Chevron Left
Zurück zu An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1)

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1) von Rice University

4.8
2,313 Bewertungen
675 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This two-part course is designed to help students with very little or no computing background learn the basics of building simple interactive applications. Our language of choice, Python, is an easy-to learn, high-level computer language that is used in many of the computational courses offered on Coursera. To make learning Python easy, we have developed a new browser-based programming environment that makes developing interactive applications in Python simple. These applications will involve windows whose contents are graphical and respond to buttons, the keyboard and the mouse. In part 1 of this course, we will introduce the basic elements of programming (such as expressions, conditionals, and functions) and then use these elements to create simple interactive applications such as a digital stopwatch. Part 1 of this class will culminate in building a version of the classic arcade game "Pong"....

Top-Bewertungen

CD

Jul 13, 2017

It was nice beginner course for the new programming to learn programming and practice the concepts with most intuitive way, the way is to build a game and that interests anyone who takes this course.

JT

Oct 09, 2018

A great intro that puts the topic into achievable steps! I have a mechanical engineering background and I found it to be straightforward. The professors do a good job of making it fun and enjoyable.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 658 Bewertungen für An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1)

von VPC

May 03, 2016

I wouldn't give a star for this course; materials are prosaic (wordy); professors have not designed a truly high-tech course with automated grading; they want peers to grade each other - I don't like this euphemism, which is equivalent to the blind leading the blind; I do not want to spend my energy correcting other peoples' programming assignments; I want to spend the time thinking about programming and working on my own programs - the concept of collaboration is false - everyone wants to develop their own stuff not share with others so the premise of the course is inaccurate; also, the course has many long-winded texts of little use to the student; this is a course more about indoctrination in a legacy system than it is a course to liberate the mind through computers; while the content is interesting I am completely turned off by the amount of time I have to devote to commenting on other peoples' stuff - I am not a teacher - that is the teacher's job not my job - also, I do not like the condescension and clownishness of the profs in this course - I do not need to be entertained and all the talk about Monty Python, one of the corniest programs on TV trivializes the material - a no-nonsense, MIT type course is preferable - this is a course that I would avoid from the logistical perspective, although I will follow the material side of the course because it has substantial content and that includes the specialization - hello teachers in the course - automate the grading and remove all of the peer evaluations and start offering authentic instruction, not lazy instruction of students teaching students - the approach is typical of all legacy-oriented courses - the same goes for the Severance course at the University of Michigan - if the Rice course is supposed to instill interest in Rice University, this offering turns me away from Rice because one realizes that Rice is too legacy-oriented in its approach, same old, same old.

von Humberto C

Jul 29, 2017

I wish we didn't have to rely so much on codeskulptor. What happens when I want to move away from codeskulptor and program on my own? How will I know what to do?

von Ian B

Jun 12, 2017

It's not bad, but not amazing. I would recommend University of Michigan's Programming for Everybody (Python) over this course. While the game-oriented approach is fun, I don't like the excessive focus upon the simplegui module which was created by the instructors specifically for this course. You will learn some basic python concepts, but you'll spend way too much time learning how to use this module which you will likely never use again, and this is at the expense of learning how to use some of the more commonly used standard modules (eg datetime, sys, etc). I also found glitches in the materials, and many of the questions and grading rubrics are unclear or ambiguous. Very frustrating. Edit: If you stick it out and move into their subsequent courses, things get a lot better. So despite this course's shortcomings, it's worth doing as a prelude to their later courses.

von Daya_Jin

Nov 30, 2018

课程内容很低级,不适合我

von Ells M J T

Feb 04, 2017

Proprietary. To me is unacceptable. But the professors really do have a charm to them so I will give them an extra star for that.

von Chitrank D

Jul 13, 2017

It was nice beginner course for the new programming to learn programming and practice the concepts with most intuitive way, the way is to build a game and that interests anyone who takes this course.

von Aaron H

Oct 09, 2018

Practical.

von Divik M

May 29, 2018

Good Course(not awesome)

Cons:

Peer graded assignments so your assignment may not be evaluated for long

simplegui library is used which is specific for this course so it would not help you in real applications. Would have appreciated if pygame or any other standard library would have been used

Python Hahahaha this course teaches minimal python not very good if you are interested in learning python.

von Troy W

Aug 20, 2017

Not free, no good.

von Israel L d V C

May 09, 2017

Good course for someone who already knows how to program on another languages and has some experience. Needs a way to work assignments offline or on a mobile platform.

von Yidnekachew B

Apr 07, 2017

an online editor is not good

von George T

Sep 28, 2016

The course was interesting but I think Coursera is not quite what it used to be. The courses are more expensive (This one was $100). You can't do it free in a practical way, which on principle excludes people. They are simply replays of old videos and people are not inspired to participate in the forums.

von Peter S

Jan 19, 2017

You cannot submit your quizzes nor your program assignment unless you're a paying member.

This is the first time I ran into such a class in Coursera.

Sad.

Please allow non-paying people who want to learn, to participate in quizzes and peer graded assignments, like other institutions are doing.

von Jenny W

Aug 15, 2016

This course needs you to PAY!!!!

von Gary Z

Aug 09, 2016

Too easy.

von Javier A

Apr 07, 2016

Excellent Courst but you have to pay in order to access the quizes and assignments... very dissapointing.

von Mengyun Z

Aug 24, 2017

peer review cause a lot of trouble for me, everytime submit on time, turns out overdue. And none of the mentor or coursera staff want to solve this issue, just ask me to post more and begging for review.

The course itself is fun, but since all the module are already optimize by Rice U Professors, more suitable for people who doesn't know python and want to get start, not very useful for industry purpose.

von ALFONSO N J C

Jan 11, 2017

I can access to some contents: videos and lectures, but I can not send quizzes or assignments and to get feedback without paying a fee for this course, very limited! :(

von Andrej D

Aug 29, 2016

I am very disapointed about this course. This course is more about how programming, then teaching about programming in python. The lecture is too long and information value is very low. In my opinion, this course is for somebody who never programming, it is not depend in which language. If you wont to know how if, for, functions works, what is variable etc, then this is the right place where to learn this basics.

von Stevimir E

Oct 20, 2017

The course is incorrectly structured. It progresses too quickly into hard projects instead of teaching the fundamentals of Python programming. No wonder why people are cheating and/or looking for quick solutions online, even at the very beginning of the course.

von Recep Y

Oct 07, 2017

You cant submit assıgnments quizes and projects. So it is not free.

von Chris C

May 08, 2016

Only able to audit the class, no longer able to take quizzes and tests. I recommend the Python classes from Michigan over these if you are looking to avoid paying for old material.

von Vaibhav G

Jun 26, 2016

not upto the mark.

Not meant for intelligent students

von Harry H

Nov 09, 2016

joe warren ur better than this

von robert t

Mar 25, 2016

huge waste of time, they will give you very little information and what is expected for you to be able to do with that information is astronomical, you will never learn any of the details of how computing works, how functions work, the mechanism behind these computations, or anything. To give you an example, you will first watch a horribly made video on boolean logic, alter going to youtube to get a better explanation of 'And', 'or' , and 'not', you'll see an example done with If, else, and elif, then be asked to do homework problems using and, or, not. This huge gap between the information given, and the information you are expected to know to solve the problems they give you is too large, I found differential equations easier than this