Chevron Left
Zurück zu Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I)

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I) von University of California San Diego

4.5
Sterne
741 Bewertungen
166 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Named a top 50 MOOC of all time by Class Central! This course begins a series of classes illustrating the power of computing in modern biology. Please join us on the frontier of bioinformatics to look for hidden messages in DNA without ever needing to put on a lab coat. In the first half of the course, we investigate DNA replication, and ask the question, where in the genome does DNA replication begin? We will see that we can answer this question for many bacteria using only some straightforward algorithms to look for hidden messages in the genome. In the second half of the course, we examine a different biological question, when we ask which DNA patterns play the role of molecular clocks. The cells in your body manage to maintain a circadian rhythm, but how is this achieved on the level of DNA? Once again, we will see that by knowing which hidden messages to look for, we can start to understand the amazingly complex language of DNA. Perhaps surprisingly, we will apply randomized algorithms, which roll dice and flip coins in order to solve problems. Finally, you will get your hands dirty and apply existing software tools to find recurring biological motifs within genes that are responsible for helping Mycobacterium tuberculosis go "dormant" within a host for many years before causing an active infection....

Top-Bewertungen

JL

Jul 30, 2018

This course is very very good. Challenging at times. It does not hold your hand at all times and sometimes requires research to solve some of the problems, but I like the community and the approach.

SH

Apr 07, 2020

Excellent introduction to bioinformatics. They put a lot of heart and thought into the design of the course. I will continue to use the concepts I've learned in and out of bioinformatics.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 163 Bewertungen für Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I)

von Daniel D

Sep 11, 2019

The material of the course is simply exquisitely presented. The concepts are clear, easy to grasp. You won't be a bioinformatician after doing this course, but you'll make the first step.

von Maxwell S

Feb 01, 2020

Excellent course. The Stepik grading could use a couple of tweaks and perhaps a bit more debugging, but it was an excellent blend of bioinformatics, molecular biology, and programming.

von Valeriya K

Apr 13, 2020

Overall, the course is great. However, in the week 4, the quality of pseudocode is not as good, it is much harder to follow. Would love to have had a more extensive explanation.

von Qianhao L

Jul 27, 2017

The algorithms mentioned in this course are explained very well. But still a little bit of programming language is needed. Look forward to the advanced courses.

von Mihai P

Dec 04, 2017

Nice and recommended.

(The final exam was a bit tedious though, with many points repeatedly given simply for "uploading the logo" and not much creative leeway)

von Ahmed A

Apr 30, 2020

Extremely helpful. This course is not limited to teaching us to use Bioinformatic Tools, it also helps us understand deeply the ways in which the tools work.

von Ali J

Aug 17, 2019

Hard class

If you have problems, go ahead and take Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics (University of California San Diego)... Highly suggest that

von Andrew C

Mar 29, 2019

I feel this was a good introduction to bioinformatics. It can be a little confusing sometimes, but there was nothing I could not figure out in the end

von Jeet N

Sep 23, 2020

Please be clear while explaining the course. it not clear what are they trying to explain and it takes a lot time for us to figure it out.

von Oluwafemi O

Jul 16, 2020

I really enjoyed the course, most especially the code challenges in the honors track. Thanks to the tutors for this wonderful course!

von Mhd Y Y

Dec 12, 2017

A GOOD START TO LEARN BIOINFORMATICS, AND ITS ALGORITHMS.

YOU SHOULD HAVE SOME PROGRAMMING EXPERIENCE FOR A BETTER UNDERSTANDING.

^_^

von Sonam K

Aug 14, 2020

Loved how hands-on and interactive this course is! I learnt python side-by-side with this course, and it was definitely worth it!

von Oscar J O R

Aug 14, 2018

Really nice and clear course. The hands-on learning is fundamental to create a smooth transition between algorithms and biology.

von Ivo P

Apr 02, 2018

Well prepared course although sometimes tough due to algorithmization tasks even for people with programming background.

von Hao-Wen S

Feb 12, 2018

The course was challenging and the workload was heavy (for the honors track). Yet very rewarding in the end - thank you!

von Borislav M

Jun 09, 2016

This course offers in terms of knowledge and programming far more than I had expected. Very satisfied with it.

von Amila R

Dec 31, 2019

This is an awesome approach to learn bioinformatics things. Very concise and detailed (not boring) teaching!!

von Patricio C G A

Mar 22, 2018

Excellent! Recommended for any professional in the field that needs a truly understanding of Bioinformatics.

von vibha h

Apr 12, 2017

Wonderful course for anyone who wants to explore bioinformatics. I really liked the programming assignments.

von Naveen P

Jun 19, 2016

Very well structured and informative. Got a good understanding of motifs finding and its related algorithms

von Dr S C

Jun 29, 2018

A great introduction to this topic. I really felt I came away from this course with some useful skills.

von Víctor G J

Jun 15, 2017

I've had lots of fun and I've learnt some of the foundations of Bioinformatics. I couldn't expect more.

von Alex M

Jun 14, 2016

The interactive lessons are excellent! Especially with the optional break-out lessons to dive deeper.

von Olaf W

Oct 02, 2018

Great content, very well structured. Loved the interactive text with the graded coding exercises.

von Brian A

Feb 18, 2017

Doing the Honors track. It's hard, but extremely rewarding! Thanks for making an awesome course.