Chevron Left
Zurück zu Children's Human Rights - An Interdisciplinary Introduction

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Children's Human Rights - An Interdisciplinary Introduction von Universität von Genf

4.7
Sterne
1,417 Bewertungen
351 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Drawing on the contributions of several academic disciplines including law, psychology, sociology, history, educational and health sciences, economy and anthropology, an interdisciplinary approach guides the student into a selection of critical issues concerning children’s rights. Participants will gain insight relative to the development of this specific human rights category, as well as to the evolution of the challenges faced by children over time and society’s efforts to respond. Successful international strategies and programs promoting children’s rights will be highlighted, as well as the role of key actors involved in international organizations working in this field. This open online course provides an overview of the most important features of children’s human rights. A central portion of the MOOC will consist of a presentation of the international and regional standards on children’s rights and the related international and regional judicial and quasi-judicial bodies designed to ensure their implementation. No prerequisites or specific background is required to register for this MOOC. The course is conceived as an introductory level program, but participants, who wish to deepen their knowledge in the field of children’s rights, or already have some prior knowledge, will have access to additional reading material on a weekly basis. Participants who successfully complete the class activities and final assessment may request for a paid certificate of accomplishment signed by the Instructor and the main professors responsible for the program. However, no credits are awarded. The course consists of seven topical modules distributed on 4 weeks. English is the only language of instruction....

Top-Bewertungen

FR

Feb 25, 2020

Truly interdisciplinary course with rich content, and reasonable depth, based upon team work of faculty. I am even recommend my 15 year child to study it and know about her responsibilities and rights

SD

Jan 31, 2019

I strongly recommend this for people who are passionately working among children across the globe. This is the need of the hour! Let's educate ourselves and serve the best for our children. Cheers!

Filtern nach:

326 - 347 von 347 Bewertungen für Children's Human Rights - An Interdisciplinary Introduction

von Serena P

Apr 10, 2017

I was slightly disappointed by the course: too much information was given and not always in a clear way. In particular, sometimes the sessions were jumping from one discipline to another with not much explanation and this was confusing. Also, the information provided was in huge amounts but not in details. I expected to get more detailed information on children's rights while sometimes the presentations were only very general overviews.

von Janmejay G

May 29, 2020

I strongly recommend this for people who are passionately working among children across the globe. This is the need of the hour! The course itself is helpful because it gives you an understanding of the issues with Children's rights. However, I put only three stars due to some technical issues I faced during the course and also because some of the links for reading materials are not updated and I could not open them.

von Fiona V C

Jun 25, 2017

The transcripts are automated and aren't proof read, therefore don't make sense at times which makes it difficult for those struggling with the accents of the lecturers - which can be very hard to understand. They also talk very very fast at times which is again hard to understand when they're accents are strong and their English imperfect.

von Charvi A

Jun 27, 2020

Informative about the UNCRC and it's history. Does mention various issues children face (mostly in the global south, with the exception of juvenile justice) and gives a very basic overview. Lacks critical engagement with the UNCRC, as it does not mention the possible issues with the list of rights and the universalism that they entail.

von Cleo w

Feb 19, 2017

Good basic coverage on children's fundamental rights. The course could have benefitted from assignments being more consistently accurate to lessons as there are some gaps. The last module I found the most interesting as it covers challenges to child rights in real time cultural/social dilemmas.

von Ranjan K P

Aug 04, 2020

Its a good course for the beginners. But for Practitioners some tools to ensure child participation may be discussed,. The topic on child and forced marriage should be covered.

von Adele G

Apr 04, 2019

Interesting content but could be made more interactive and varied with more optional readings. Some of the questions on the quiz were not well formulated either.

von Elene S

Feb 06, 2019

Lack of reading material. Quizzes were too easy to pass. It would make me do more effort if anytime I failed the quiz, there were new questions.

von SENOU W

Jan 24, 2019

j'avais fait des cours sur les droits des enfants mais ce cours m'a vraiment apporté une plus félicitations et merci de «démocratiser» le savoir

von Miguel A C G

Feb 27, 2020

El curso es muy bueno, pero desafortunadamente no se le llega a entender a los maestros que lo imparten, además que suele ser muy tedioso.

von Marietta W

Sep 14, 2020

The translation for some of the modules were really hard to understand. Also some of the quizzes, were extremely hard

von Rhitik P

Jun 05, 2020

the courses is very intresting ,it give lot's of information about child rights and human rights

von Chitwale K

Oct 08, 2019

Great Course. I would recommend it to anyone doing development studies.

von Allison B

Jun 05, 2017

The audio was very bad at points

von Roslyn T

Feb 10, 2017

The content of the course so far is interesting - and to be fair, I've only completed the first week of this course.

Unfortunately, the combination of multiple lecturers within one part of a lesson (often with highly varying accents, reading verbatim from lecture notes) makes the presentation of the course material come off as very stiff, over-directed, and hard to understand. It's hard to adapt to the idiosyncrasies and lecturing style of a new person in a four minute video, at which point you get a whole new lecturer and have to start the process over again.

A maximum of two or three lecturers for the entirety of the course (perhaps with the occasional guest speaker) would be helpful. Also, either allowing the them to deliver the course material in their native languages with English subtitles, or perhaps having them record the course material in English in something similar to a classroom environment where they're accustomed to lecturing, would make things infinitely easier to follow.

This 'too many cooks in the kitchen' issue is what I also suspect happened with the week one quiz. I do not know who generates the quiz questions but they seemed to require a lot of mental gymnastics for a multiple choice quiz. Perhaps on my end there could be a cultural misunderstanding in how a quiz checks your knowledge of the source material? Let me put it this way: in my previous university studies, I have never taken a multiple choice quiz where the question starts as 'In your opinion...'

Sadly, I will probably drop this class - but the course has sparked enough of an interest where I will probably be picking up some books or doing some informal research on my own about this topic.

von Ananya

Aug 28, 2020

The questions asked were not conceptual but rather focused on stray facts. Some of the lectures were very good. However, some of the discussions were not nuanced enough. Even as an introductory course, a concerted effort to introduce some of the debates and controversies should have been taken, which was absent in many of the lectures.

von Kristof S

Feb 28, 2017

Although very interesting and very innovative in its presentation I had the feeling this course was an introduction to the Master program at the UNIGE, rather than a stand alone course. At times it was difficult to comprehend the speakers. I would have preferred deepening of one aspect of this topic rather than such a broad approach.

von Johannes B

Jun 01, 2020

It is an ok course, it provides a good foundation although many lessons are partly outdated and many phrases are inaudible and not available in the written transcripts. If the speaker uses a foreign word the transcript does not pick it up etc. Needs to be updated and improved

von Stephany M E

Sep 23, 2018

It is more basic than I thought it would be, and the questions on the quiz are extremely specific (like years and names of people) which in my opinion, doesn't help capture the essence of what you are learning.

von Морев А Л

Dec 03, 2019

Very biased course.

von Augusto A V O

Jul 17, 2020

He realizado el examen del curso demasiadas veces y hasta hice un experimento con las preguntas, y hay algo malo, ya que ninguna de ellas debe de ser la correcta. Se cuáles son las respuestas, ya que he leido y he leído el material demasiadas veces, pero no subo la puntuación, por lo tanto prefiero abandonarlo.

von Athira S

Apr 22, 2020

Try to make the MOOC little more interesting.