Chevron Left
Zurück zu Firm Level Economics: Markets and Allocations

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Firm Level Economics: Markets and Allocations von University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.9
Sterne
802 Bewertungen
156 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this class, we will derive equilibrium outcomes across a variety of market structures. We will begin by understanding equilibrium under a market structure called Perfect Competition, a benchmark construction. Economists have tools to measure the efficiency of market outcomes. We next consider the polar extreme of a competitive market: a monopoly market. We will determine the monopoly equilibrium price and quantity and efficiency properties. Much economic activity takes place in markets with just a handful of very large producers. To understand equilibrium in these oligopoly markets requires more careful attention to strategic interdependence. To capture this interdependence, we consider collusive arrangements among a small number of rivals as well as the use of simple game theoretic techniques to model equilibrium. Market Failure describes situations where markets fail to find the efficient outcome. Information asymmetries are one fertile form of market failure. Another form of market failure occurs when externalities are present. We will examine one key externality, pollution, and construct a policy prescription to mitigate the negative efficiency impacts of this externality. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Explain how different market structures result in different resource allocations. • Model the impact of external shocks to a particular market structure and demonstrate the new equilibrium price and quantity after the impact of this external shock has played out. • Evaluate the efficiency of an equilibrium. Different market structures produce different levels of efficiency. • Explain when and why the government might intervene with regulatory authority or antitrust litigation to lessen inefficiencies in some markets. • Describe how information problems can cause inefficient outcomes. • Understand externalities and consider optimal government response to these market failures. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top-Bewertungen

AA
7. Juni 2016

Awesome instructor, awesome materials and awesome learners. Of course, difficult assignments that I taught me a lot! Thank you Coursera, Dr. Larry and the entire team behind the scene.

LD
6. März 2018

Prof. Larry DeBrock makes very complicated concepts seem simple and understandable. He shows how to apply the concept to contemporary relevant issues. I sincerely loved this class.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 149 Bewertungen für Firm Level Economics: Markets and Allocations

von Abdelrahman K

8. Juni 2016

Awesome instructor, awesome materials and awesome learners. Of course, difficult assignments that I taught me a lot! Thank you Coursera, Dr. Larry and the entire team behind the scene.

von Joe F

4. März 2019

Professor DeBrock made the class very interesting with great real-world examples. I feel that I have learned so much from this class that I will carry with me throughout my career.

von Laleen D

6. März 2018

Prof. Larry DeBrock makes very complicated concepts seem simple and understandable. He shows how to apply the concept to contemporary relevant issues. I sincerely loved this class.

von Eric M L E

12. März 2019

Great learning experience, teacher is clear and relatable. I'm still holding out on a 5-star until I can figure out exactly how I'll use this stuff in IRL context as a C-level exec. Good background info though... utilitarian? Maybe not so much atm.

von Eydie R V

1. März 2019

Professor DeBrock was excellent. I really enjoyed this course despite finding it very challenging. It required a lot of study time to complete the iMBA portion assignments and exams but was very much worth it. I will miss Professor DeBrock saying "I have the pen" and "little green sheets of paper". Both always brought a big smile to my face. Thank you Professor DeBrock! I also sincerely appreciate Professor Dolgopolov's assistance with understanding difficult topics and his timely response to forum questions. You and all the assistants that helped made this course a pleasure despite its difficulty!

von Val S

24. Apr. 2020

Again, Professor DeBrock does a masterful job! Best economics professor I've had in 50 years (and that includes all my old economics professors from 45+/- years ago). This course is designed for someone who wants to understand the economy, using reason and intuition, not someone who wants to be an economic analyst and impress people with his/her mastery of calculus. DeBrock does a great job in sidestepping the mathematics and helping students hone their understanding and intuition about economic matters.

von José T

11. Mai 2016

Excellent course. Larry is a great teacher and the quizzes and assignments give a great opportunity to consolidate our learning. One recommendation I would give is to try to make the forum more useful maybe by including TAs o including mentors that response on the course contents and not only on technical issu

von Jackie P

3. März 2018

Larry DeBrock is a fantastic professor. He breaks down concepts into consumable portions and offers real-life scenarios to keep it interesting. He changed microeconomics for me!

von John P C

18. Nov. 2020

I find this skill very informative and very helpful for any business analyst trying to understand the relationship of Economics and its effects to the financial performance of the company.

This course has added technical graphing and analysis of supply and demand curves. A background of Algebra in Cartesian Plane, and Calculus will be very helpful to understand such concepts of slope, intercepts, derivatives (slope of the equation) and integration (area).

I have also understood that the concept of game theory can be very useful in Economics and Firm management. I never realized that it is possible to use it in a more corporate approach.

von Jerry D

3. März 2018

I found this thorough to be quite thorough and informative. I enjoy professor DeBrock's teaching style, and the assignments were a great way to implement what we learned through the lectures. I highly recommend it to anyone seeking to enhance their knowledge of Microeconomics.

von John D

27. Nov. 2019

This course single-handedly sparked my interest in microeconomics. The instructor is fantastic, the way the materials are presented works very well with the online medium, and the assignments are actually useful for further deepening understanding of these topics.

von Parthik Y

27. Mai 2020

Amazing course, and the best part amazing faculty. I must say Professor you have created my interest in economics exponential times, specifically in microeconomics. I would be amazed if I get similar guidance for my future. Really an awesome course!

von Martin C

9. März 2016

Another great course! This is the 2nd of the specialization and I just love how the prof., Larry DeBrock, explains things. With real life examples, he makes it easy to understand and apply to everyday-life. Really great course! Highly recommended!

von Dhinesh A D

6. Juli 2020

Valuable course on Economics. Had a clear understanding of how financial markets work, the factors affecting the same. Concepts were explained succinctly that non-finance candidates could also be able to understand it.

von خالد ع ا

15. Juni 2020

Great teacher and great course. Larry, God willing your life will going on what makes you happy and those around you. I used google translation from arabic to english.... if the meaning is wrong the attention is pure

von Bharat A

17. Apr. 2017

The course was a great learning experience for me, and opened me to the world of microeconomics. Prof Larry has presented concepts in a very lucid manner, and the references / reading materials are great too.

von Prathamesh M

21. Sep. 2020

The professor does a brilliant job of explaining each and every concept with real world examples. Also, before starting a new concept, he revises through the previous one. Excellent course for beginners.

von Alberto A U C

11. Aug. 2020

The professor is one of the best for all MOOC I've been enrolled in. Highly recommended course about an interesting topic.

Really liked both courses about Microeconomics.

von Rushi K V

23. März 2016

I like this professor and he taught beautifully even in Producer and Consumer behavior, the prequel course in this specialization. High expectations from this course!

von Kristin P

27. Feb. 2019

I really enjoyed this class. My last econ class was in high school, so I was a little worried, but Professor Brock made things easy to understand. Thank you!

von Fernando P

15. Sep. 2017

I really enjoyed the two Firm Level Economics courses. Really help me refreshing my knowledge and better understand key concepts of Microeconomics dynamics.

von VINEETH V

26. Apr. 2020

The whole course was just amazing with clear and crisp explanation for each and every detail and special thanks to the tutor Prof.Larry DeBrock.

von Vikram N S

26. Nov. 2020

Professor Larry is exceptional. He has a deep understanding of the subject and an effective teaching style. I am honored to take his course.

von Emeka J E

14. Okt. 2019

Great course taught by a well-experienced Prof Larry Debrock, assisted by an enviable Prof Vlad, who brought a lot dynamism into the course.

von Supriya P

3. Okt. 2019

Excellent course to understand basics of economics. Prof DeBrock does a great job of explaining the concepts. Love his energy and enthusiasm