Chevron Left
Zurück zu Data Science Math Skills

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Data Science Math Skills von Duke University

4.5
Sterne
9,786 Bewertungen
2,209 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top-Bewertungen

RS
5. Mai 2020

This was mostly review for me though probability especially Beyes Theorem derivation was new. The instructors provided clear often refreshing ways to look at material.\n\nThank you for a great class!!

AS
11. Jan. 2019

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

Filtern nach:

151 - 175 von 2,205 Bewertungen für Data Science Math Skills

von Suparit S

19. Juli 2020

The course provides comprehensive basic math skills for the ones who might have forgotten all the maths they have learnt. Highly recommended for ones who wants to restart the math skills with clear intuition!

von Yasir M

13. Juli 2020

It was a good basic level course of math design by Duke University.I just say thanks to all of this course team and especially thanks to coursera for providing such a amazing opportunity to learn more skills.

von Hemali V

13. Sep. 2020

It is an amazing course for everyone who want to learn Maths. after learning this basic math skill, i am capable to perform basic algorithms for Machine Learning.

It is very helpful course for me, Thank you!

von John M

21. Sep. 2021

Excellent refresher on somewhat basic mathematical concepts, starting with assumption of zero knowledge and preparing the student to tackle higher level courses in probability, statistics, and data science.

von Eloisa R

8. Juli 2020

If you have previous background is easier, but in Baye's theorem it was a little hard to understand it. Overall, it is an excellent course, but a little more explanations in Baye's theorem could be better.

von Muhammad H

26. Juni 2020

The course was really great. You could include some more offline practice questions with solutions for better practice at least 10 for each topic. Otherwise explanations were easy to understand and follow.

von Guido T G

17. Nov. 2020

If you want to review and engage knowledge this course its a good reason for start the apllication of maths. The course have for you a good material and very good questions for real deep learning

von Weicheng(Will) H

12. Aug. 2020

For the part of Bayes' theorem, I think the explanation is no clear or through enough. Maybe more break-down is necessary. And the other parts are really good. I really enjoy taking this course.

von Nikisha E

3. Jan. 2021

I want to thank my educators for this wonderful job that they are doing.i have learn so much from you guys and i want to thank you all for your kind support in this data science maths skills.

von Abu I M S A

18. Okt. 2020

This is a great course, many things are basic but I have learned those a long day ago. Some explanations are from different perspective than conventional. However, definitely a great course.

von veer

21. Juli 2020

A great foundation course for anybody whoose tryna find their feet in the excitng and vast world of data science,i learnt so many new things..it was truly an enriching experience.Thank you!!

von Altynay O

7. Juli 2020

My first course on Data Science and was happy to share this experience with Duke University. The course was informational, very resourceful and hopefully beneficial for my future endeavors.

von Kensuke I

30. Apr. 2020

Good learning overall.

Some part are pretty easy, which I remember learning in junior high,

but some theorems are hard to apply.

Now I want to use these theory in real world and data science!

von Bayu W

9. Juli 2020

I learned basic math of data science from based to Bayes' theorem. Lecturer explained material clearly and easy to understand. It helps me to start my journey in data science. Thank you.

von KESHA R

6. Juli 2020

The instructors for this course have a very calm, awesome demeanor. They are very confident and efficient in their methodology overall. This course has reawakened my desire for learning.

von Alieldin R

14. Okt. 2019

The course was very good and well thought of, a great refresher for very important concepts, the instructors are very good at simplifying the material and making it very understandable.

von salim m

25. Dez. 2020

This course gives a basic foundational math needed for machine learning at high level. I loved this course as the instructor kept it interesting problem solving quizzes gives hands on.

von Syed A Z

27. Apr. 2020

An excellent course to learn, Thanks to to Instructor and Duke University and Thanks "Coursera" for this online platform for giving us the flexibility to learn as per learners comfort.

von Lymeng C

2. März 2019

I don't quite understand the last chapter about probability. Please use more examples like in quiz to demonstrate the concept one by one. Thanks for making education free to all of us.

von Bharani J

11. Jan. 2021

The Topics were clearly articulated. The quizzes tested the understanding. One suggestion i would say is to have solutions provided to the last quiz on Probability. It was challenging

von James L M

1. Juni 2020

This is really hard for me but this gives me a great deal lessons and guidance on what math lessons to learn for Data Science. The final week is very challenging. Thank you for this.

von Tiong S C

14. Nov. 2017

Great course. First three weeks are a bit basic, and the fourth week is more challenging. Highly recommended. Hope there will be more on derivatives and courses like this. Thank you!

von Shepherd M

19. Mai 2020

At face value it looks like a very simple course but it is very challenging and extremely demanding course.I had to continously recap on the concepts by the lecturers.great indeed

von Shashank K

5. Okt. 2017

The Basics were covered pretty nicely. The instructors had given it their all to explain the concepts. The tests did test you pretty well on the concepts you learnt from the videos

von Andrew E T T

20. Sep. 2020

Make sure to polish up on every concept regarding probability from the beginning of the videos. That way you won't lose your way at the end. Everything else was simpler to follow.