Chevron Left
Zurück zu Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution von University of Alberta

4.8
Sterne
1,039 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution is a four-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the origin of vertebrates. Students will explore the diversity of Palaeozoic lineages within a phylogenetic and evolutionary framework. This course examines the evolution of major vertebrate novelties including the origin of fins, jaws, and tetrapod limbs. Students also explore key Canadian fossil localities, including the Burgess Shale (British Columbia), Miguasha (Quebec), and Man On The Hill (Northwest Territories). Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-vertebrate-evolution...

Top-Bewertungen

TO

20. Juni 2016

WOW, I learned a lot form this and it was fairly educational but not overwhelming or difficult. This instructor really gets the points across without being to easy or hard. A very good class.

JC

2. März 2018

Celebrate your inner fish as you swim along with this awesome course charting our earliest ancestors. Very well constructed and delivered once again by the team at the University of Alberta.

Filtern nach:

226 - 250 von 287 Bewertungen für Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution

von Siddhartha P

11. Okt. 2018

Very thorough!

von Fa-is J

14. Juli 2021

Good lecturer

von Paulo d S P

7. Mai 2020

Just amazing!

von Gary E

6. Feb. 2019

It was fun :)

von 牛长泰

2. Okt. 2016

good course!

von Carmen T R

8. Feb. 2019

Interesting

von Michael

20. Nov. 2019

Fantastic!

von Jose C M

7. Juni 2016

excellent!

von Eduardo

17. Apr. 2020

EXCELENTE

von Constantino B B

7. März 2020

Excelente

von Dani C

8. Nov. 2019

very good

von Benjamin M

7. Nov. 2019

Thanks!!

von Victor M E R

11. Nov. 2018

exelente

von Linda A

25. Apr. 2017

Excelent

von LΣΛΠΔRΘ

9. Okt. 2020

Great!

von RAGHUVEER S D

25. Juli 2020

good

von Mona A A

6. Juni 2020

GOOD

von GARIMA S

7. März 2020

nice

von Sally R

31. Juli 2022

von Robert C C

25. Apr. 2016

G

von Alexander P V M

31. Aug. 2016

Although not as strong as the other palaeontology courses by the University of Alberta, the current courses takes much the same approach and uses the same teaching techniques as these other courses. As such, it easily and effectively gets the millions of years of early vertebrate evolution across clearly and concisely. The video lectures are both interactive and fun, and the course notes are both informative and well adjusted to the video lectures. If there is anything to be remarked upon, then it's the slight lack of depth as pertains to the material covered. This, however, is hardly surprising considering the highly complex material (drawing from fields as osteology, paleoecology, evolutionary and developmental biology, palaeontology and more), the speed at which it is discussed, and the level of accessibility that is provided. Overall, a very good course, and one I very much enjoyed following!

von Robert C D J

31. März 2018

While I don't believe in evolution, I'm very surprised that the university would subscribe to the notion that all land vertebrates came from some creature in the ocean. Overall, the presentation of the information given could have been a bit more cleaner and steam-lined, rather than attempting to give an abundance of information that pushed the notion that every living thing on this earth came from some aquatic form. The presenter could have been a bit older, possibly someone who had a bit more experience in the field, rather than a twerp who looked like he just came out of puberty. And he talked with this hands too much. Overall, however, just to get some online classes under my belt, in a subject that I'm very interested in, i'd recommend this class as part of an introduction to paleontology itself.

von Mark M

8. Sep. 2021

I enjoyed the course. Was introduced to interesting knowledge that was well presented. I did the course because of its connection to astronomy, an interest I have been actively developing. So I wanted to understand the principles and I really wasn't interested in the technical detail. The quizzes were focused on technical detail, which misses the point of a MOOC. I had to redo the quizzes until I got 80%. Assessment should be focused on developing thinking skills, and that opportunity was missed.

von Evelyn T

2. Apr. 2020

Really enjoyed this course-- it was a little more difficult than Dino Paleobology101 but that's totally fine. I didn't particularly enjoy the long chapters about rocks and types of environments (although I understand that it's important to know to understand fossil preservation and the environment that the animals had lived in) but the rest was all really great. Looking forward to the next few courses in this series.

von Francisco L A B

3. Aug. 2020

The course is very well structured, and the drawings are fantastic to help the people visualise the different vertebrates that lived once on the planet. However, I found that it would be more dynamic for the course to have short animations of those fishes while the subject is being explained in the background. I guess it would catch more the viewer's attention throughout the course.