Chevron Left
Zurück zu Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health von Stanford University

4.7
Sterne
11,264 Bewertungen
3,242 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top-Bewertungen

TL

Oct 01, 2016

Extremely interesting course. I feel the material and videos were very easy to absorb and understand. I certainly would recommend this to anyone with an interest in food and how it affects our health.

AE

Jun 22, 2018

It was an amazing course that allowed for me to be much more conscious of what I was eating and pushed me to strive to achieve a healthier lifestyle. Overall, it was very entertaining and informative!

Filtern nach:

151 - 175 von 3,204 Bewertungen für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

von Amber H

Jan 28, 2016

This course has given me a completely new understanding of how my body functions and how I can "play around" with my meals to change my body and feel healthier! I thought (with this being an online course) that I would not gather much from the content that I didn't already know, but that definitely was NOT true! Thanks for a great experience!

von Hannah S

Jun 06, 2017

Very informative and one of the best courses I've ever taken. Covers every aspect of nutrition thoroughly in order to be healthy as well as some tips on how to lose weight since there is such an obesity epidemic in the United States. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking to become healthier and learn about the food they are eating.

von Jerry E A

Feb 06, 2017

This has been the best class I've seen on Coursera. The videos are broken up into small clips that are just a few minutes long. The videos are fun to watch as well and the presenter speaks very well which I appreciate. It's hard to understand and take notes when a presenter speaks too quickly or doesn't speak clearly or fails to enunciate.

von Stefan K

Jan 20, 2020

Good Course. Presenting the basics in a structured, appetising and easy-to-digest way. As a European with interest in health, nutrition and exercise, basically all of it was already known. I'd say even common sense. But that doesn't mean, that this is true for everybody. Highly valuable knowledge every child should learn in school imho.

von Diana J

Aug 11, 2017

Although I used to practice good health habits, I have been struggling with my relationship with food and other things for the last two years. I have been trying to regain those good habits and build on them, because a healthier lifestyle equates to a happier lifestyle. This course felt like a great step towards that goal. Thank you.

von Tarun K

Mar 03, 2017

A well organized and informative course relating food to health. If one joins this course as weight loss program then it will be a disappointment. On the contrary, if one wants to gain knowledge about what are the right things to eat and what are the right way to eat in order to maintain a healthy lifestyle then this course is for you

von Melanie N G

Dec 29, 2017

Really nice! And thank you for the extra of giving us nice, healthy recipies! That was amazing. I would like, though, to have another version of the course (or second part) with a bit more emphasis in scientific explanations for the unhealthiness and healthiness of certain foods, for the people with medical or biological background.

von William H

Jun 29, 2016

Each of Dr. Adam's lectures are short but very thorough. The visual aids in video lectures are very simple and effective. This class is the perfect intro to food and health. The material overall is very simplistic, but people wanting to learn about the intricacies of nutrition will find this class establishes a wonderful foundation.

von Maria C R

Feb 22, 2019

I love the details on the overview of each lesson. I have learnt so many important aspects on nutrition and key for healthy eating! This gives me thinking of looking back on my plate and practice the moderation to have a successful diet!!!

Thank you as well for the extra cooking recipes which are very useful for me. Thank you Maya!

von Karan C

Jan 15, 2020

I'm Karan Chudasma from India🇮🇳. I enrolled in this course and I learned a lot from it because before I'm not controlling my bad eating habits but after I watched all the videos and read all the articles I can proudly say that it can help me a lot. Thank you so much standford university and Maya Adam for this wonderful course.

von Alejandra O

Jun 27, 2018

Excellent information provided in understandable terms for everybody. The concepts have lingered with me on everyday decision making, and it helps me with informing my patients who suffer from diabetes and other metabolic diseases. I would definitely recommend this course to everyone, health professionals and public in general.

von Suparna K

Nov 01, 2017

Loved this course! Cleared my misconceptions about frozen meat and I also realised that my family recipes were actually the healthiest kind of meals to eat. I was considering shifting to a high protein diet until I completed Week 2 of this course. The recipes seemed interesting and I'm definitely going to try out all of them.

von Maylyn C

Jun 28, 2017

The course was very informative and easy to understand. I am a beginner with regards to nutrition, thus there were terms that I've never heard of or I have heard of but never understood. However, this course clearly explained terms such as glucose, insulin, etc. I would love to learn more about nutrition taught by Prof. Maya.

von Adriana M

Dec 20, 2016

Very interesting course! ;)

I sincerely recommend it to everyone, who would like to extend the knowledge about healthy eating and how to make wise changes and choices regards to diet. Everything was explained in very simple way and the lecturer has a perfect pronunciation (might be important for non-native speakers, as I am).

von Vivien T C Y

Jun 13, 2017

The course material is presented in an easy-to-understand and straightforward manner, which contributes to a smooth learning experience. The course material was also well-selected in the sense that it contained - in my opinion - some of the most practical suggestions and information about basic nutrition. Highly recommended!

von Ximena A P L

Jun 11, 2019

It is an amazing course. You learn a lot of the basics important things to have a good guide in how to eat healthier. It also content the explication of "why" it is like that. It is a very undernstandable course and very clear. After this course I just want to continue learning about nutrition. Fascinating and adictive.

von shalaw r q

Sep 20, 2017

I found the course informative and very helpful to anyone beginning to take serious steps in understanding the relation between the food we eat and our health. I have studied nutrition as a subject before, and this was a quick and efficient revision of the basics.

I would like to thank all who helped prepare this course.

von Aaron H

Jan 25, 2020

I really enjoyed this course, each lesson wasn't to time consuming, but was informative and easy to learn from. I will definitely walk away from this class feeling as though I have learned something, and hope to spread this information with friends and family that are striving to improve their diets and overall health.

von Larisa C

Aug 28, 2017

Прекрасный, очень полезный и познавательный курс. Он просто насыщен информацией, поданой в легкой для ознакомления форме. Отдельные слова благодарности ведущей его Мае Адам. Умная, красивая, современная женщина, успевающая и делать карьеру, и быть прекрасной матерью, как никто подходит для ведения этого курса. Спасибо!

von Brandi B

Mar 31, 2020

Very easily digestible (no pun intended) material. It is a great overview of a nutrition class for everyday people. I was also able to finish the course in less than two hours. I would recommend this course to anyone who is looking to change their lifestyle around eating habits but not wanting to join into a fad diet.

von Stephanie L L

Aug 01, 2018

This is a great course for people who want to learn more about nutrition and food preparations. I allowed me to add to my knowledge and skills in building better, healthier meals, smart shopping, and more in depth looks at nutrients. I highly recommend participating even if you have some experience with healthy foods.

von Svetlana L

Aug 30, 2019

It seems you know all recommendation how to eat and what to eat but for some reason you don't follow it. This course explains it in a way it changes your mind and attitude to food so you start changing your habits. Now, I cook almost every day and do enjoy home food more than lunch boxes I bough before from catering.

von Nick R

Jun 12, 2018

Very straightforward and helpful. Designed with practical simplicity in lieu of academic rigor or depth. This course does not push the envelope or engage with the front lines of contemporary nutritional philosophies. Rather, it is a helpful guide to nutritional basics and welcome reminder on everyday healthy eating.

von Bharatee G

Jun 17, 2016

This course really helped me to be aware of packaged foods which are highly processed,thus less nutritious contributing to obesity and diabetics.It was very detailed which also put a lot of emphasis about the need to be health conscious.I really appreciate it and became more knowledgeable about food.Thank you a lot.

von Olga V

Jul 31, 2019

A really good evidence-based course for general population as well as for nutritionists and other healthcare professionals. In simple words it gives the best info there is about food and food behaviour.

I would recommend to everyone. Thanks a lot, you have inspired many students to open their own nutrition schools!