Chevron Left
Zurück zu Embedded Hardware and Operating Systems

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Embedded Hardware and Operating Systems von EIT Digital

4.2
Sterne
471 Bewertungen
102 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is intended for the Bachelor and Master's students, who like practical programming and making IoTs applications! In this course we will talk about two components of a cyber physical system, namely hardware and operating systems. After completing this course, you will have the knowledge of both hardware components and operating systems. You are able to plan and use embedded operating systems in resource-constraint devices for Internet-of-Things (cyber physical system) applications. In addition, you can use Cooja simulation for designing and simulating wireless sensor network applications. We have 4 modules, each with a graded quiz in the end and finally we have one peer reviewed programming assignment In case you have no experience with C programming, please check you a practical course like: https://www.coursera.org/learn/arduino-platform. The course is actually quite fun at the end when you are playing around with Cooja simulation for IoTs applications. So you can create and simulate your own design for sensor network applications. A lot of features and examples of Contiki and Cooja can be explored via assignments. There are some optional assignments of wireless sensor network applications for students who want to explore more about embedded OS in IoTs applications. - Marco Ramirez /University of Turku - Igor Tcarenko/ University of Turku - Nguyen Gia Tuan /University of Turku Check out our whole curriculum: http://iot4health.utu.fi/...

Top-Bewertungen

SA

May 25, 2017

Initially it seemed easy and what I already knew... but the week 3 and 4 had alot of new and interesting stuff. It was great eventually... Especially the OS part and some practicals

SA

Jul 27, 2017

Excellent introduction to Embedded Systems development that could serve as platform for further studies and research. A valuable pedagogy.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 98 Bewertungen für Embedded Hardware and Operating Systems

von Devansh C

Jan 20, 2019

Lots of mistakes and unclear instructions, No response even after complaining in the forum

von Cristina E

Sep 15, 2016

Main issues I encountered in the course:

- many videos end with a suggestion to "refer to the suggested materials for more information". Which are these materials, and where can they be found?

- the slides could use some diagrams here and there, as the constant text screens are monotonous and make understanding harder in some cases

- the course does not settle on a balance between breadth and depth of information. Some aspects are presented at a very high level, yet using very specialised terminology and concepts. For instance, context switching when describing the disadvantages of microkernels, or pre-emptively scheduled systems - I have a CS background and had no problem with these aspects, but I am aware I am highly subjective. It's a case of "chicken and egg", where if you understand the low level concepts you probably don't need the course, and if you don't understand them you also can't understand the high level concepts.

- At the end of the Week 3 videos describing the three OSs, it is said "In order to know the details on how to write a program and run applications in Riot/Contiki/TinyOS, please come back to our lectures who have more detailed videos."

Which lectures are these, and where can they be found?

- the only practical exercises in the course (Week 4) are only vaguely related to the course's targets

-----

All this being said, it is an ok introduction to the embedded OS world, if you bring your own CS and OS background knowledge.

von Lin G S

Jun 27, 2018

Very poorly done course, boring lectures, very little context and practical motivations, quizzes that require rote memorization. I would recommend University of California, Irvine for basics on embedded systems, they have actual tutorials on Arduino and the Raspberry Pi, with a much more engaging lecturer. For something more in-depth perhaps Edx's Embedded Systems - Shape the world, which is taught using the TM4C123G development board. Otherwise there are many other great books/resources out there.

von Ragab E M A

May 16, 2017

it was very good introduction about ES hardware and good information about IOT Operating system

von deepankar m

Aug 02, 2018

I think this course is for somebody with intermediate level of understanding. It does discuss basics in the first week but i think it need to me more structured. Later in the course you will learn about various OS and their benefits. Some of the concepts were very new for me. Still it just skims through diffrernt operating systms But i think the course need to be restructured. There should be emphasis on deploying on real hardware. PREREQUISITES: linux os understanding, Make file understanding , understanding the relative paths in make file is a must for getting the assignments right.

Also the forum is almost Dead.

von Nebojša S

Jul 13, 2018

Not bad, but here are some things to be improved... Cons: most of the videos are quite like "There are a lot of interesting things here and there, read the documentation to learn more". Also, several links are broken. Assignment for week 4 are quite unexplained, what to do and why. There is no hands on examples in video material, only pretty confusing theory.

von Elias R

Apr 30, 2019

Good content, bad organization.

I enjoyed watching the videos and reading through the materials to extend my knowledge about this topic. Unfortunately most of the assignments are not very clear and/or even contain mistakes.

I also had to wait several weeks before my submissions got reviewed.

Overall I learned some interesting stuff but got quite frustrated about the bad organization and the lack of feedback from the instructor. This course definitely needs an update from the creators!

von Jari D

Jul 07, 2018

Good basic introduction about hardware and operating systems for embedded systems in general. But the hands-on exercises are at least partly build on outdated instructions on how to setup development environments leading to errors during the setup steps which is frustrating for students just starting to get into the topic.

von Parshwa D

May 17, 2020

Course was very interesting . This course helped me to get a idea of how IoT works . Only problem faced was using the contiki OS. If proper guidance for using Cooja Simulator was provided then it would be more interesting.

von Tarun K P

Sep 16, 2018

Excellent resources provided by the instructor and emphasizes in gaining practical knowledge

von Deleted A

Mar 19, 2019

nice and very understandable

von Sai S

Mar 21, 2019

very useful to all students

von Г В В

Jan 12, 2019

прикольно

von nikhil

Mar 24, 2019

nice

von Harsha V T

Mar 13, 2019

This course is very good. Even though this course teaches you basic things it will help you to explore more. You will get to know about many new things.

von kim g

Feb 18, 2019

Great class to get you started in Embedded systems.

von João P N B

May 28, 2017

Well, I thank the teacher and his team for the effort to make the course available.

_______________________________________________________________

So, the course is not intermediate or beginner level.

If you know something about embedded system:

It's a good reminder with a bunch of topics that are only quoted and not explained in depth. No topic goes deeper, you have to do it by yourself it's like "Embedded systems can be classified as to dependability ( reliable, safe, secure, maintanable, etc), now go by yourself and search for it."

If you know nothing about embedded system:

Probably you are to feel a little bit effort and you're going to make a hard effort to understand something. Classes will be like " In the world there are processors, microcontroller, FPGA, ASIC and they have certain things(SRAM, peripherals, etc) and then you use them to build aerospace avionics, good look.

_______________________________________________________________

Improvement

The course should use more drawings ( flowchart, diagram), it would be much more understandable. Too many topics you can't bring to the real world.

The course has a nice tittle. But, I wish this course was seperated in longer modules or courses, because there are too many topics for very few time... so you wont learn anything really solid.

for instance:

1- Designing embedded - Raise requirements for project based on real project ( eg. temperature and humidity sensor to work battery powered, show information in a display the information of temp and humidity. Must be reliable, safe, low power consumption ) and so on. Learn how to search for components, price, availability, datasheet.

2 - FPGA - How to implement the project above using a platform ( or at least simulation). Program in VHDL or Verilog.

3 - Processor - ...

4 - MCU - ...

5 - Building firmware in C - Develop firmware without OS. Use state machines of things like that

6 - Build firmware with an OS.

7 - Drawing PCB - Ariiise board!!!

So, I just gave an idea I do not know how difficult would it be to bring to reality

von esha p

Mar 25, 2019

good

von Shreya R

Jul 03, 2020

I really enjoyed the concepts that are taught during the lecture. Theoretical information was presented clearly. We can get practical exposure by installing the software and coding accordingly. Gained some knowledge from the course. Overall, good experience learning the concepts and completing the assignments.

von Srijan S

Jun 18, 2018

It's a good course for advanced learning but not so much for beginners. I found the quizzes quite challenging and worst of all, vague.EDIT - They were quick to follow up and have seemed to taken my feedback very seriously. Course looks great now, highly recommend

von Tian C

Jul 29, 2017

It is good. Thank you very much for your teaching. This course give the beginner like me a chance to have a broad view over the electronic system.

Thank the teacher and Coursera.

von Sanyaade O A

Jul 27, 2017

Excellent introduction to Embedded Systems development that could serve as platform for further studies and research. A valuable pedagogy.

von Ravi B

Apr 26, 2020

Good Course. But faced difficulty in downloading and installing cotiki. So, more help is required. Thank you for the effort.

von Shun-Jen H

Nov 07, 2016

It's very clear and easy to learn. The speaker used simple way to elaborate OS and ESP. To sum up, it is a excellent course!

von Abhijit M

Apr 12, 2020

Nice course to learn, hats off to coursera and faculty for their and effort support