Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Systems Biology

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Systems Biology von Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

4.3
Sterne
400 Bewertungen
84 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will introduce the student to contemporary Systems Biology focused on mammalian cells, their constituents and their functions. Biology is moving from molecular to modular. As our knowledge of our genome and gene expression deepens and we develop lists of molecules (proteins, lipids, ions) involved in cellular processes, we need to understand how these molecules interact with each other to form modules that act as discrete functional systems. These systems underlie core subcellular processes such as signal transduction, transcription, motility and electrical excitability. In turn these processes come together to exhibit cellular behaviors such as secretion, proliferation and action potentials. What are the properties of such subcellular and cellular systems? What are the mechanisms by which emergent behaviors of systems arise? What types of experiments inform systems-level thinking? Why do we need computation and simulations to understand these systems? The course will develop multiple lines of reasoning to answer the questions listed above. Two major reasoning threads are: the design, execution and interpretation of multivariable experiments that produce large data sets; quantitative reasoning, models and simulations. Examples will be discussed to demonstrate “how” cell- level functions arise and “why” mechanistic knowledge allows us to predict cellular behaviors leading to disease states and drug responses....

Top-Bewertungen

SV

Feb 07, 2016

Very useful course in order to learn the basics in systems biology. You only need some training in biology to understand the concepts but the course is easy to follow and very complete.

BR

Aug 08, 2019

Great foundational material and insights from Prof. Iyengar that supports the 'disruptive' trends underway at the intersection of Computational Biology and Medicine.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 82 Bewertungen für Introduction to Systems Biology

von Doreen B

Jun 07, 2019

Great introduction and overview. Exams are especially well thought out.

von Joey X

Jul 24, 2018

Really great course! Can't wait to learn more about systems biology!

von JOHN Q

Jul 18, 2017

fascinating, difficult, and interesting course. Thanks so much!

von Mac D G

Jan 15, 2018

that corse was really beneficial and useful for me. Thanks a lot

von Adriana A C T

Jul 20, 2020

aulas muito dinâmicas e muito bem explicadas, adorei o curso.

von KOUMENE T G I

Mar 02, 2016

Very very very interesting!!! First step in a new field.

von Areej F

Jan 26, 2018

This course was very engaging and extremely insightful.

von Oluwafeyikemi O

Jul 14, 2020

Wonderful, I really learnt alot

von 刘文昊

Feb 06, 2016

A good step to learn this area.

von Mrinal V

Dec 29, 2015

3rd week and I am loving it! :D

von Aakash S

Feb 23, 2019

Dr. Iyengar was a cool guy.

von Aditya A D

Jun 10, 2020

Good course content!

von changhao l

May 18, 2016

It's very helpful!

von KEERAN S

Jun 11, 2019

NICE EXPERIENCE

von Danilo A H C

Jul 29, 2020

good course

von SUCHISMITA M

Jul 30, 2020

VERY GOOD

von Saad R U

Apr 28, 2019

excellent

von farzaneh d d

Jul 29, 2016

very good

von MOHAMMED A B

Mar 30, 2016

Excellent

von Mahiban L N

Jun 06, 2020

Good

von Jinwoo J

Aug 19, 2017

NICE

von saroj p

Mar 28, 2016

nice

von Adrián P F

Nov 18, 2018

This sort of course will be kind of useful for sort of improving your knowledge on a sort of concepts related to some kind of areas related to sort of Systems Biology. :) That´s just an innocent joke you will catch if you complete the course. Well, the course could be very useful if you are not especially familiar with Systems Biology, as it was my case. You won't learn how to develop a model from "zero" nor how to use Matlab, but it is a comprehensive compendium of theoretical concepts supported by several well-chosen published examples. It is not easy, but it is not extremely difficult (I completed the entire course in 5 days). Thanks to Dr Ravi Iyengar for the talks and his team for the course. However, the speech should have been more dynamic and fluent sometimes, and with less "sort of" repetitions.

von Miguel Á D C

Apr 06, 2020

The course is excellent at giving an introduction to systems biology as it offers the theorical bases to understand the topic. Although at first the classes and information can appear overwheling, with the time is easy to follow the specific terminology and explanation thanks to this. In some cases I think, however, that some equations or concepts should be explained more detailed, before the explanation with examples.

von Mohamad K K

Feb 13, 2016

It's a great overview, but somehow i didn't feel like it stuck even though i did put in effort to read the articles assigned starting halfway through the course.

Maybe it's because there's so much material that will be covered in a hands on part in the 3rd and 4th parts of this specialization... Would definitely recommend it to everyone interested in biotechnology and systems biology.