Chevron Left
Zurück zu A Crash Course in Causality: Inferring Causal Effects from Observational Data

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für A Crash Course in Causality: Inferring Causal Effects from Observational Data von University of Pennsylvania

4.7
Sterne
449 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

We have all heard the phrase “correlation does not equal causation.” What, then, does equal causation? This course aims to answer that question and more! Over a period of 5 weeks, you will learn how causal effects are defined, what assumptions about your data and models are necessary, and how to implement and interpret some popular statistical methods. Learners will have the opportunity to apply these methods to example data in R (free statistical software environment). At the end of the course, learners should be able to: 1. Define causal effects using potential outcomes 2. Describe the difference between association and causation 3. Express assumptions with causal graphs 4. Implement several types of causal inference methods (e.g. matching, instrumental variables, inverse probability of treatment weighting) 5. Identify which causal assumptions are necessary for each type of statistical method So join us.... and discover for yourself why modern statistical methods for estimating causal effects are indispensable in so many fields of study!...

Top-Bewertungen

WJ

11. Sep. 2021

Great introduction on the causal analysis.The instructor did a great job on explaining the topic in a logical and rigorous way. R codes are very relevant and helpful to digest the material as well.

MF

27. Dez. 2017

I really enjoyed this course, the pace could be more even in parts. Sometimes the pace could be more even and some more books/reference material for further study would be nice.

Filtern nach:

126 - 148 von 148 Bewertungen für A Crash Course in Causality: Inferring Causal Effects from Observational Data

von Christopher R

10. Feb. 2019

I thought this was a good overview and I'm glad I took the course, but I would have preferred more hands on programming assignments.

von Ruixuan Z

22. Juni 2019

Some of the materials are bit academical and away from industry, however, I found most of the materials relevant and practical.

von Alvaro F

25. Aug. 2020

Great course, the title is exactly what you will get: the basics on inferring causal effects from observational data

von Yahia E

9. Jan. 2020

Great course. I have learned a lot. I just wish to have more programming exercises to cement our knowledge.

von Jeesoo J

25. Jan. 2021

The course is very helpful for beginners to understand. Also, to be able to practice through R is helpful.

von Chris C

28. Aug. 2018

Could use a bit more guidance on the projects, but overall a helpful course. Gets straight to the point.

von Manuel F

21. Okt. 2018

Interesting introductory course about causality. Good "compilation" in just 5 weeks.

Thanks!

von Naiqiao H

27. Feb. 2019

The course is very useful for beginners. The materials are clear and easy to understand.

von Lorena L

2. Mai 2021

I really enjoyed this course and I appreciated the practice exercise in R.

von Fernando C

24. Nov. 2017

They could offer more applied exercises in R. But, it was also great.

von Lyons B

20. Sep. 2020

The lectures are good, and they might consider covering more topics.

von Gavin M

4. Dez. 2020

It was well laid out, and overall helpful.

von Javed A

27. Nov. 2020

A good course. Bit difficult for novices.

von Juan C

7. Okt. 2019

Great

von Andrew L

28. Nov. 2019

Clear deliver of engaging content. Very disappointed the course lacked an IV program or some capstone to evaluate learning. Why would you complete the course with a quiz compared to a practical assignment. I also do not understand why the slides are not available.

von Robert S

17. Dez. 2021

I​ think it would be nice to have a bit of an overview how the methods compare to others in the field of causal inference. Also the slides could contain more illustrations. However, I liked the selection of the material.

von Enrique O M

4. Sep. 2021

Good content. But irregular assignments, most with no feedback. Moreover some exercises could have errors, or at least ambiguous enunciates.

von Kasra S

14. Aug. 2021

I think there are parts in the course where further discussion is needed.

von Ignacio S R

30. Apr. 2018

The course is ok, but not having access to the slides is very annoying

von Francisco P

30. Mai 2019

Hard to understand

von Scott M

16. Feb. 2022

The course material is excellent, but the course description dramatically under-estimates the study time needed to complete the course. This is especially true for the R assignments if you are not already *very* comfortable in R. There are also many problems with link rot and software/version compatibility issues for the R exercises.

I would have given the course 4 stars were it not for the unforgiving nature of the R exercises.

Overall, I would recommend this course for someone if they are already quite comfortable in R, or are willing to pout in at least 20 hours of work for each of the R assugnments.

von Siyu H

14. Feb. 2021

This is a very theoretical course with much math formula and less well-explained practical examples to better illustrate those formula. I came to this course hoping to learn about new ideas and techniques of experiment design for causal effect when randomized experiments are not possible. Unfortunately I did not achieve this goal. This is just my personal view. If you come with a different purpose, you might find this course more useful than I did.

von Eva Y G

28. Sep. 2019

Can not download slides which make the source material very inaccessible