Chevron Left
Zurück zu Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics von Universiteit Leiden

4.7
Sterne
2,127 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Everywhere, every day, everybody uses language. There is no human society, no matter how small or how isolated, which does not employ a language that is rich and diverse. This course introduces you to linguistics, featuring interviews with well-known linguists and with speakers of many different languages. Join us to explore the miracles of human language! The Miracles of Human Language introduces you to the many-faceted study of languages, which has amazed humans since the beginning of history. Together with speakers of many other languages around the world, as well as with famous linguists such as Noam Chomsky and Adele Goldberg, you will learn to understand and analyse how your native tongue is at the same time similar and different from many other languages. You will learn the basic concepts of linguistics, get to know some of the key features of big and small languages and get insight into what linguists do. This course gives an introduction into the study of languages, the field of linguistics. With the support of the basic linguistic terminology that is offered in the course, you will soon be able to comment both on variety between languages, as well as on a single language’s internal structure. Anyone who wishes to understand how languages work, and how they can give us insight into the human mind is very welcome to join. The course is useful if you want to get a fairly quick introduction into linguistics, for instance because you are considering studying it further, or because you are interested in a neighbouring discipline such as psychology, computer science or anthropology. Furthermore, the course will help you develop analytical skills. If you are curious to understand how language works and how it gives insight into the human mind, this course is definitely for you!...

Top-Bewertungen

DC

23. Sep. 2017

Extremely informational, well presented, with questions that stimulate reflection. The optional reading material is food for thought. I hope to see more courses from the same professor and University.

DP

2. Jan. 2017

Excellent! Really enjoyed and learnt a lot. I did not expect such a great content and professionalism in a free course. I am definitely purchasing for the title.

Thanks to all the team! Great job!

Filtern nach:

576 - 600 von 642 Bewertungen für Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics

von Steven

28. Dez. 2021

S​ome exams asked for a little too much trivia (including the final exam), but the course was overall informative and well-structured.

von Sallai K

12. Apr. 2021

It was an interesting course overall but I wish it was more detailed in some areas. However, it a comprehensive course of the basics.

von Mel

25. Juni 2018

A comprehensive introductory course to the study of linguistics. Would be even better if it covers more applied linguistics topics.

von Daniele C R

9. Okt. 2016

Very nice work on the various fields of Linguistics, high level interviews, but rather laborious and time consuming quizzes.

von Paveen P

31. Jan. 2021

The only downside is that it was too short. Very informative and I've learned a lot that would prove useful in psychology.

von Daniel G

14. Aug. 2022

The course was great! It was all explained with a lot of detail, the 3rd quiz was very tricky though.

Congratulations!

von Liz J

11. Sep. 2016

I enjoyed the course and learned a lot. I wish there had been more interaction in the discussions, though.

von Franco A C C

30. Mai 2021

E​s un buen curso. Una lástima (y una sorpresa) que no tenga un video conclusivo luego del último módulo.

von Xiaoyun Y

12. März 2019

It is a great course including details and all aspects of linguistics. It satisfies my curiosity!

von Mustafa K

14. Mai 2017

Thank you for your great effort making this course possible for people from all over the world.

von Genevieve L D K

21. Okt. 2019

Very enjoyable however, I feel that Quiz Three needs to be looked over for software problems.

von Antonella C

23. Nov. 2018

Very interesting and passionating course even for people who are new to linguistic.

von Tianyu Z

12. Juni 2020

It is a great introduction course, covering every aspect related to linguistics.

von Laureen E

17. Sep. 2019

First course tried.. succeeded! Very informative and nice to work on! Thank you

von Oscar T C

15. Jan. 2022

The content was good, but could go a bit deeper into each of the subtopics.

von André L

9. Apr. 2018

Interesting course, I've learned a lot of things about studying languages.

von Jia W

21. Juni 2016

some problems in quiz part are confusing... but nice course in general

von Gautam M

3. Okt. 2020

An eye-opener and a game changer course to understand humanity.

von Nathalie v L

5. Nov. 2019

great course. Great refresher 30 years after college.

von Mohammed A A A

21. Mai 2020

One of the most brilliant courses I have ever taken!

von Osnat B

5. Apr. 2019

Wide-angle, general introductory course. Engaging.

von Ruben A M d C

28. Jan. 2017

Interesting content, but still a bit buggy...

von Fernando C M

2. Jan. 2020

Good course, nice teachers, good material

von Dorothy H

25. Sep. 2016

The interview with Chomsky a real treat.