Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Mathematical Thinking

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Introduction to Mathematical Thinking von Stanford University

4.8
Sterne
2,333 Bewertungen
564 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Learn how to think the way mathematicians do – a powerful cognitive process developed over thousands of years. Mathematical thinking is not the same as doing mathematics – at least not as mathematics is typically presented in our school system. School math typically focuses on learning procedures to solve highly stereotyped problems. Professional mathematicians think a certain way to solve real problems, problems that can arise from the everyday world, or from science, or from within mathematics itself. The key to success in school math is to learn to think inside-the-box. In contrast, a key feature of mathematical thinking is thinking outside-the-box – a valuable ability in today’s world. This course helps to develop that crucial way of thinking....

Top-Bewertungen

PD

29. Juni 2020

It has help evaluate what I put into decision in any applicable context. Since I've noted what decision I make and how outcome can be made to vary when I consider all components in a isolated manner.

AM

23. Nov. 2019

It was an amazing course! Lots of interesting content. The content is also explained really well, i found it really easy to understand. The assessments are a little challenging, but reasonably sized.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 549 Bewertungen für Introduction to Mathematical Thinking

von Mikhail Z

18. Sep. 2017

This course is a fun, thorough and thoughtful introduction to the basics of mathematical thinking. I've used it as a supplementary course for series of seminars for philosophy of mathematics. The peer-review assignment is a brilliant way to grasp the difference between solving a problem and thinking about solving a problem.

von Dimitrios G K

5. März 2021

Needless to say, how good Dr. Keith Devlin is, but I would like to mention the satisfaction anyone gets after finding a path to prove something on his own. Gradually, with a lot of humor, he introduces some key facts you can use in order to acquire the skills to analyze a problem and step by step to be led to its solution.

von Tim D

25. März 2019

I just want to say thanks to Prof. Keith Devlin. I have never been quite comprehend the proof techniques and usually have to prove statements arithmetically directly. Thanks to this course, I finally see how I can approach the problems more systematically, thus being able to find the answers faster and more consistently

von Adam M

25. März 2020

A great assignment-based introduction to discrete math with an emphasis on communication and thinking. This is a course to improve how you approach problems, and although it provides highly useful skills for university math courses, the disciplined thought process outlined in the course is applicable to the real-world.

von GUILLAUMÉ J

26. Dez. 2021

C​ours de très grande qualité visant à l'apprentissage de la pensée mathématique dans le supérieur, à penser comme un chercheur en mathématiques : un mathématicien. Ce cours, dispensé par une pointure du domaine, se révèle très enrichissant. Je recommande celui-ci à toute personne passionnée par les mathématiques !

von Jaime R

28. Okt. 2020

This class has a very well laid out approach to learning online. The videos were to the point and applied to each week's theme of the course. It was especially helpful to have some of the answers to the practice sets shown in a separate video. The professor does a very good job of teaching a very difficult subject.

von Anhad S

28. Okt. 2019

Great course for someone trying to get back in touch with college level mathematics after working professionally and/or more usually, someone trying to get started on graduate level mathematics. Dr. Devlin is quite a thorough professor and I wish I had more professors like him during my undergraduate years as well.

von Megan M

3. Apr. 2021

The professor is fantastic as he thoughtfully and thoroughly explains the material. Ultimately this course is about YOU taking the time to slow down and think about a variety of mathematical concepts. The goal is to help you increase your abilities in thinking mathematically and communicating clearly with others.

von Anatoly S

27. Aug. 2020

I did not learn much new facts, but the course helped to structure and put in order what I already was familiar with and what I could remember from school and university. This was an interesting, productive, and thought-provoking experience. I believe it will motivate me to further work on my mathematics skills.

von Minh D

11. Dez. 2018

The course name itself is a importance not only for individual but for the world. The development of Mathematic can significanly boost if we not only know calculate, how to calculate the formation, but know how to think (Mathematical Thinking). Huge potential course that can change our community! Thank teacher!

von Giovanni P

21. Okt. 2020

El profesor que dicta este curso es sin lugar a dudas un profesional sumamente capacitado y referente en lo que yo considero educación de calidad. Ha causado gran satisfacción de mi parte al realizar este curso y me ha brindado herramientas que me serán sumamente útiles una vez que ingrese a la universidad.

von Elmer N

27. Aug. 2019

Excellent instruction and pacing. As a veteran Professional Engineer, I found the course challenging and informative. I enjoyed especially the real-world examples. I would recommend this course to anyone with a desire to discover the fundamental principles of number and set theory.

Elmer A. Norvell, PhD, PE

von Alfred B

6. Dez. 2021

I love this course so much. It makes you think outside the box. The truth is, so far this is my difficult course on Coursera 

I'm very grateful to this wonderful instructor Keith Devlin.

Coursera you're my helper I can always run to. I will always make good use of the opportunities you have been giving me.

von Vishal

15. Mai 2020

it is a very fantastic course which improves our ability of thinking. It is a easy course at the beginning but little bit challenging in last weeks of this course also assignments some how hard but overall course is very fantastics and also well design. Thank you sir Dr.Keith Devlin for your guidance .

von Sagar P

28. Sep. 2017

The 9-week mathematical journey taught me a lot and made fall in love with mathematics back again. I wish , I had worked harder and earned a better grade but commitments to my family and job did not let me do so. I await for another opportunity to get tutored by Dr. Keith Devlin and Stanford Univ. again

von Serhiy O

12. Aug. 2020

My true thanks to Standford University staff that made this course happen. I believe, this course is a firm stepping stone toward many sorts of precise sciences. With this course, one may: 1) improve consistency in reasoning; 2) learn accurate word usage; 3) get to know a bunch of smart people.

von Luiz F

29. Juli 2020

This course is extremely good. I just got out of High school and the vision of mathematics this course gave me is totally different. My way of reasoning certainly changed and now I can recognize the importance of the use of language when comunicating, does not matter in what way it's been doing.

von Chloe L

7. Juni 2020

I never appreciated math or thought myself capable of doing math well. Now I am excited about real numbers and integers and solving puzzles! This course was a great life experience, and I am indebted to Prof. Devlin for the excellent design and meaningful principles that he put into the course.

von Assaad E

11. Juni 2020

just an awesome course that anyone should take. Since I began in this course, I saw mathematics in a new way that is more brilliant and effective, also my grades at the university goes up as well as my understanding of math and science materials.

Professor Keith Devlin will make you love math!!

von Thein H A

7. März 2021

Love it. The professor is really keen and helpful in his delivery of the lectures. Very clear explanation for most of them, but for some, be prepared to struggle especially if you are not familiar the rigorous mathematical proofs. Well, this is why we are here anyways. So good luck and enjoy.

von Sharad S

21. Dez. 2017

This was a very good course which helped me to increase my horizons in the field of mathematics. I am no longer intimidated by the complex looking symbols and am able to make statements precise. I also do not rush to find an answer through a structured methodology. Prof. Devlin was superb.

von Deleted A

23. Mai 2019

This course starts slowly and clearly with the beginner in mind. I had to refer to other on-line material to really grasp the concept of the material conditional. Nonetheless this is a fantastic course, and any person starting a rigorous study of mathematics should take this course.

von Mohammad M A

28. Jan. 2017

The course is really awesome and very much help full, as a student I can say every students that they want to go to universities they should join to this nice course which is provided by the coursera the best plat form for education.

Thank you for providing such a help full course.

von MELGAREJO E A

6. Jan. 2021

The professor gave us a course of excellent quality. The tutorials are great and encouraged us to be professional mathematicians. The teacher encourages communication, cooperativism and respect among students. Thank you for your time and dedication. I learned more than logic!

von Moses P P

29. Sep. 2020

The Introduction to Mathematical Thinking is a very profound and intuitive course. My favourite part of this course was on the opportunity given to evaluate other student's work, this gave me an opportunity to see other approaches and methods of solving different problems.