainties that pervade and complicate business processes. Specifically, you will be introduced to statistics and how to summarize data and learn concepts of frequency, normal distribution, statistical studies, sampling, and confidence intervals. While you will be introduced to some of the science of what is being taught, the focus will be on applying the methodologies. This will be accomplished through the use of Excel and data sets from many different disciplines, allowing you to see the use of statistics in very diverse settings. The course will focus not only on explaining these concepts, but also understanding the meaning of the results obtained. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Summarize large data sets in graphical, tabular, and numerical forms. • Understand the significance of proper sampling and why you can rely on sample information. • Understand why normal distribution can be used in so many settings. • Use sample information to infer about the population with a certain level of confidence about the accuracy of the estimations. • Use Excel for statistical analysis. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top-Bewertungen

DA

May 15, 2018

The separation of the concepts and Excel skills made the lessons very easy to navigate. Although I knew the concepts from a previous statistics course, the Excel skills made everything feel like new!

RD

Jun 02, 2019

Very useful for beginners as well as anyone interested in learning some basics. Highly recommended for managers and people trying to figure out what insights can be obtained form data

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 74 Bewertungen für Exploring and Producing Data for Business Decision Making

von Jacques P P

Apr 08, 2019

Good intro to statistical foundations. Would be great if all questions that involve Excel were in one Excel file

von CONSTANTINO A C M

Jun 28, 2017

Good basic statistics course, knowledge can be easily applied right from the start

von PRADEEP G

Dec 09, 2018

Great Course

von ROBERTA N

Feb 07, 2019

Great foundational learning on statistics and how to apply for real life data analysis. Especially with understanding how to use Excel to facilitate the formulas and graphical representations. Appreciate having a consumable set of coursework that helped me learn and achieve completion (this does a lot for your confidence level at my age :)) I plan to continue on my Data Analyst learning path and appreciate that this course gave me a good start.

von Jai P

Sep 28, 2018

Very well taught and explained. One of the best statistics courses I have taken. As a non math student I have tried many books to understand statistics, but they were all intimidating. This course and the follow-up course on Inferential was my Holy Grail to learning and understanding Statistics. Hats off to the Prof. FATANEH TAGHABONI-DUTTA for the wonderful course and the way she helped approached it.

von Rajesh S

Apr 21, 2018

In my opinion, this is a good course. The content really aims at teaching how to better understand and use statistics. In the end, I am glad that I chose this course.

von Ifeanyi N

Feb 25, 2018

It was really good. Gained deeper insights into statistics than I have ever done before.

von Anil P

Sep 19, 2017

A well-planned course for beginners in Decision Support Systems, I would recommend this course to my peers and students !

Thanks

von Daniel C

Aug 11, 2016

Very good course, perfectly interlinking theory and practice of statistic decision making.

von Himanshu P

Aug 24, 2017

A very well taught course. Prof. Fataneh Taghaboni-Dutta is one of the best professors on the Coursera platform.

von Zhiyong ( S

May 23, 2017

Excellent production and highly effective teaching! Anyone who deal with number-based business decision making should take this course. Thanks!

von Chris M

Nov 06, 2017

Love this professor

von Francisca M

Apr 12, 2018

Great Coverage of Statistical Methods with appropriate examples of using them in management....

von Vasvi M

Apr 10, 2018

For a novice in Statistics such as me - This course has done wonders in adequately aiding me in understanding the basics as well as prepared me to delve deeper into the subject! The professor in this course has done a fantastic job of simplifying otherwise complex ideas . I would strongly urge those who'd like to foray into exploring and producing data and making sense of data to take this course.

von Eliane D

Mar 11, 2018

It's a lot of theory. Thank's

von Zimuzor O

Apr 23, 2017

I gained useful insight on data analysis from this course that directly applies to work that I am doing on assessing the accuracy of a new measurement method.

von Céline F

Jan 13, 2018

Great teacher, very clear in her videos and Excel tutorials

A résumé of the formula and main calculations might be useful to use this knowledge afterwards; I don't know if she provides one somewhere (?)

I was just deceived by the first 2 weeks as I had experience in statistics, it was too easy; so I would recommend the course's summary to be more clear

von Romain V

Jul 27, 2016

Love data analy

von José T

Jun 28, 2016

One of the best course I have taken in Coursera so far. The subjects is absolutely interesting and the teacher succeeds in making the course both rigourous and fun. There is plenty of practice material to consolidate the knowledge.

von Mauro S

Nov 18, 2016

Excellent

von Laleen D

May 02, 2018

This is truly a great course. Anyone in a business program or a working professional will be very thankful that they took statistics with Professor TAghaboni-Dutta. She is a remarkable teacher and consistently ranks as one of Illinois' best Professors. The two class sessions break down statistics into easy-to-understand lessons. Professor Taghaboni-Dutta incorporates contemporary interesting problems and issues into her lessons, which make statistics much more interesting!. Another feature of this class, which I considered a wonderful value, are her extra instructional videos showing how to use Excel to solve statistics problems. These videos are better than anything else I've found. I'm serious, even MSFT doesn't have instructional videos that are as good and easy to understand as the ones in this class. If they were posted on You-Tube, she'd probably get sponsors quickly.

I don't mean to sound like a cheerleader, but I know what it is like to take Statistics from a bad teacher. I took Statistics a long time ago, before Excel existed. I remember trying to understand a professor who spent all of her time writing out proofs and never answering questions. It was one of the most frustrating depressing classes of my undergraduate experience. Professor Taghaboni-Dutta's classes are enjoyable and educational. She is highly accommodating and yet thorough. Heck, I'm even considering taking more classes in statistics. and probability. Bottom line, this class is a total home-run and a significant value for the money!

von P. D K

Apr 22, 2017

Teaches some good applications of statistics with plenty of real world examples, and hands on experience with Excel.

However, be aware that this class heavily depends on Microsoft Excel, so in order follow this class exactly, you will need a copy of Microsoft Excel and a computer and operating system that can run it. You can mostly get by with alternatives but you will be on your own to figure out how to apply the concepts in this class to LibreOffice or other statistical software.

von Yuduan L

Aug 27, 2016

very interesting course

von Aneliya M

Oct 23, 2017

Both courses about statistics are great. A lot of useful information and professor gives very detailed explanations with useful examples.

von James S

May 06, 2018

Great class!