Chevron Left
Zurück zu Data Science Math Skills

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Data Science Math Skills von Duke University

4.5
Sterne
8,093 Bewertungen
1,829 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top-Bewertungen

RS

May 06, 2020

This was mostly review for me though probability especially Beyes Theorem derivation was new. The instructors provided clear often refreshing ways to look at material.\n\nThank you for a great class!!

VC

May 17, 2020

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

Filtern nach:

1701 - 1725 von 1,811 Bewertungen für Data Science Math Skills

von Felix H

Mar 30, 2020

Some of the quiz questions have mathematical errors (e.g. inside of a log cannot be negative) or are quite unclear.

von Manish G

Sep 26, 2019

The last module could have been done better. More examples to be included for explaining probability problems.

von Leen J

Aug 15, 2020

the first two weeks were brilliant, but I had a really hard time comprehending the 3rd and 4th week material.

von Paola G

Aug 15, 2020

Thee explanation of week 4 was not comprehensive and the quizzes were too complicated for what was covered.

von Ammar E M

Apr 14, 2020

I notice that the quizzes questions not reflect 100% to what we got already !, However, the course great

von shai z

Jun 18, 2020

its ok, i felt the statistical part wasnt explained well, and went from pretty easy to hard too quickly

von Garvit R

Jun 26, 2020

i am giving 3 star just because of professor efforts .Difficulty level of this course is not of level

von Ali H

Apr 27, 2020

Some points in probability was not clear and doesn't been explicit.

Some quiz answers are wrong.

von kavya

Sep 23, 2020

I completed the Course but I didn't receive certificate..

Good to understand it's useful for us

von Zarmeen S

Jul 11, 2020

The course should be improved from last topics with simple examples. It was good at the start.

von Wasin W

Jun 07, 2020

In first 3 week, i learned berfore, so i can understand.

In last weeks, it is new knowledge.

von Michał F

Aug 30, 2017

Basics knowledge, i liked first part about functions, but second was not quite good for me.

von Dhwanil S

Oct 03, 2020

There is no practical usage of it. There can be a project which shows its practical usage.

von Ioana D

Feb 10, 2017

The Probability section could use more practical examples, I found it difficult to follow.

von Aryan K P

May 15, 2020

Good for those who have not taken any maths since 10th grade, else it would be too easy.

von Nauan S

Oct 07, 2020

The last week (Probability) has terrible lectures. They are anything but comprehensive.

von Rodolfo N R

May 07, 2018

Last quiz is very hard and course does not provide the knowlege needed to resolve it.

von Alexander K B

Oct 14, 2020

The entire course would be much more enjoyable if Paul B. taught all of the modules.

von Seyed P R

Apr 22, 2020

Quite good but so many errors in the presentation that it was distracting at times.

von PAWANESH K

Jul 14, 2020

A good platform for online study material and best experience teaching methods

von Juan C D

Jun 11, 2020

Take this course as a review but not to learn the data science skills needed

von G T

Mar 01, 2017

The material is very useful, however, the second teacher is not the best...

von Gaurab R P

Sep 06, 2020

Week 4 is poorly designed. Concepts are not clear. Please redesign it.

von abid g

Sep 08, 2020

Course lacks many details especially differentiation and integration

von Moin u

May 10, 2020

The course topics were good. But the video lectures were not good.