Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Systems Biology

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Introduction to Systems Biology von Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

4.3
Sterne
520 Bewertungen
106 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will introduce the student to contemporary Systems Biology focused on mammalian cells, their constituents and their functions. Biology is moving from molecular to modular. As our knowledge of our genome and gene expression deepens and we develop lists of molecules (proteins, lipids, ions) involved in cellular processes, we need to understand how these molecules interact with each other to form modules that act as discrete functional systems. These systems underlie core subcellular processes such as signal transduction, transcription, motility and electrical excitability. In turn these processes come together to exhibit cellular behaviors such as secretion, proliferation and action potentials. What are the properties of such subcellular and cellular systems? What are the mechanisms by which emergent behaviors of systems arise? What types of experiments inform systems-level thinking? Why do we need computation and simulations to understand these systems? The course will develop multiple lines of reasoning to answer the questions listed above. Two major reasoning threads are: the design, execution and interpretation of multivariable experiments that produce large data sets; quantitative reasoning, models and simulations. Examples will be discussed to demonstrate “how” cell- level functions arise and “why” mechanistic knowledge allows us to predict cellular behaviors leading to disease states and drug responses....

Top-Bewertungen

SV

6. Feb. 2016

Very useful course in order to learn the basics in systems biology. You only need some training in biology to understand the concepts but the course is easy to follow and very complete.

BR

7. Aug. 2019

Great foundational material and insights from Prof. Iyengar that supports the 'disruptive' trends underway at the intersection of Computational Biology and Medicine.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 106 Bewertungen für Introduction to Systems Biology

von Cristiano C

11. Mai 2020

Excellent introductory course. Professor Ravi Iyengar is very clear and has a broad knowledge of Systems Biology. Indicated papers help to understand the topics and allow the student to have a good starting point in each topic. Thanks all the team for the excellent course.

von Fabián H

30. Aug. 2020

This is a very complete introduction to Systems Biology, I felt that I aquire relevant knowledge to undertake further courses on the subjetct. Hoever, the learning curve could have been less steep in this introductory course.

von Samuel M V

7. Feb. 2016

Very useful course in order to learn the basics in systems biology. You only need some training in biology to understand the concepts but the course is easy to follow and very complete.

von 李俊宏

30. Aug. 2017

It's really a nice introduction of system biology. I have learned a lot of new ideas.

Professor Iyengar is quite interesting! Still I hope more mathematical details can be included!

von Rene R I

16. Jan. 2016

Great course! It explains very generally but clearly all different aspects involved in Systems Biology. The material used is good and so are the articles used for learning.

von Balu R

8. Aug. 2019

Great foundational material and insights from Prof. Iyengar that supports the 'disruptive' trends underway at the intersection of Computational Biology and Medicine.

von PALE L

16. Nov. 2020

This course has been a very instructive course for me. I would like to thank ISM and Dr. Iyengar for his sacrifice for sharing his knowledge!!!

von Ganeshan J

7. Juli 2020

Really helpful in both gaining confidence and knowledge! Such a wonderful online platform to expand our knowledge in our field of interest

von Cristina B

3. Mai 2020

excellent introduction by one of the most outstanding expert in the field, Prof Iyengar

many thanks from Cristina , Milan , Italy

von Lun X

19. Juli 2016

Ravi is a great researcher. This class is taught with great clarity and expertise. Subtitle is much less impressive though.

von Nurzhan A

16. Juni 2020

A fantastic introductory course. One should really treat this as an overview that needs to be followed by further study.

von Amirhossein M

18. Mai 2021

Coursera make it different...

I'm pretty lucky to find a systems biology course like this.

von Doreen B

7. Juni 2019

Great introduction and overview. Exams are especially well thought out.

von Zhengyuan X

24. Juli 2018

Really great course! Can't wait to learn more about systems biology!

von JOHN Q

18. Juli 2017

fascinating, difficult, and interesting course. Thanks so much!

von Mac D G

14. Jan. 2018

that corse was really beneficial and useful for me. Thanks a lot

von Ana D T

20. Juli 2020

aulas muito dinâmicas e muito bem explicadas, adorei o curso.

von SHERRY C B

12. Juli 2021

This online course is very helpful and very educational.

von KOUMENE T G I

2. März 2016

Very very very interesting!!! First step in a new field.

von Areej Q

26. Jan. 2018

This course was very engaging and extremely insightful.

von Reghan M

1. Sep. 2021

Its a good course, covering wide area in Biology

von Oluwafeyikemi O

13. Okt. 2021

Wonderful, I really learnt a lot

von 刘文昊

6. Feb. 2016

A good step to learn this area.

von Mrinal V

29. Dez. 2015

3rd week and I am loving it! :D

von Aakash S

23. Feb. 2019

Dr. Iyengar was a cool guy.