Chevron Left
Zurück zu Medical Neuroscience

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Medical Neuroscience von Duke University

4.9
Sterne
2,072 Bewertungen
591 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Medical Neuroscience explores the functional organization and neurophysiology of the human central nervous system, while providing a neurobiological framework for understanding human behavior. In this course, you will discover the organization of the neural systems in the brain and spinal cord that mediate sensation, motivate bodily action, and integrate sensorimotor signals with memory, emotion and related faculties of cognition. The overall goal of this course is to provide the foundation for understanding the impairments of sensation, action and cognition that accompany injury, disease or dysfunction in the central nervous system. The course will build upon knowledge acquired through prior studies of cell and molecular biology, general physiology and human anatomy, as we focus primarily on the central nervous system. This online course is designed to include all of the core concepts in neurophysiology and clinical neuroanatomy that would be presented in most first-year neuroscience courses in schools of medicine. However, there are some topics (e.g., biological psychiatry) and several learning experiences (e.g., hands-on brain dissection) that we provide in the corresponding course offered in the Duke University School of Medicine on campus that we are not attempting to reproduce in Medical Neuroscience online. Nevertheless, our aim is to faithfully present in scope and rigor a medical school caliber course experience. This course comprises six units of content organized into 12 weeks, with an additional week for a comprehensive final exam: - Unit 1 Neuroanatomy (weeks 1-2). This unit covers the surface anatomy of the human brain, its internal structure, and the overall organization of sensory and motor systems in the brainstem and spinal cord. - Unit 2 Neural signaling (weeks 3-4). This unit addresses the fundamental mechanisms of neuronal excitability, signal generation and propagation, synaptic transmission, post synaptic mechanisms of signal integration, and neural plasticity. - Unit 3 Sensory systems (weeks 5-7). Here, you will learn the overall organization and function of the sensory systems that contribute to our sense of self relative to the world around us: somatic sensory systems, proprioception, vision, audition, and balance senses. - Unit 4 Motor systems (weeks 8-9). In this unit, we will examine the organization and function of the brain and spinal mechanisms that govern bodily movement. - Unit 5 Brain Development (week 10). Next, we turn our attention to the neurobiological mechanisms for building the nervous system in embryonic development and in early postnatal life; we will also consider how the brain changes across the lifespan. - Unit 6 Cognition (weeks 11-12). The course concludes with a survey of the association systems of the cerebral hemispheres, with an emphasis on cortical networks that integrate perception, memory and emotion in organizing behavior and planning for the future; we will also consider brain systems for maintaining homeostasis and regulating brain state....

Top-Bewertungen

MG
14. Jan. 2021

This course was a great opportunity for me to understand the world of neurology and helped me to clear all the ambiguities regarding the complex mechanisms that are happening in our beautiful brains.

KT
21. Nov. 2018

I leant so much without even realising it until I got to the final exams and all this knowledge was making sense. Amazing lecturer with so much wisdom in the area. The course is very well delivered.

Filtern nach:

251 - 275 von 580 Bewertungen für Medical Neuroscience

von Iván F F C

25. Juli 2020

Amazing course! It really expanded and deepened my understanding of (and love for) neuroscience. Professor White is an incredible teacher!

von Bander A A

1. März 2018

very informative,

i am a neurosurgery resident and i learned a lot from this course.

thanks to all of you for sharing such amazing course.

von Nataliya C

10. Juni 2020

Just amazing! I am really grateful that I have such an wonderful opportunity! Dr. Leonard is one of the best lecturer I have ever seen.

von Amy L

10. März 2018

This course was amazing and Dr White was an excellent teacher. He continually encourage new ways of learning to stimulate our brains.

von Paulina H R

8. Juli 2017

Excellent! I loved every single class. Not too dense, not boring at all. Very informative. I really loved it. Ideal for medical field.

von Omer T

14. Juli 2019

It was such a wonderful experience, it was hard but i enjoyed it and i hopping that the certificate will help me in my medical career

von Shybaieva R

3. Dez. 2017

Great course, many thanks to prof.White for your inactivity and curiosity throughout all learning videos, it was very inspirational!

von Dr. T S

15. Juni 2020

excellent. awaiting the next edition of this course and the announced course about neuroscience, perception, action and the brain.

von Ana R P

17. Sep. 2018

Exploring the course to understand a bit more about neuroscience. Thank you so much to my instructors for instructing Ana Pelayo.

von Rafail K

16. März 2017

Extremely interesting, stimulating, providing great detail, well-organized as well as demanding and challenging. Simply inspiring

von Claudio R C

1. Nov. 2020

Great overall course, very complete. The professor is amazing, charismatic and entusiastic, making lessons even more enjoyable.

von Padma P D

24. Juni 2020

Thank you for wonderful course!! Great teaching and amazing quizzes and clinical cases!! It helped alot in my medical studies!!

von Emily D

7. Feb. 2020

Best course I have taken on Coursera! The material was very challenging but well taught! I would highly recommend this course!

von Veli S

7. Feb. 2020

Brilliant lectures - Excellent lecturer. Great topics and I truly enjoyed myself and advanced my knowledge! Thank you so much

von Juan C K P

5. Juli 2016

This is a challenging and very rewarding course.

It's super complete. Perfect for those who want to really learn about brains.

von José A B

13. Juli 2017

I love neuroscience and I am amazing that course! It's so complete!

Thank you, Prof.White and team, for that opportunity.

José

von Adrian S

24. Dez. 2016

Excellent designed and instructive course. Dr White explains everything in a simple way, even if it is a complicate subject.

von nazo f

1. Aug. 2019

excellent tutor and the way he delivers the lectures is amazing. teach in a calm and right speed.

Thank you for great work.

von Ahmet B

30. Sep. 2018

i am a asistant of neurolgy and this course make me more reliziable. when i see a patient i can understand his/her mecanism

von saher m a e

9. Jan. 2018

i really recommend this course to every medical student, in addition, i recommend dr najeeb and armando lectures on youtube

von Valentin P

10. Mai 2017

Great teacher and nice vertical vision (not very deep not very shallow). Just in the right spot for a introductory course.

von Serge D

28. Okt. 2016

Cours complet pour s'initier au fonctionnement du cerveau et du système nerveux, et connaitre la neurobiologie du cerveau.

von FURKAN A

22. Okt. 2020

Very enlightening and succesful course for medical students that are interested in neuroscience. Thanks for everything ..

von Nathan L

12. Aug. 2018

Incredibly informative with the ability to work at your own pace. Great instructor and helpful additional web resources.

von Mark M

23. Sep. 2016

Very challenging but quite informative. Time intensive. You do need to focus all your mental faculties to take it all in.