Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking von Google

4.7
Sterne
37,316 Bewertungen
8,499 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is designed to provide a full overview of computer networking. We’ll cover everything from the fundamentals of modern networking technologies and protocols to an overview of the cloud to practical applications and network troubleshooting. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: ● describe computer networks in terms of a five-layer model ● understand all of the standard protocols involved with TCP/IP communications ● grasp powerful network troubleshooting tools and techniques ● learn network services like DNS and DHCP that help make computer networks run ● understand cloud computing, everything as a service, and cloud storage...

Top-Bewertungen

DL

23. Feb. 2021

This course was amazing and helped me understand so much more about networking, things I never thought I would know or understand. Very fulfilling and I can't wait to use this knowledge going forward.

AY

30. Dez. 2020

The course had some ups and downs, but it was a good challenge and I did it! I learned so much and I never knew I could do this kind of course. I have gained so much knowledge now from when I started.

Filtern nach:

8401 - 8425 von 8,589 Bewertungen für The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

von Christopher D

18. Jan. 2022

The entire course was disorganized and poorly taught. The information is good, but if you truly want to learn what he's teaching you'll need to take the time to research each topic thoroughly - wikipedia and youtube are good sources.

Mostly the teacher just stares at t he screen reading a script. Minimal visual aids means most of what he says is just blah blah. I had to read articles and go to youtube and find videos on the topics in order to understand what he's mindlessly rattling on about. He uses technical terms for several videos without defining them. You get quiz questions on topics he's yet to even cover.

Some of the quizzes are buggy and will give you a 0% even if you get all answers correct, and requires repeated attempts to pass. The Network Channels quiz in week 5 took about 30 tries before it passed me, even tho I got every question correct. This test was so easy it took only 1 minute to complete and a child could pass. So frustrating.

von Weston O

24. Mai 2022

L​ot of material thrown at you, very simple things are given explanation and other more complicated things you need to understand are just glossed over. For example a network switch is described as being a part of the data link layer, and as someone completely new to networking I didn't know if a switch was an actual piece of physical hardware or if it was computer software. And some assignments provide very little useful knowledge while just being tedious, like the IPv6 Compression assignment. I would have very much liked to have it explained in more detail how to actually set up some of the things talked about in the course. HOW do I configure a router to use NAT? HOW do I set up a VPN server for a buisness? HOW do I make my home network work better? Overall it was fine and you did learn some good things, but definitley was not a course I was super motivated to go back to.

von Richard K

5. Okt. 2021

I found the instruction needlessly confusing. The instructor sort of rambled making no distinction between needed facts and ancillary information. When questioned, i was asked to respond to questions based on one sentence of content. Their was little to "drill down" on as everything was a mono-tone of boring lecture. Yes, the information was correct, but much of it was presented without benefit of instructive example. Just a little time taken to show the "how" of operations would have made a great difference. Instead, i struggled to maintain interest and in the end i settled for the passing grade ( 92 ) instead of pushing for my best. I felt like this just had to end. Worst, i started to doubt myself and the value of this course. But, shaking that off i intend to go to the next level and do well their. Bits and bytes was disappointing

von Mike A

13. Juli 2020

While a lot of the information in this course is useful, it's presented very densely and with a fair amount of superfluous information surrounding it. I appreciate the desire to include the origins of technology, but there's a point of diminishing returns on the benefits of understanding something that no one ever encounters or uses as a modern day technology specialist. The information that was relevant was incredibly useful, but the presentation, particularly the horrendous puns and jokes that are delivered through poorly held back laughter, was irritating enough that I almost completely abandoned the course and cancelled my subscription to the specialization. I know that's a stupid, petty reason to dislike it so much, but I also don't think I should highly recommend something that I often found inaccessible or off-putting.

von Jesse G

8. Feb. 2021

I feel that the course titled The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking wasn't really what I was expecting it to be. The lessons did not really go that much in depth and I felt that I really didn't learn the absolute fundamentals of computer networking. In most cases throughout this course, I had to find additional materials to help me understand what the course was trying to present to me. Even the provided supplemental readings (with perhaps the Wikipedia articles as an exception) failed to give me any kind of understanding of what I was supposed to learn in that particular lesson. Also, I feel it would have been beneficial to me, as a somewhat networking novice, if the lessons were more hands-on with scenarios of what I might encounter if I were in a networking role.

von Kyle W

25. Feb. 2022

Honestly, I was pretty disappointed in this networking course. In my opinion, the Coursera team should overhaul this course. Just having one instructor talk about abstract concepts in 90% of the videos isn't helpful for grasping and cementing in new concepts. I'm a pretty visual and hands-on learner, and this course was 90-95% all auditory. These were difficult abstract concepts that desperately begging for visuals, animations, real life scenario videos, simulations and virutal computer labs to help cement concepts. I don't feel I've learned as much as I could have. I'm really hoping the next course 3 OS & other 2 courses going forward won't be as frustrating as I work toward my Google IT Support Pro certificate.

von Kip S

27. Aug. 2020

While the overall course was great, I find that some of the plug-ins were not explained properly and this accounted for the low score. Please see below.

Week 2: Graded Assignment - Plug In: Routing Paths and Subnet. It wasn't clear that if an incorrect answer was given, I had to restart the test.

Week 5: Graded Assignment: Wireless Channels. Each question was answered and checked, submitted the final results several times and my score was always 0. After several attempts, I reviewed the discussion forum and saw that this problem was not unique to me and I should not have any issues if I used FireFox for this portion of the assessment. I did and received a correct score after my 2nd attempt on FireFox.

von Tanner J T P

16. Apr. 2019

These were pretty cool courses that offer a lot of knowledge but the part where that talk about getting you information out to companies to help you start your career is fully true. They send you a survey that you select the companies you would like to share you information with out of they're selection, and that's it. There is no other follow up or anything as far as I've seen but I've been done with the program for workin on four months no with no other leads to helping me start my career. So it's great maybe to help boost a career you're already in but DO NOT TAKE THIS COURSE if you are using it to help START a career. Hope this helps some people out like me looking for a way into the industry.

von Tyler W

5. Sep. 2019

Concepts are not explained in detail, and even external links for additional learning are often covering concepts that are far past the level being taught in the course. Honestly starting to think that this course may be a waste of money, especially if this certificate isn't recognized by any employers. So much information is either missing or just skimmed over. The videos are lacking detail information and it's applications, and seem like a series of YouTube videos teaching old people how to use a smart phone, rather than a real class. Then the tests come asking questions on topics that weren't even fully covered in the videos or readings.

von Matthew M

20. Okt. 2020

I like the course and the video learning. But, the labs are not good!!!!!! The directions are confusing, you assume people know what you mean, we are trying to learn and you make these tests and labs so damn confusing. Why not have a video tutorial or a walk trough tutorial option, cmon Google!!! I am sitting here trying to do the next work quiz and the directions are written so half ass and confusing, there is a game to write the instructions for a Peanut Butter and Jelly sandwich, Google you should look that up and write your directions accordingly!!!!!!!!!!!! Please fix the labs give people an example of what you mean.

von Jared K

28. Feb. 2019

The peer review graded portion was just crazy to do. Keywords and definitions are basically all it takes to pass it while putting in key phrases of how a packet is transferred. To convert 10 IPv6 addresses was just plain over the top. The worst part about it, and I didn't catch this until my 3rd reset, it is CASE SENSITIVE! Come on, Coursera/Google. This 2nd course needed to be like 10 weeks with the lack of amount of information that was given. As long as you memorize key words and phrases, this shouldn't be a problem week. I really don't think I learned any more than I already knew with this course sadly.

von Grayson L

13. Feb. 2021

So far this course is only ok. I do not feel like it is giving me a solid foundation. They try to cover so much information, a lot of it very technical in a little time. They tell you to rewatch the videos and read the supplementary reading. The supplementary reading is ONLY wikipedia. And do not get me started on who scripted this--I don't know what I am going to do if I hear the words "I should call out" or "spoiler alert" one more time. The teachers, during the lesson videos seem very inauthentic. Google would have been better just letting the teachers free style the lesson.

von Joe B M

6. Apr. 2018

Giving it three stars . Some more interactive flash would have made the course better. I also dislike the fact that while testing with the plug in if you make one mistake you have to reset the whole plugin. Also 10 IPV6 to translate in plugin then another one on final come on . Four translations would have been enough. An area of improvement would be add video on Ethernet RJ45 twisted pair creation . Maybe a virtual module where the student correctly has to form twisted pairs. Could have added some info on ping of death , ICMP flooding, port probing etc...

von Jack

9. Feb. 2022

T​here is allot of unneccesary talking, that makes it a little hard to follow. Especially for those who may have a learning disability. I understand the instructor in the video is trying to explain why and how he got interested into the course. But all of the uneccesary added talking should be saved at the end once we have finished the quizes and tests. I personally find it a little hard to follow when there is too much information given at a time. It's giving way to much to remember. It's almost over whelming.

von Bill C

15. Apr. 2021

Course material not covered well in videos .....to much guessing you have to do on the test !

to hard to get help maybe a study group is needed from the start. content not clearly explained?

instructor need to make things clearer ..too much jumping around from one concept to another before we have a complete grasp of what he trying to teach or how things work together ..quizzes help ..not as easy subject to teach any way.

von Natalie N

9. Aug. 2020

Way too difficult follow-up to Course 1. I've been simultaneously working on Course 3 to stay afloat in my intensive IT Support program using this Coursera material and I'm finding that Course 3 material is much simpler. The concepts simply don't build upon previous concepts in a way that makes sense. Also, a lot of the quiz questions are not covered in this course and some of them deal with 20 year old technology.

von Joshua W

7. Apr. 2022

T​his course was full of information and history about how networking happens. The downside to this course though is that it gives you almost zero knowhow on how to practically setup a network. Sure having abreviations, history and technical knowhow is good but the course doesn't teach someone on how to actually plug things in and configure a network. I'm a bit disappointed and feel like I didn't learn much.

von MICHAEL R

24. Apr. 2018

There is a ton of wasted time in the lessons. The guy repeats himself, gives redundant / useless information, repeats himself some more, and occasionally tries to be funny and cute which just makes me cringe to death. The lessons do not focus on the same information that's in the big quizzes. Like, the videos are about A B C and D, and hint at the existence of E, and then the quizzes only ask about D and E.

von Justin E

5. Apr. 2018

Bit sloppy to be honest and for what its worth I don't think anyone with 0 knowledge is going to come out of this course with very much confidence in what they've learned. Networking is pretty heavy stuff for people with no previous experience and this course while it does a good job trying to compress it takes too little time going over a lot of essentials so you can truly understand it.

von mario f

10. Juni 2020

it was very hard to keep focused the pacing and constant words to learn given to me in an uninteresting way made it really hard to me to retain information I found myself looking back at notes and trying to learn the materials from other sites right after a video because the way the content was provided did not stick with me unfortunately very happy to have completed this course.

von Frank E

17. Okt. 2020

Most of the course is good and full of basic knowledge but the week 5 quiz that teaches you absolutely nothing, has been completely broken for months and they won't fix it. AND... you cannot pass the course without it. Zero help from the forums other than other people with problems needing help. Otherwise there is good information offered. The novelty quizzes are useless though.

von Juan S R C

8. Dez. 2019

This is still advance information, not aimed for those who are new to this. Many concepts, which need to be explained in more depth and using analogies to better illustrate the concepts. I almost throw in the towel.

Supplemental readings should be all coursera content, not using wikipedia, which also has tons of irrelevant information that almost anyone will read through.

von Darlene A K

26. Nov. 2020

The course instruction was not great in this course. There were not nearly enough visuals or examples given. I found I had to learn the material outside of the course before I could understand it. It is not really a stand alone instruction. Many parts should have been broken down into smaller parts with more detailed explanations and real life applications.

von Miss J D

6. Apr. 2022

Way too much information - should've been broken down into two parts. Poor explanation for subnetting. The interactive quizzes were confusing and I had to utilize outside resources. Discussion forums and mentors were NOT helpful. Glad that I've passed the section and am done with this course. I'll use another reource to master the topic.

von Ken L

10. Apr. 2020

The evaluations felt unfair, some of the questions where not clear or other super specific, some of the questions where information not covered in the material, it was an all-around bad time for me. I did learn some useful things but it felt very abstract and I was expecting a LAB to log into a VM and TS something but it never happened.