Chevron Left
Zurück zu Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS von Duke University

4.6
5,638 Bewertungen
1,188 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Learn foundational programming concepts (e.g., functions, for loops, conditional statements) and how to solve problems like a programmer. In addition, learn basic web development as you build web pages using HTML, CSS, JavaScript. By the end of the course, will create a web page where others can upload their images and apply image filters that you create. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Think critically about how to solve a problem using programming; 2. Write JavaScript programs using functions, for loops, and conditional statements; 3. Use HTML to construct a web page with paragraphs, divs, images, links, and lists; 4. Add styles to a web page with CSS IDs and classes; and 5. Make a web page interactive with JavaScript commands like alert, onClick, onChange, adding input features like an image canvas, button, and slider....

Top-Bewertungen

IS

Oct 06, 2015

This is the first course I am taking in Coursera.org. The valuable instructors of Duke University designed and created a masterpiece for learners. Thank you so much guys. Greets from Istanbul, Turkey.

AC

Aug 18, 2019

Very insightful and helped me learn about the basics of computer science. Now I'm able to better understand the jargon of computer science and can discuss with others or even review codes. Thank you!

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 1,159 Bewertungen für Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

von Marina K

Nov 22, 2016

This course is very inconsistent when it comes to JavaScript. Instead of giving fundamentals of the language, course instructors prefer to give you a bunch of non-standard libraries and teach you a couple of randomly selected methods which could be applied to images. All core concepts such as data types, data structures are explained very sketchy. OOP paradigm isn;t explained at all. For example, they give you a line of code which goes something like:

var x = new SimpleImage("...");

no explanation of what SimpleImage is is given neither you are taught how exactly it works. Apparently, this course relies heavily on self-learning the lib docs given on their site.

All together this leads you to simply monkey-coping lecture materials into code editor without even realising how it works and what it does. This course is at best serve observatory purpose to give student just a peek at what web development is like.

This course could not be used as a solid foundation fow specialization.

von Hayley I

Mar 16, 2019

The first week of this course was great, and then the second week was a huge leap up in terms of expectations for the exercises. There was not enough instruction to enable the learner to do the exercises, leaving them feeling demotivated. I'm switching back to the course I was doing on Lynda.com instead, which was must more thorough.

von Ashley N

Nov 02, 2016

I've been learning Javascript with lots of different online courses over the last 2 years and this is the first one that presented the information in such a way that I could understand it. Thanks!

von Ismail G S

Oct 06, 2015

This is the first course I am taking in Coursera.org. The valuable instructors of Duke University designed and created a masterpiece for learners. Thank you so much guys. Greets from Istanbul, Turkey.

von Warwick N

Mar 17, 2018

My first Coursera course I've ever done and I was very impressed with the platform on which it was presented. My experience was a positive one and I will definitely continue to pursue other courses.

von Manjula V

Oct 12, 2016

The teachers and instructors really should make better videos and stop giving peer edit assignment when people are picky and do not grade your assignment. The instructors should also give their contacts to let their students contact them when the discussion forums dont work

von Anirudh

Mar 23, 2019

Instructions are great. Each word spoken is important. Listen well, listen again and practice.

My only recommendation would be to not just explain a certain function, principle or theory but also give some real world examples of how a function is commonly used for daily web services.

von R M A

Jan 12, 2019

GREAT EXPERIENCE,GREAT STARTY TOWARDS FUN WITH PROGRAMMING AND PLAYING WITH JAVASCRIPT TO MODIFY IMAGES

von Bram J

Jan 04, 2019

No help in discussion forums at all.

von Patricia S

Dec 31, 2018

This was a very good course. It took me much longer than I thought it would but that was because of my scheduling of time to take the course and finding the errors when something did not work correctly. I would recommend this to anyone who would like to learn the very basics of web design.

von Heather T

Jan 22, 2019

I have tried multiple times to learn javascript and have always failed. This class bridged the gap for me and made it easy to learn. Great job Duke & Coursera!

von Marina

Sep 03, 2016

An excellent course that is so easy to follow and comprehend. It has everything that a beginner needs. Wonderful teachers and very good content. I really enjoyed this course. Thank you so much!

von Gregory S

Jun 23, 2019

Comprehensive course. Completing the optional assignments are key to developing proficiency. The course provides many resources for continuing study. Worthwhile course if you want to learn front-end web development.

von Anthony C

Aug 18, 2019

Very insightful and helped me learn about the basics of computer science. Now I'm able to better understand the jargon of computer science and can discuss with others or even review codes. Thank you!

von Donald C

Dec 03, 2018

Some examples of similar projects to our assignments available always would help. There were several times where I was stuck on something that no one had gotten stuck on in a couple weeks

von Benjamin G

Dec 11, 2018

indept analysis, i realy enjoy every seconds of it. Thanks to Coursera and Duke University.

von Mhammad A E

Dec 16, 2018

it's really interactive and you will learn so much things with fun!! Thank you vers much!

von Ahmad E H

Dec 27, 2018

Thank you for this amazing introductory course, as I have learned a lot about computer programming in a fun and easy way. The way the course started from one pixel concept to manipulating images and hiding an image inside another was fascinating. The most important thing I have learned was thinking about how to solve a problem and understand it right before start writing my code.

von Shishir S K

Dec 29, 2018

The Contents in the course are very well organised.

Teaching methodology is very unique, as its focuses more on the application of the knowledge learnt.

I am sure, the people who have finished this course will find a difference in them.

Also, this course induces the spirit of programming in the learners and also explains complex image processing techniques in a very simple manner.

Thanks to all the professors and the mentors, for organizing such a fantastic course.

von Casey P J

Dec 30, 2018

Context is explained extremely well! All instructors are enjoyable to listen to. The lessons are clear and to the point which so much value given in a short video. The readings are challenging and really provide you good hands-on experience to further learn/understand what is taught in the videos.

von Mohammad M U

Dec 29, 2018

Fantastic course for a beginner. Will make scratch your head for sure. But at the end it's pure joy. Do it. You will love it.

von Zaeem U H

Jan 12, 2019

This course was really amazing. The method of teaching is very good and instructors explain everything good and point to point. I really enjoy this course and learn many skills from this course. I hope to learn further. Thanks!

von Daniel V

Jan 13, 2019

Great course, the videos are extremely helpful and provide the tools needed to execute the code.

von alme

Jan 15, 2019

第一个英文课程学完啦

von Shuang C

Jan 14, 2019

Good Class, Enjoying it