Chevron Left
Zurück zu Advertising and Society

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Advertising and Society von Duke University

4.7
Sterne
669 Bewertungen
156 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course examines the relation of advertising to society, culture, history, and the economy. Using contemporary theories about visual communications, we learn to analyze the complex levels of meaning in both print advertisements and television commercials. About the Course The course covers a wide range of topics, including the origins of advertising, the creation of ads, the interpretation of ads, the depiction of race, class, gender, and sexuality in advertising, sex and selling, adverting and ethics, and the future of advertising. The lectures will discuss theoretical frameworks and apply them to specific advertisements. Course Syllabus Week 1: What is advertising and where did it come from? Week 2: Am I being manipulated by advertising? Week 3: What’s in an ad beyond that which meets the eye? Week 4: How do ads get made? Week 5: What do ads teach us about race, class, gender, and sexuality? Week 6: Does sex sell? Week 7: What is the future of advertising? Recommended Background No background is required; everyone is welcome! Suggested Readings Although the lectures are designed to be self-contained, we recommend that students refer to the free online textbook ADTextOnline.org. Other free resources will be suggested for each week’s module. Course Format Most videos will be lectures with instructor talking. Each lecture will be illustrated with PowerPoint slides, print advertisements, and TV commercials. The videos for each week will consist of segments that add up to about an hour. Each week will have one quiz that will appear as stand-alone homework. All resources beyond lectures will be available online to students at no charge. Most of these will be from ADTextOnline.org. Others will be visits to the sites of ad agencies in the US and abroad, open access websites that deal with course topics, and open-access journal articles....

Top-Bewertungen

KD

Jun 15, 2018

What a great course! As an owner of an agency, a marketer and advertiser, I found it very eye opening and enjoyable. I learned a lot that I can apply to our business. Thank you Professor O'Barr.

GG

May 03, 2017

I will never look at advertising with the same eyes. It made me understand a lot of our current society and economy. Really suggested if you want to become a more informed citizen and consumer.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 153 Bewertungen für Advertising and Society

von Sai S S N

May 23, 2020

I absolutely loved the explanations and lectures conducted so intelligently and thoughtfully by Professor O'Barr and how it was brought down to such a simple level of understanding. The examples provided gave us a deeper insight into the topic discussed and also provided knowledge into the different types of advertisements produced and published through the centuries.

If a similar course were to be developed, I would most certainly sign up for it. Professor O'Barr is a delightful, well-revised and knowledgeable teacher.

von Aine G

Feb 11, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I took it to help me further my career and get a better understanding of advertising and the world I want to work in. It provided me with great of information and gave me a lot to think about, to research further and pay more attention to the advertising around me. I found that even though the majority of the examples and case studies were American I still found it useful and seen similarities in Ireland and Irish advertising. Thank you.

von Anton M

Jul 13, 2020

That was a great course. I really like the way professor William M. O'Barr gives the information. He is passionate about ads and this passion goes through listeners. I liked the week about strategy most because there I found out the way advertising agency works and has taken the decision to research and learn more about marketing strategy and research. Perhaps, the role of market strategist will be the next step in my career. Thanks a lot.

von Filip R

Jun 12, 2020

The structure of the course, the super RICH resources to read and the leading professor gave me so much insight in the history of advertising! The course taught me more than I already learned during 2 years of college which is a shame but still I am very Very happy for finding the course on coursera which was recommended somewhere on Instagram. Lots of hugs and thanks to the professor who was sharing his own experience and humor with us !

von Igor B B

Aug 10, 2020

The course was a major review of what I had already learned in college but with a more global bias. Understand how the advertising made here in Brazil can be so similar and at the same time have the cultural differences of each country. I loved the course, the platform and would definitely love to meet dear Professor William M. O'Barr, I already have him as someone of prestige. Thank you for all the content and knowledge!

von eunice a

Oct 18, 2020

This course have been extremely engaging and interesting for me. Prof. O'Barr made almost every topic come alive with his examples, vast knowledge and experience in the advertising field. Every topic has detailed information. This didn't feel like a course at all. it felt like practicing a hobby, it felt like I was doing something that i loved to do. Thankyou Prof. William O'Barr and Duke University for this opportunity.

von Mahreen M

Sep 13, 2020

Never for one minute it felt like a MOOC. Professor William O'Barr is an absolute delight to listen to. I am an advertising teach at a private university in Bangladesh. For me, this course meant so so much. I thank him from the bottom of my heart, that this course will help my students learn better with the materials he shared. Oh, the quizzes!! kudos on making me feel young again in fighting the nerves for the answers!!

von Jose R M J

Jun 25, 2017

Informative and thought-provoking, this course will equip you with the tools you need to look at advertising with a critical eye and to understand its relationship with our modern world beyond what meets the eye. Professor O'Barr is also an excellent teacher, and his passion for the material inspires you to continue learning, even beyond what's mentioned in the lectures.

von Maria V S

Oct 06, 2020

Excellent course! Professor O'Barr classes are clear, complete and accurate. As an university professor myself of "Advertising and Consumer" in my country, Argentina, I've increased my knowledge about Advertising discovering very valuable points of view and new topics to research. And I liked the good level of the questions after each chapter. Congratulations!

von Mr. S P

Apr 15, 2020

The course is full of surprises unfolding in each corners. Even been exposed to much of the content, I could never see the angels Professor William M. O'Barr referred. I'm sure that I have developed lot of different perspectives to analyse an Advertisement when looking at it or sometimes not analyzing them at all, as to enjoy the visual pleasure out of it.

von Ravindra K

Apr 01, 2020

I have been student of marketing since 14 years, completing and experimenting so many techniques as professor mentioned in 7 week lecture, have never found so intriguing his point of views on advertising and how it persists. I am really thankful to professor that he added more insight to my continuos journey of learning marketing.

von Mohak B

Apr 17, 2020

This is an amazing course, it is very knowledgable and best for someone who is interested in advertising. This course covers everything from the history of advertising to how do ads get made to what the future of advertising looks like. I personally think that is a must-do course for someone who is interested in advertising.

von cogochi1997

Dec 25, 2018

It is the my first time to study through a course in Internet. The experience is amazing, since it opens a brand-new door for me to advertising and gives a chance to explore the advertising by additional resources. Thx a lot~ Professor is really really nice and erudite. And I will continue to learn more about advertising~

von Hotsaliuk H

May 16, 2020

Hello, I am from Ukraine and I am 20 years old. It was really interesting for me to know a lot of new information about advertising! The examples are really unforgettable (especially about Macintosh) and the teacher give us useful information. All the materials are in the high quallity. Thanks a lot.

von WARISARIYA

Oct 07, 2020

Dear Williams & Everyone

In the primary, I'm appreciate to your wise & guide. It's marvelous to have studied this incredible online course (Advertising and Society) and have taken the online class with amazing lecturer. I hope one day I visit Duke University in the future soon.

Stay Safe.

Regards, WD

von gulsah y

May 11, 2020

Thank you for this amazing course during quarantine days. I have an interest for this topic so much and now with this course I have lots of information about it. Thank you so much to Coursea, Duke university an expecially Professor William O'Barr :) Çok teşekkürler :) (Gülşah from Turkey)

von Momoe K

Apr 24, 2020

Hi, I'm an ESL student. I was very glad to find that English in the course was less challenging than I expected. The course was so specific and entertaining that I could not believe I didn't have to pay for it. Visual materials such as pictures and videos were very helpful. Thank you.

von stevi j

Jun 26, 2020

Great Course!

This was the first time I have taken an online course that didn't bore me to tears. It was very clear that Professor O'Barr had a vast knowledge of the subjects and could discuss it for hours out of pure enjoyment of the subject. I would love to take another with him!

von Sarah J

May 27, 2020

A very excellent take on how advertisements are a part of society and in some cases history. The examples are insightful and very effective. Many questions have been raised in my mind and I hope to study more on this topic to get some answers. Thank you very much for this course.

von Manasvi S

Apr 21, 2020

This was an extremely interesting course. I learnt about so many things in just a few days. I can never look at the ads without reading them from now on. This was the best and systematic study put together for a better understanding and the mission was successful. I loved it!

von Shalom C V

May 17, 2020

My dream has always been to study sociology and although I couldn't, I enjoy remarkable courses like this one that are well assembled and that provide concise and valuable information to better understand the social milieu. Great course, it was addictive for me. Than you :)

von Saurabh M

Feb 26, 2018

It's a wonderful course which talks about the fundamentals of advertisement and links them to the practical scenario in history and recent times. Advertisement is a vast field, but this course certainly provides the required basis to further gain the expertise in the field.

von Denis P

Jun 11, 2020

The course is very good, however the AdText needs more updates and care — some of the links at the website do not work (some external links from article need to be checked and updated).

Much time passed since 2014, and the course needs some updates, of course!

von Seohyeon J

Sep 24, 2017

It was the most interesting mooc that ever took. I like a lot of cases that professor show. It was both interesting and informative leture. Thank you for making such mooc. I also like his teaching style. I hope I can see him in another mooc again.

von Ijeoma M

Oct 23, 2019

Great course! it has opened my eyes to things that goes on behind every advertisement. More so, I learned how advert has evolved over the years and how the society at large is affected positively and negatively by it. T