Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Self-Determination Theory: An approach to motivation, development and wellness

Introduction to Self-Determination Theory: An approach to motivation, development and wellness, University of Rochester

5.0
(23 ratings)

Über diesen Kurs

Self-determination theory (SDT) is an empirically based theory of motivation and psychological development that is especially focused on the basic psychological needs that promote high quality motivation and wellness, and how they are supported in social contexts. SDT details how the styles and strategies of motivators such as parents, teachers, coaches, managers, and health-care professionals can promote or undermine engagement and the positive consequences that follow from it. In this course, Professor Richard Ryan, co-founder of the theory, will provide an overview of SDT with special emphasis on how autonomy, competence, and relatedness supports and facilitates behavioral persistence, quality of relationships, and healthy developmental processes, among other topics. He will also discuss the convergence of behavioral phenomenological and neuropsychological aspects of autonomy within SDT research. In addition, he will illustrate practical applications of SDT, with emphasis on educational, work, sport, healthcare and psychotherapy settings....

Top-Bewertungen

von VM

Mar 21, 2019

I thank the mentor wholeheartedly for explaining how motivation affects various facets of life. His style of explanation is engaging and helps in introspecting oneself thoroughly.

von CS

Mar 13, 2019

useful and simple introduction to SDT\n\nIt's also pretty motivating.

Filtern nach:

10 Bewertungen

von Laura Julieth Ramírez Lasprilla

May 13, 2019

Aprendí mucho.

von Nicola James

Apr 26, 2019

Excellent in-depth taster course on Self-Determination Theory -intrinsic/extrinsic, autonomous decision-making, basic needs, using SDT to motivate others and self into making choices to develop wellness etc. Made a lot of sense to me as a beginner. My thanks to the educator and course organisers.

von Steven Markham

Apr 25, 2019

An excellent introduction to the subject that goes quite in-depth in many of the lectures and readings. The presentations are excellent and you will get the most out of it if you read the research and supplemental readings suggested on the course. One warning though - the book 'Self-Determination Theory: Basic Psychological Needs in Motivation, Development, and Wellness' is used quite often and this is an expensive book to purchase if you do not have access to a copy.

von Yusei Ando

Apr 21, 2019

Overall, this course is excellent and I highly recommend other people who are interested in SDT, and motivation in general. You could learn the theory in a very systematic way, and you'll certainly gain the deep and insightful knowledge about the theory literally from theory to practice.

Only thing I'd like to change is that the amount of reading and the required time do not match well, and the content of non-required reading would appear on the test. As an assiduous learner, I am very grateful to read more and it is a helpful that there are many additional readings provided. However, because of time constrains sometimes I have to choose what to read and organise my study, which leads me not to read some articles. It would be much greater if additional reading allocations are more organised, and at least only the content of required readings should be on the test.

von Tamara Stone

Apr 02, 2019

I highly value the information I learned in this course, as the wife of a PhD Psychologist who studies SDT I have been highly motivated to have a more complete understanding of the theory. I am excited to implement the strategies I learned more fully into my work as a school based speech-language pathologist, as well as to relate in a new way with my partner.

von Monica Ognio

Mar 30, 2019

I work in the education field and SDT is a game changer. I will encourage my colleagues to take this course.

von Manuel Francisco De La Cruz Ortega

Mar 23, 2019

Excelente curso, muy recomendado y aplicable a todos los contextos de la vida diaria

von Vangeepuram Ram Mohan

Mar 21, 2019

I thank the mentor wholeheartedly for explaining how motivation affects various facets of life. His style of explanation is engaging and helps in introspecting oneself thoroughly.

von Katarzyna Morena

Mar 19, 2019

Fantastic review of SDT reserach across various domains.

von Colin Wong ShiYu

Mar 13, 2019

useful and simple introduction to SDT

It's also pretty motivating.