Chevron Left
Zurück zu Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS von Duke University

4.6
Sterne
6,257 Bewertungen
1,320 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Learn foundational programming concepts (e.g., functions, for loops, conditional statements) and how to solve problems like a programmer. In addition, learn basic web development as you build web pages using HTML, CSS, JavaScript. By the end of the course, will create a web page where others can upload their images and apply image filters that you create. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Think critically about how to solve a problem using programming; 2. Write JavaScript programs using functions, for loops, and conditional statements; 3. Use HTML to construct a web page with paragraphs, divs, images, links, and lists; 4. Add styles to a web page with CSS IDs and classes; and 5. Make a web page interactive with JavaScript commands like alert, onClick, onChange, adding input features like an image canvas, button, and slider....

Top-Bewertungen

JS

Jan 13, 2020

A very helpful code which allows you to learn the simple of JavaScript HTML and CSS. Very helpful in building websites and an excellent course for beginners or even people who have never coded before.

IS

Oct 06, 2015

This is the first course I am taking in Coursera.org. The valuable instructors of Duke University designed and created a masterpiece for learners. Thank you so much guys. Greets from Istanbul, Turkey.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 1,290 Bewertungen für Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

von Namibia T

Jul 23, 2017

I really enjoyed the class! However, after looking through responses that some students received from mentors, I had the impression that some of the mentors behaved contrary to what their title suggestions. Mentors are there to guide students in their learning, however some of the condescending responses mentors were giving some students were discouraging of learning. Again, not all mentors did this, but I think it's worth going through all of the responses students receive and providing facilitation training for mentors so that they have appropriate responses, criticism that is constructive rather than destructive, for students who may be struggling with their code or the content.

von Themistocles S

Aug 07, 2016

A very good course that teaches many interesting and surprising things. I admit I was unaware of this material. Completely unaware. Creating beautiful webpages (HTML, CSS), creating and modifying images with JavaScript, encrypting and decrypting images in other images !!! Ooooh !!! What an unexpected joy !!! I did not know someone can do such things all by himself. I'm really happy to have gone through this course. One thing. It takes time. I think that the time required that is given in the information about the course is unreal. Anyway I wholeheartedly suggest this course to anyone interested in science, computers, and is energetic enough to absorb this amazing stuff.

von shemaela m

Nov 17, 2016

The course provides complete information and guidance for a beginner in Web designing. Me being unfamiliar with programming before starting here, our mentors and teachers provided study material in such a manner helped me (a fresh comer) learn HTML, CSS and JS quickly and pretty well. In a month, you really do learn a lot. You require a good amount of self-discipline and dedication for learning any new subject, specially if you're juggling it with a job or being a university student. But the quality of lecture videos, the material provided for extra learning and the weekly amount of work is perfect for coaching you in Web Designing.

Good Luck !!!

von Carla A

Jun 26, 2019

Na primeira semana do curso, eu pensei em desistir pois achei que o curso era muito simples. Eu não desisti porque não gosto de coisas inacabadas. Fico feliz por não ter desistido. A partir da segunda semana, eu me encantei com o curso e o tanto que ele trouxe de novidades para mim. Este é o melhor curso que já fiz. Este curso me manteve totalmente focada, dedicada a aprender o máximo possível. Tenho mais de 50 páginas de anotações relevantes que servirão de apoio para meus próximos trabalhos. Parabéns aos professores pela dedicação e entusiasmo. Espero revê-los em breve!

Muito obrigada por tudo!

Happy coding!

von Boğaçhan A

Apr 12, 2017

This is an excellent code for both beginners and novice programmers who want to improve their problem-solving skills. This course does not only teach the languages but also teaches the best ways to approach a problem, and how to implement our approach into coding. I have learned various image editing techniques, gained domain knowledge and even built my own full website. The only downside is that the javascript libraries which is used in most of the exercises is written by Duke itself so I'm not sure if I'll be able to use them outside the course. But these libraries really helped understand the process.

von Marci M

Oct 12, 2015

This class is challenging for a beginner but really does teach a lot in a short time frame.

I feel that some concepts in week 4 were much harder than necessary for a beginner, but am glad I didn't give up. Some students said they were dropping it in the forums after having passed previous weeks. I'm glad I stuck with it though because I believe that I was able to get far enough in my understanding to pass this course and also give me an idea of some things I may like to explore in the future.

It's possible to pass this course even if one of the concepts has you frustrated. Keep with it!

von Yintao L

Sep 30, 2018

I would say this course is really amazing. It clearly explain how to create a simple webpage by using the HTML, CSS and Javascript. I would guarantee anyone who has fully finished all the tasks should have 'foundation' knowledge about interactive webpages even though almost all the tasks are not included in the Coursera content which need students to be self-disciplined. The honour content is really interesting as well. If anyone wants to undertake this course, don't forget that. I'm looking forward to continue the rest of the courses. Thank you all!!!

von Tammie M H

Oct 22, 2016

I absolutely LOVE your courses! I have tried a lot of Coursera and other online courses that bored me to tears, but you have mastered the platform. Your courses are so well built and I love your sense of humor!

Some things that set your course apart from other courses:

1. A variety of instructors. Seeing different people introduce different topics in the videos makes it more interesting.

2. Regular quizzes to keep me paying attention.

3. Regular exercises to put into practice what I'm learning.

Thanks for sharing your expertise with the world!

von SATYA S K J

Sep 24, 2016

I would like to sincerely thank The Coursera Community for providing this wonderful opportunity to get a overlook on the HTML,CSS,Java Script concepts.Now I am in a position where I can design webpages and edit images easily.I think Coursera is providing a wonderful platform where it integrates people from various communities into a common task-coding.I am feeling privilaged for associating with Duke Universities.

I once again take this opportunity to thank the Coursera Community for providing me this opportunity.

von Edward F

Jun 10, 2017

I took the full Specialization, so I'm going write the same review for each of the 5 modules.

This is a great course, but it's not for beginners. They ask you to do a lot of coding, which is great since that's the only way to really gain proficiency. And the code they ask you to write is, in my opinion, pretty hard for someone new to coding. My hat's off to someone new to programming who makes it through the five modules.

So, thanks to Duke for putting together a great course. It was very good.

von Charlie F

Aug 31, 2019

I liked that this course was self-paced and I could work through the sections when I had the time. The lectures were a very good resource and I think they did a good job of focusing on the fundamentals of programming rather than spending too much time on the details of the code. There was a good mix of lectures, practice, and the option for online discussions too. I feel like I have a much better grasp of how to think like a programmer and look forward to continuing with more online courses.

von Aaron Q

Mar 31, 2017

Some things were a little too easy (like the quizzes, for the most part.) Occasionally, there would be some challenges in exercises for which solutions were not laid out in much detail, making them harder. That's a good teaching strategy, and encourages independent thinking to solve them. The discussion board mentors were helpful and promptly responsive, tho I did not find the discussion forums until the end of week 2. I think there should be links to those on more pages.

von MOHAMMAD A R

Sep 24, 2016

The course is excellent in many ways. The course material,video is very simple and understandable to a layman also. one need not be an expert.The presentation was superb, leaving no doubt at the end of each week.The course material and video is self sufficient. I am very happy to have joined the course. I would like to complete the rest of the course satisfactorily. I would love to have soft copies of the material which can be downloaded for study at convenient. Thank you

von Roman P

Jan 07, 2016

As the title of this course states, it is about web and programming for beginners. While myself I wasn't absolute beginner in Web and HTML, only Javascript was a new topic for me, I used this course to check my knowledge and experience and "brush up" my skills. Teachers are friendly , videos are good, questionnaires check your understanding. Tasks are interesting enoug for people "to get a taste of things" and do some funny stuff.

Thanks to Duke University team!

von Shishir S K

Dec 29, 2018

The Contents in the course are very well organised.

Teaching methodology is very unique, as its focuses more on the application of the knowledge learnt.

I am sure, the people who have finished this course will find a difference in them.

Also, this course induces the spirit of programming in the learners and also explains complex image processing techniques in a very simple manner.

Thanks to all the professors and the mentors, for organizing such a fantastic course.

von Bogdan U

Apr 07, 2019

Very helpful if you have no previous experience whatsoever (and even if you do, very helpful to refresh or fill in some of the basic stuff that is rusty or missing).

The reason why is that it really goes from fundamentals, slowly but surely building up, using not only theory but a lot of practical tasks too, the tasks that are structured and well thought-of, propelling the student to develop a deeper understanding of the concepts.

Thank you and well done.

von Deleted A

Mar 27, 2018

In just first week of this course, I was able to build my first ever website page containing my interests by simply spending 2 hours per day for 3 days.I was real surprise to see that how a slow learner with a busy schedule like me can learn a new useful skill very easily . This course is designed with high level of academic professionalism. I would love to recommend other fellows to try out this course if they want to learn about web development.

von Скрипченко Е А

Nov 24, 2019

Хороший курс для начинающих,у которых уже имеются хотя бы минимальные знания) Жаль,что на многих видео нет перевода на русский,но меня это не испугало,хотя для некоторых может стать это решающим фактором. Задания не скучные,в видео все показывается подробно и не понять просто невозможно. Единственное,еще раз повторюсь, курс на английском и перевода текстов,которые есть - нет,поэтому могут возникать трудности,если вы не владеете этим языком.

von Srinivas T

Dec 03, 2017

I am very much thankful to coursera and Duke University for giving me an opportunity to learn this course. After completing this course, I am confident that I can use javascript to create web pages interactively. This course is really helpful for those who are beginning to script. One can learn a lot of basics following the tryit exercises given. I recommend this course to beginners. Thankyou once again to coursera team and Duke University.

von Johann G

Aug 04, 2019

It's so important to know the relationship between varieties of technique as for a beginner and how they interact with each other, without digging deep in one technique. And the purpose of using this technical route is always based on the problems that should be solve. That's the reason why I would speak highly of this course, even with nearly ten years of software maintaining experience, this course makes me acquired a lot.

von Ahmad E H

Dec 27, 2018

Thank you for this amazing introductory course, as I have learned a lot about computer programming in a fun and easy way. The way the course started from one pixel concept to manipulating images and hiding an image inside another was fascinating. The most important thing I have learned was thinking about how to solve a problem and understand it right before start writing my code.

von Oleh L

Feb 16, 2020

Nicely structured and organized course. Gives just enough to get the taste of the topic in combination with interesting problems to solve. The last one is forcing you to dig a bit in between the documentation. But almost all topics are covered in support section for the project.

Great job by Duke's team! Will recommend it without any doubts and the 1st one will be my son :)!

von Panayiotis O

Jan 26, 2017

I have learned a great deal from this course. The lectures and assignments were very well structured. The most important feature of the course for me was that after every bit of new information, there were challenging exercises that gave me a good grasp of the newly learned material. It took many, many hours of working on the assignments, but it was worth every second!

von sridarshan

May 05, 2019

The course was informative ,interactive,productive and challenging . The environment provided for practice including the documentation was a great tool for understanding the concept and elements used for creating a webpage. The assignment at the end of each module was challenging. Overall the course helped me in understanding the basics if creating a webpage

von Bukola M A

Nov 20, 2018

The course is the first step that will equip anyone interested in learning programming. I really enjoyed the course, the lecturers are super, love their teaching method. Susan H. Rodger, Robert Duvall, Owen Astrachan, Andrew D. Hilton, can't thank you guys enough, you did a great job making sure learning this course comes with so much fun, thanks a lot.