Chevron Left
Zurück zu VLSI CAD Part II: Layout

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für VLSI CAD Part II: Layout von University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.8
Sterne
208 Bewertungen
40 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

You should complete the VLSI CAD Part I: Logic course before beginning this course. A modern VLSI chip is a remarkably complex beast: billions of transistors, millions of logic gates deployed for computation and control, big blocks of memory, embedded blocks of pre-designed functions designed by third parties (called “intellectual property” or IP blocks). How do people manage to design these complicated chips? Answer: a sequence of computer aided design (CAD) tools takes an abstract description of the chip, and refines it step-wise to a final design. This class focuses on the major design tools used in the creation of an Application Specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC) or System on Chip (SoC) design. Our focus in this part of the course is on the key logical and geometric representations that make it possible to map from logic to layout, and in particular, to place, route, and evaluate the timing of large logic networks. Our goal is for students to understand how the tools themselves work, at the level of their fundamental algorithms and data structures. Topics covered will include: technology mapping, timing analysis, and ASIC placement and routing. Recommended Background: Programming experience (C, C++, Java, Python, etc.) and basic knowledge of data structures and algorithms (especially recursive algorithms). An understanding of basic digital design: Boolean algebra, Kmaps, gates and flip flops, finite state machine design. Linear algebra and calculus at the level of a junior or senior in engineering. Elementary knowledge of RC linear circuits (at the level of an introductory physics class)....

Top-Bewertungen

NS

Jun 16, 2020

This course is good for anyone who wants himself in the EDA industry. The teacher is very passionate and engaging, the content is thorough and well prepared.

MM

May 14, 2020

It was a great course, I learned a lot of new things from it. And the presentation and explanation of concepts by Prof. Rob A. Rutenbar were amazing!!!

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 39 Bewertungen für VLSI CAD Part II: Layout

von Divyang T

Jul 07, 2019

A very good course for students who want to have an understanding of Physical Design process in semiconductor industry. I want to thank professor for making this course so informative. A must for people looking to dive deep into Electronics.

von Mohammad H

Sep 01, 2018

It was a great experience, really great lecturer without exaggerating, but the programming assignment 3 (which is optional) was totally a nightmare, I wrote about 1000 line of code to do both the essential and the extra parts, but not yet.

I hope there was another course for design using HDL like Verilog or System Verilog.

von shant c

May 27, 2020

This is a wonderful course for new collage graduates as well as working professionals. I want to sincerely thank Dr. Rutenbar for creating this course. He is easy to understand, and has structured the topics very well. The examples and quizzes are very well designed.

von Robin M

Dec 29, 2018

As a software developer without background in EE I have always wondered how Boolean logic is turned into actual physical hardware, and this course (along with its predecessor "VLSI CAD Part I: Logic") has answered all my questions.

von Naman S

Jun 16, 2020

This course is good for anyone who wants himself in the EDA industry. The teacher is very passionate and engaging, the content is thorough and well prepared.

von Mythili M

May 14, 2020

It was a great course, I learned a lot of new things from it. And the presentation and explanation of concepts by Prof. Rob A. Rutenbar were amazing!!!

von Gourav S

Apr 24, 2020

Nicely explained and well structured course and the best part of the course is the way of teaching and assignment ..Keep learning and keep growing..

von Azwad T

Jun 14, 2020

It delivers what it promises in a structured and concise manner which makes the whole experience fast and effective.

von Vincent T R

May 30, 2020

Great course with a lot of specific knowledge I would not have been able to find online on my own.

von kanishk j

Jul 30, 2019

Good course content and prof. `s teaching method makes it easy to comprehend quite quickly.

von Sujoy M

Jun 19, 2020

Great great great course. Highly recommended for people interested in VLSI CAD design.

von SANATH K T

Jun 22, 2020

Excellent ; every on who's specialisation is VLSI has to do this course;

von Devansh S

Sep 23, 2019

An awesome course which I can put to great use in my academic life.

von Akash L

Oct 21, 2018

Great basic overview of the core design principles for EDA

von Md. F K

Aug 03, 2019

Another interesting and well-taught course.

von Yash R

Jun 27, 2020

excellent course to learn vlsi design.

von Shaanvi M

Mar 11, 2019

very helpful, and delivered very well.

von Hemanth .

Jul 25, 2020

Loved it. Very effective teaching.

von SREEPOOJYA P

Mar 03, 2020

very useful course for my career.

von Kanishka S

Jun 30, 2018

Excellent course, very helpful!

von Pankaj M

Aug 16, 2018

Very good to learn algorithms!

von Shresth N

Apr 10, 2019

very nice and challenging

von JAIRAM H G

Jun 09, 2020

Excellent course

von GANGAVARAPU M S

Mar 13, 2020

out standing

von NEETU S

Jun 20, 2020

good course