Chevron Left
Zurück zu Internet History, Technology, and Security

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Internet History, Technology, and Security von University of Michigan

4.8
Sterne
2,506 Bewertungen
653 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The impact of technology and networks on our lives, culture, and society continues to increase. The very fact that you can take this course from anywhere in the world requires a technological infrastructure that was designed, engineered, and built over the past sixty years. To function in an information-centric world, we need to understand the workings of network technology. This course will open up the Internet and show you how it was created, who created it and how it works. Along the way we will meet many of the innovators who developed the Internet and Web technologies that we use today. What You Will Learn: After this course you will not take the Internet and Web for granted. You will be better informed about important technological issues currently facing society. You will realize that the Internet and Web are spaces for innovation and you will get a better understanding of how you might fit into that innovation. If you get excited about the material in this course, it is a great lead-in to taking a course in Web design, Web development, programming, or even network administration. At a minimum, you will be a much wiser network citizen....

Top-Bewertungen

TR

11. Aug. 2020

This course was awesome. A combination of the history, sociology and practical architectural / implementation elements of modern digital and internet technology. I enjoyed it thoroughly. Thanks Chuck!

SB

6. Jan. 2016

This is an extremely important course. I would love to see it taught in high schools or in the first year of university. We should all understand how the Internet was developed and how it functions.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 646 Bewertungen für Internet History, Technology, and Security

von Chris C

27. Nov. 2016

I lived through the later part of the internet history, starting Engineering school in 1990. I remember using Gopher, and thinking it was terrible. I remember usenet groups, and emailing, and then eventually learning about the www. This course put that in an historical context, and explained the details of many of the internet technical aspects that I'd assumed and/or taken for granted. Very enjoyable!

von Yolanda D B

23. Mai 2020

It's a very good course if you want a basic understanding of Internet fundamentals and how were stablished through the years, how it works and how data is protected (and what inventions made that people can't steal your credit card information, for example). I found the materials to be easy to follow and to understand even I had zero prior knowledge about any of this, and had a great time while doing it!

von Djana R

9. Jan. 2018

Awesome! As usual Charles Severence and University of Michigan are the Best!

And this is not for the fact that he is my first teacher of Python (Programing for Everybody), but he is really a talented, smart man with many passion on explaining. I attended many courses and I feel that his lecture a better even as University of Toronto courses in Pyton.

Very strong Recomended all the Severence`s courses!

von Sey C

24. Okt. 2016

The title says it all. Great overview of the history, technology, and security of internet. From the title and the nature of these lecture type courses I was worried it would be boring, but not with Dr. Chuck :) He brings all of the concepts down to earth and help us understand them thoroughly at the same time. Highly recommended for everyone, especially non CS majors jumping into programming!

von Geoffrey P

15. Nov. 2015

This was my first course that I completed with Coursera. The highlight was the lecturer Chuck Severance whose relaxed style and sense of humour made it that much more worthwhile. My only regret was that he had the Office Hours in London on the day of The World Cup Rugby final-now imagine that in the States!!- for American Football. All in all an excellent course- more of Prof Severance please!

von Max

25. Apr. 2018

Outstanding course with an incredible professor. You can clearly see that he's passionate about what he's talking about and really conveys the vibe that was around to build the internet. Makes you want to know more, dive deeper and build stuff. Exactly what education and learning should be like. An the information is presented excellent as well. Cant imagine a way to make it better.

von Vamsee

24. Okt. 2015

This course is a must for anyone who wants to understand the fundamentals of how the internet works. The content, videos, and the teachings of Dr. Charles severance are just great, very precise and to the point with real life examples and interviews. It has been much more than what I had imagined and expected. Thanks very much Dr. Charles Severance and Coursera for a great course.

von Sumin K

21. Feb. 2021

Great course that gives you the understanding of the internet history and the technology behind it.After finishing this course,I was able to appreciate how many people dedicated to the technology that we take it for granted.I can see the world in a different perspective thanks to this lecture.Was a pleasure taking this course.And many thanks to Dr chuck from south korea.

von Pete

26. Jan. 2016

I found this to be more a 'have fun' improve your general knowledge course than something a bit more focused like learning to program in a particular language.

Having said that this is probably the single course on Coursera in which I have had the most genuine fun. The topic if just fantastic and the videos from so many of the key players is just incredibly interesting.

von Rob P

11. Mai 2017

Very good, organised, well thought out and presented history of the internet. Excellent interviews with people that shaped network computing technology to gain in first hand perspective. The material is easy to understand and would be an excellent MOOC for the first time user as I was. I am looking forward to more MOOC learning as a hobbiest of education.

von Theo S

10. Juni 2022

Fun to go through the history of the creation of the internet (again), meanwhile learning (refreshing...) the knowledge about modular layers and technology used that made it possible to take this online course. And all from a security point of view: to reach the required level of confidentiality & integrity for the message transferred from Alice to Bob.

von JesseTewboo

24. Apr. 2017

Dr.Chuck is really a good teacher and a good mentor, the first lesson I learned from him was Python, and this(IHTS) is the second one, really want to say thank you face to face with Dr.Chuck and really want to join the office hours, but whatever I want to say thanks again to Dr.Chuck and Coursera, for all knowledges you gave me, thanks!

von Erik I

9. Aug. 2016

Excellent course on the history of computers, computer networks, world wide web and a brief introduction into PKI. The interviews with the different "founding fathers" of previous topic is marvelous. To hear how the "Old School Heroes" brought us the technology and products of the technology is actually quite mesmerizing. Super Course!

von Shahzaib A Q

16. Aug. 2015

This course about the creation of the 1/0 communication world. I learn internet Basic, History, Evolution and University of Michigan Involvement. I experienced experts view about internet development and its development issues.Specially I select University of Michigan Courses because My honorable respected Teacher Sir Charles Severs.

von Kody K

8. Dez. 2015

Excellent overview on the history of the Internet, the technology that it consists of and how security measures started and are currently being utilized. The professor, Dr. Chuck Severance, is excellent in his ability to teach and show passion for the subject. Overall, a great course to take for beginners and professionals alike.

von Luka Č

25. Aug. 2017

A great introduction to how the Internet came to be. The course shows how and why the internet was created, it shows the architecture of the internet (which we take for granted a lot more than we should), and lastly, it shows how cryptography makes everything we do online safe and secure against unwanted eavesdroppers.

von Gunnar P

4. Feb. 2021

Great course, highly recommended. A very good introduction to internet security and a thorough walk-through of the history of the Internet. Dr Chuck is very engaging, knowledgable and adds a bit of humour to his lectures. Many of the interviews included in the course could become historic documents in their own right.

von Cristina M

17. Mai 2020

Dear Professor Chuck,

I really enjoyed your class. It was very interesting and it taught me a lot about the internet. I had to be very focused on your classes as the subjects (Bletchey Park bit a part as I love history) were very hard to me to understand (I;m zero technical), but I had a great time! Thank you!

Cristina

von Alexandrine W

25. Juni 2017

Really great course! Dr Chuck's explanations are clear and makes the material very approachable. Another great thing about the course is that there are several interviews with the inventors and innovators in the Internet world. I highly recommend taking this course, even if it just for the sake of curiosity!

von kateryna k

20. Aug. 2015

It's an excellent introduction to this Internet stuff.

Decryption tasks are by far my favourite. Using Excel made it easier.

Interviews with all these people are incredible.

And of course Dr. Chuck's lectures, explanations and analogies are really helpful even for non-native English speakers like me.

Thank you

von a s

22. Nov. 2021

This is a GREAT course. Dr. Chuck did an amazing job in explaining the material of this well structured course and I want to thank him for that. You can see the effort in the making of this course. A high standard full package course with the lectures, interviews ,quizzes and the final exam. Thanks again.

von Jean-Sebastien A

31. Aug. 2015

I loved this course that was my very first to follow in 2013 (and one of the first best courses available). Charles Severance brings us into the deep, fascinating and complex history of a tool that we so commonly use nowadays.

Really a must-study to understand better our world and how all that thing works.

von Zaitsev D

7. Jan. 2022

Хороший курс!Подчерпнул много новой информации для продолжения моего обучения.

Вот только хотел бы бесплатно получить сертификат об окончании курса.Я пока учусь и не работаю и денег у меня пока нет.И я не могу себе позволить платить за это.

Но очень бы хотел получить сертификат о окончании курса!Спасибо.

von Helal a

26. Apr. 2020

Feeling successful is wonderful when you challenge yourself to learn something new and get tired to get that success..Thank you very much, I learned something new for me..It was fun and very useful and I am very proud of what I learned with you. You are wonderful and deserve all appreciation..Thank you

von Shashidhara G

28. Sep. 2015

This course gave me great insights into the evolution of the internet, computer networks. Interview videos of people behind all the magic is an excellent collection and it is really informative to comprehend the big picture. I am very happy that I enrolled into this course and I am enjoying it.