Chevron Left
Zurück zu Firm Level Economics: Markets and Allocations

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Firm Level Economics: Markets and Allocations von University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.9
469 Bewertungen
80 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this class, we will derive equilibrium outcomes across a variety of market structures. We will begin by understanding equilibrium under a market structure called Perfect Competition, a benchmark construction. Economists have tools to measure the efficiency of market outcomes. We next consider the polar extreme of a competitive market: a monopoly market. We will determine the monopoly equilibrium price and quantity and efficiency properties. Much economic activity takes place in markets with just a handful of very large producers. To understand equilibrium in these oligopoly markets requires more careful attention to strategic interdependence. To capture this interdependence, we consider collusive arrangements among a small number of rivals as well as the use of simple game theoretic techniques to model equilibrium. Market Failure describes situations where markets fail to find the efficient outcome. Information asymmetries are one fertile form of market failure. Another form of market failure occurs when externalities are present. We will examine one key externality, pollution, and construct a policy prescription to mitigate the negative efficiency impacts of this externality. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Explain how different market structures result in different resource allocations. • Model the impact of external shocks to a particular market structure and demonstrate the new equilibrium price and quantity after the impact of this external shock has played out. • Evaluate the efficiency of an equilibrium. Different market structures produce different levels of efficiency. • Explain when and why the government might intervene with regulatory authority or antitrust litigation to lessen inefficiencies in some markets. • Describe how information problems can cause inefficient outcomes. • Understand externalities and consider optimal government response to these market failures. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top-Bewertungen

AA

Jun 08, 2016

Awesome instructor, awesome materials and awesome learners. Of course, difficult assignments that I taught me a lot! Thank you Coursera, Dr. Larry and the entire team behind the scene.

JF

Mar 05, 2019

Professor DeBrock made the class very interesting with great real-world examples. I feel that I have learned so much from this class that I will carry with me throughout my career.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 76 Bewertungen für Firm Level Economics: Markets and Allocations

von Joe F

Mar 05, 2019

Professor DeBrock made the class very interesting with great real-world examples. I feel that I have learned so much from this class that I will carry with me throughout my career.

von Abdelrahman K A

Jun 08, 2016

Awesome instructor, awesome materials and awesome learners. Of course, difficult assignments that I taught me a lot! Thank you Coursera, Dr. Larry and the entire team behind the scene.

von Meena G

Feb 07, 2019

Great course!!

von Hamada S S

Feb 22, 2019

Great class with great information!

von MAYUR B

Mar 01, 2019

Best Course!

von Kristin P

Feb 27, 2019

I really enjoyed this class. My last econ class was in high school, so I was a little worried, but Professor Brock made things easy to understand. Thank you!

von Keith K D

Mar 02, 2019

Great course, learned a lot of new stuff and I understand markets much better.

von Eydie R V

Mar 01, 2019

Professor DeBrock was excellent. I really enjoyed this course despite finding it very challenging. It required a lot of study time to complete the iMBA portion assignments and exams but was very much worth it. I will miss Professor DeBrock saying "I have the pen" and "little green sheets of paper". Both always brought a big smile to my face. Thank you Professor DeBrock! I also sincerely appreciate Professor Dolgopolov's assistance with understanding difficult topics and his timely response to forum questions. You and all the assistants that helped made this course a pleasure despite its difficulty!

von Vivek B

Mar 02, 2019

Excellent Course, thank you Dr. Larry!

von Michael O

Mar 02, 2019

Great class and professor!

von Innocent O

Apr 10, 2019

The instructor was great in delivering the lectures in an easy to understand manner

von Jay K

Mar 04, 2019

Great class, loved it and learned a lot.

von Luz K

Mar 06, 2019

The professor made it very easy to learn and he retained my attention the entire time. Great Professor!

von Jerry D

Mar 04, 2018

I found this thorough to be quite thorough and informative. I enjoy professor DeBrock's teaching style, and the assignments were a great way to implement what we learned through the lectures. I highly recommend it to anyone seeking to enhance their knowledge of Microeconomics.

von Rushi K V

Mar 23, 2016

I like this professor and he taught beautifully even in Producer and Consumer behavior, the prequel course in this specialization. High expectations from this course!

von Maheshkumar P

Feb 15, 2017

Totally enjoyed this course. Highly recommend.

von Nguyễn N T N

Apr 15, 2016

A great teacher and interesting course ^^ Thank you so much.

von Paul P A

Mar 06, 2018

Than you professor Larry. I'll miss Larry's tree trimming service.

von Arun P R S

Feb 27, 2017

Very interesting lecture videos which makes it a great learning experience.

von Iztok C

Mar 15, 2016

Great course!

von Ben

Jun 14, 2016

Great course! Extremely rewarding

von syedzainaliraza

Aug 08, 2016

Its an excellent course. Many difficult concepts have been explained in plain language with good examples.

von Emmanouil K

May 20, 2017

A fantastic course! Professor DeBrock's teaching style is excellent. Highly recommended!

von Anurag P

Mar 01, 2016

i have done the previous course in the series , this is absolutely a delight for a student .

von Ibrahim N

Jul 15, 2016

Excellent course and excellent mentor who can really make you to rediscover the economy and love it much more than before. Great thanks.