Chevron Left
Zurück zu Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark von École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.7
Sterne
2,548 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Manipulating big data distributed over a cluster using functional concepts is rampant in industry, and is arguably one of the first widespread industrial uses of functional ideas. This is evidenced by the popularity of MapReduce and Hadoop, and most recently Apache Spark, a fast, in-memory distributed collections framework written in Scala. In this course, we'll see how the data parallel paradigm can be extended to the distributed case, using Spark throughout. We'll cover Spark's programming model in detail, being careful to understand how and when it differs from familiar programming models, like shared-memory parallel collections or sequential Scala collections. Through hands-on examples in Spark and Scala, we'll learn when important issues related to distribution like latency and network communication should be considered and how they can be addressed effectively for improved performance. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - read data from persistent storage and load it into Apache Spark, - manipulate data with Spark and Scala, - express algorithms for data analysis in a functional style, - recognize how to avoid shuffles and recomputation in Spark, Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Parallel Programming: https://www.coursera.org/learn/parprog1....

Top-Bewertungen

CC

7. Juni 2017

The sessions where clearly explained and focused. Some of the exercises contained slightly confusing hints and information, but I'm sure those mistakes will be ironed out in future iterations. Thanks!

BP

28. Nov. 2019

Excellent overview of Spark, including exercises that solidify what you learn during the lectures. The development environment setup tutorials were also very helpful, as I had not yet worked with sbt.

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 506 Bewertungen für Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark

von srinivasa k

1. Jan. 2018

I really liked the course, it gave me head start on spark definitely there is much more to learn, nice intro course.

von OUMOUSS E M

18. Juni 2017

Very good course, it is a must for anyone who is starting in spark using scala, thanks a lot, it did really help me

von German A S G

22. Apr. 2018

Good course, it goes beyond functional algorithms and teaches also about how to improve performance of the cluster

von Gregory E

10. März 2018

Good course, shows a lot of useful and unobvious things about Spark. But not always has well described assignments

von Adrian D

22. Dez. 2020

The course is explained very well but the assignments are a bit ambiguous. The requirements can be a bit clearer.

von Vlad F

14. März 2018

I learned a great deal about the Spark API. I recommend it to anybody eager to self educate after working hours.

von Aleksander K

2. Apr. 2017

This class is great! Highly recomended! It helped me to understand and perform better at my daily working tasks!

von Jevelson S

17. Mai 2017

This course is awesome. I got a pretty good idea of spark. In fact this course helped me understand scala well.

von Wei-Ting C

13. Sep. 2017

This is my first completed course on Coursera! It's good for understanding Apache Spark's RDD and its usage.

von Roman Z

14. Apr. 2017

I like the course tempo very much. It kept me away from doing anything else while listening to the lectures.

von Tomasz J

8. Apr. 2017

Great, short course, which gives great insight into Spark and ad-hoc data processing on Hadoop-ish clusters.

von Sreeraj R P

6. Jan. 2019

Very good course for a great start in Spark. Require some initial knowledge and coding experience in Scala.

von Rocky J

8. Mai 2017

Great subject, well explained with solid weekly assignments make this course a stellar learning experience.

von Andrey M

10. Jan. 2019

Thank you for the great introduction in to the Spark, What it is and What are the most commonly used APIs.

von Daniele M

22. Juni 2019

Great Introduction to spark. Programming assignments helped me to improve my skills. Thank you very much.

von Rajesh B

16. Juli 2019

Very nice explanation, trainer has good knowledge, course materials are good, video quality is too good.

von Kolja M

25. März 2018

Very nice in depth learnings. The teacher is very good and keeps the lessons short but still meaningful.

von Zdeněk H

22. Juli 2017

Thanks to this course I think that I have finally understood partitioning and everything about Datasets.

von radhia b

15. Sep. 2020

Excellent cours! par contre je n'arrive pas à obtenir mon certificat. Est cela toujours possible? Merci

von Marco B

16. März 2018

Excellent course!

Well-developed lectures and good-structured modules

With hands-on programming examples

von Jijo T

13. Apr. 2017

It was well worth the wait! The instructor was good. Assignments were challenging as well as hands on!

von Shashank B

15. Okt. 2017

It is an excellent course with good clear explanation of theoretical concepts and practical examples.

von Francois S

6. Sep. 2020

Very good in depth explanation of spark. Recommended for those who want to further understand spark.

von 本达 续

4. Aug. 2017

A very natural application of functional programming to real world distributed computation problems.

von Nishant T

28. März 2017

Brilliant intro to Spark. I really like the enthusiasm with which Heather explains the key concepts.