Chevron Left
Zurück zu Designing, Running, and Analyzing Experiments

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Designing, Running, and Analyzing Experiments by University of California San Diego

3.7
421 Bewertungen
154 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

You may never be sure whether you have an effective user experience until you have tested it with users. In this course, you’ll learn how to design user-centered experiments, how to run such experiments, and how to analyze data from these experiments in order to evaluate and validate user experiences. You will work through real-world examples of experiments from the fields of UX, IxD, and HCI, understanding issues in experiment design and analysis. You will analyze multiple data sets using recipes given to you in the R statistical programming language -- no prior programming experience is assumed or required, but you will be required to read, understand, and modify code snippets provided to you. By the end of the course, you will be able to knowledgeably design, run, and analyze your own experiments that give statistical weight to your designs....

Top-Bewertungen

DS

Jun 04, 2017

This was really useful. The course was well structured and provided excellent real-life examples that are easily transferrable to other scenarios. Keep it up!

MP

Jul 17, 2019

Very difficult content of the module, but the teacher explained the issues clearly. Tests were also helpful in understanding and mastering the material.

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 of 149 Reviews for Designing, Running, and Analyzing Experiments

von Santiago B

May 25, 2019

I have to be honest, I hated this course mostly because I suffered from the start to the end, but don't get me wrong, the concepts are great and very interesting, I didn't know how much information can you get from a simple CSV file; the thing is the course is based in the RStudio tool and I struggled very much with it; missing libraries, constant crashes, and at some point I lost the thread, the concepts start to seem too complex for someone who hasn't much experience with coding so my motivation went away and at the end I was just following instructions to make it through. Maybe if the concepts stay centered on the meaning and not the tool this would be more enjoyable. But I'm very grateful because now I have the sense of data and its importance to backup important design desitions, Thanks!

von 薛昭

Jun 13, 2019

It requires a lot of knowledge of R and statistic

von Raluca M

Aug 07, 2019

Very, very, difficult. I'm finding myself having a harder time to pass this than structural design in architecture university, and that says a lot. At least in school we had the option to ask other students, but online, this resource is way less present. I did start getting some principles, but this needs rebalancing in my view.

von Yemao

Aug 08, 2019

Although the lecturer has explained many theoretical aspects regarding experiments preparation and analysis well in the course, I honestly don't enjoy this course. The reasons are: 1. this is a stats course to a large extent. So you better have a good understanding of stats using in psychological studies. Otherwise you will GET LOST. 2. This course uses R instead of Python. If you are R novice like me, you WILL HAVE trouble installing packages, modules or using them because of non-compatible version of R etc. The lecturer sometimes will explicitly point out the "right" codes to execute, but it did not work as many other students suggested. Then you asked a question in the forum but unfortunately you still dont get any answer even after you complete this course. In my opinion this also shows poor preparation of the course materials and lack of updating teaching/exercise materials. Copy and paste code seems to become the pattern for completing course exercises, but i really doubt how much you can really apply for real-world cases. With all due respect this course shows a huge contrast with previous course in the interaction design specialisation and really make me feel a bit disappointed.

von erin

Dec 18, 2018

i can't figure out how to contact anyone about issues with the program used for this course... i have posted in discussions and searched for ways to contact someone and found nothing. more support is needed when using a program that isn't functioning the way we are taught. i'm about to take the quiz for week 6 but 2 of the main functions used gave errors and i'm not sure how to go from there since no contact or help is found readily. this is ruining this course for me, realizing that no support is available for significant issues like this

von Luis P

Oct 05, 2018

Very boring, and not useful for the normal work market

von Anna M

Oct 15, 2016

Very hard to follow and to understand if you don't have any mathematics background or statistic knowledge. But it is doable.

von Almudena L

Jun 28, 2016

Despite of been a interesting course I find it really hard to pass it. In my opinion, previous knowledge or R should be required.

von Florence L

Jun 20, 2016

Very dry content and hard to retain any information presented in the course because of it. Quizzes are fairly easy to pass provided you have some programming experience.

von Weronika G

May 15, 2018

I have to admit, this course was quite an ordeal. I don't have a problem with statistics or maths but the way the material is presented leaves a lot to be desired. The only course in the specialization that I struggled to go through.

von Mariangela

Jun 15, 2017

Quite difficult, I had to do a lot of research and figure out lots of stuff by myself that was not previously indicated. I would have also loved to have a few real scenarios / use cases on how this method comes to be implemented before we started the actual practical part. I know what I learned was useful - I don't know if I will remember it all, but certainly challenging and interesting.

von Nicholas J

Oct 21, 2017

Throwing graduate level stats and R in towards the end of this certificate is truly baffling, but that aside it was taught well given the limited time.

The course would have been best geared to more practical considerations of research design itself, like more focus on when to use each test, how to get subjects, set up usability testing, issues to look out for etc.

I'm not suggesting testing considerations like sphericity and the Kolmogorov-Smirnov test etc. shouldn't have been addressed, but I think the time would have been better spent just laying the foundation for them conceptually, as opposed to getting into the nitty-gritty all the time with R.

von Liwa S

Jul 11, 2016

OK content but too slowly presented

painful experience to go through all the lessons

von Jeppe C

May 22, 2016

Very very difficult. Quizzes are quite easy to accomplish, but the practical "take-away" from each week is small. I would have preferred if the course focused on getting the results(data) and keeping the statistical analysis to a few (most common) areas.

Too academic. More focus on practice use.

von Cristian R

Apr 25, 2016

This course is good but TOO FAR from the real content this specialisation look for (or at least, I was expecting).

von sara w

Dec 17, 2016

Far too advanced for a total beginner as I am, was really hard and very confusing. My industry friends said it went too far for what I need in the real world

von Esmeralda

Apr 22, 2016

too complicated

von Michele M

Dec 24, 2016

If you already took statistics, this is a reasonable refresher. However, it is way too brief for the amount of material covered.

von Parimala H

Mar 27, 2017

This is a complex course for people who don't know R Studio. While it is not very hard to learn R Studio (even for people who are not comfortable with coding), it is very difficult when people get stuck. I did not get the much needed support when my R studio installation failed or when installation of libraries failed with error messages. The instructor was good, course content is good, but the lack of a suitable support representative for such complex subjects pulls down the reputation of this course. Please provide a good support personnel to at least help with online queries.

von Olga S

Mar 19, 2016

Hello. Unfortunately- 2. Just my opinion - not enough information about R tests and program, what is this, basic details for testing and code, no details for Mac-users. Videos are to short to understand details and goals, what I will learn, how to use mathematic formulas? If I could - I wanna leave this course. Thanks for understanding.

von Luciana V M

Jan 26, 2019

Alunos podem ter dificuldade em baixar o programa. Tive que usar outro computador. Os testes são muito detalhistas e não acho que isso seja um conteúdo adequado para o curso, uma coisa seria ensinar sobre como realizar testes com usuários e técnicas outra é ter a necessidade de usar códigos e contas sendo que um programa de analitísticas mostraria o resultado sem precisar de todo esse esforço.

von Alwin K

Sep 26, 2018

There are lots of issues with different version of R and the compatibility with some packages. Especially Mac users can't finish specific tasks.

von Alex K

Aug 29, 2017

This has been the most frustrating experience of my digital life.

von Anastasiya S

Oct 23, 2017

I have no statistics background so I'm struggling to make any sense out of this course. I wish I could skip it but it is mandatory to proceed to capstone project of the specialization.

von Wendy B

Mar 24, 2016

Not recommended. Not clear why we need to use R and learn all this statistics. Not practical for use in UX design.