Chevron Left
Zurück zu Leading for Equity, Diversity and Inclusion in Higher Education

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Leading for Equity, Diversity and Inclusion in Higher Education von University of Michigan

4.7
Sterne
258 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is open to professionals interested in learning more about leadership in higher education for a changing demographic or interested in developing their own leadership skills. The very idea that individuals can be taught to lead is not without its skeptics. Reasonable people, even some scholars in the field, point to the important traits, skills, and attributes that are observed in many visible leaders and contend that certain qualities necessary for effective leadership are not easily transmitted. To accept this premise and conclude that some people are born as natural leaders and others cannot be expected to lead at all is to make a mistake at the other end of the logical spectrum. We believe that leadership can be taught as long as it is concurrently nurtured, that most people possess a constellation of strengths around which they can construct their own leadership philosophy and approach, and that leadership development programming—if done well—can be transformative for organizers and participants. Course Level Objectives: Understand the historical narrative of institutions as well as institutional structures that have created instances of inclusion and exclusion in colleges and universities. Describe how transformational leadership is enacted for diversity, equity, and inclusion in a complex and contested environment. Compare legislative, governance, and public accountability and expectations in relation to contemporary issues in higher education. Analyze the strategic diversity planning process and documents of a selected institution. Recommend innovations and opportunities for transformational change at various levels of the ecological model using the strategic diversity planning process as a tool....

Top-Bewertungen

JS

3. Jan. 2022

This was a well-designed and delivered course. I learned so much about leading EDI initiatives and reflecting on my own thoughts about how to apply EDI strategies in my own unit at the college.

JM

30. Nov. 2020

I really enjoyed the inclusion of the covering HBCUs during this course. That was an unexpected and welcomed area of content. This course was very inspiring and I learned so much!

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 86 Bewertungen für Leading for Equity, Diversity and Inclusion in Higher Education

von Sarah V

16. Sep. 2019

Well organized and presents valuable information and thoughtful exercises on the subject of diversity, equity, and inclusion. Some of the lecture videos by Jon Burkhardt were very patronizing and included instances of biased language that seemed to have slipped under the radar. I would recommend this course but I would also urge the University to review the lecture videos and bring in an instructor of color who would not make such slips.

von Kenneth M

17. Mai 2020

The course was excellent! It is packed with eye-opening and useful information. The exercises were just right and the fifth star is reserved because it wasn't face-to-face assessment and instruction. Bravo!

von Oscar F L

17. Aug. 2017

Very interesting course and easy to follow. Sometimes a bit slow, since I suppose it's how the professor feels comfortable in front of the camera. Thanks for making this available to the world!

von Claudia G

9. Feb. 2018

It's a great course. Informative and very need for who wants to learn more about issues related to equity, diversity and inclusion and leadership in higher education.

von Sharon A M

3. Apr. 2020

Interesting course. The last two modules were the best.

von Azhar H

22. Dez. 2020

"I have seventeen plus years of experience taking training courses, therefore not easily impressed. Being in the academic world, I must say the course was excellent, one of the best I've experienced on a online MOOC format. I couldn't imagine him doing a better job of seamlessly walking students through a breadth of information in a remote environment. Professor did a fabulous job especially his explanation of Equaity, Diversity & Inclusion in the academic world"

von Diana s

19. Aug. 2020

Dr. Burkahardt performance in explaining the many complex factors, including providing great understanding of the pressing issues in Diversity, Equity and Equality in Educational institutions was outstanding. He explains with great passion.

The course it’s fantastic and it provides valuable tools to Development of Advocacy, leadership skills.

von Floreda M

30. Juli 2020

Although I have been involved with this type of work for many years now, there is always something new to learn, consider and grow from. My one and only recommendation is that you find a way to allow for more than just one presenter.

von Dr. L A P

7. Juli 2020

This course is definitely one that anyone can benefit from taking, even if you work in Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion. Continuing education is vital in the field of education and I appreciated learning from others around the world.

von Nur C

27. Apr. 2021

I Love this course so much, I can learn about higher education about equity diversity and inclusion. The amazing experience in this course that I can learn by free. thanks a lot, Coursera and Michigan University

von Cynthia W

20. Okt. 2022

This class is an excellent course for anyone interested in learning the details of building a diversity, equity, and inclusion strategic plans. The University of Michigan did a great job with this course.

von Emily F

14. Juni 2022

This course has lots of great tools and resources that will deepen your understanding of leadership through a DEI lens. The workload is very manageable and you can work at your own pace on your own time.

von Jo A S

4. Jan. 2022

This was a well-designed and delivered course. I learned so much about leading EDI initiatives and reflecting on my own thoughts about how to apply EDI strategies in my own unit at the college.

von Jackie M

30. Nov. 2020

I really enjoyed the inclusion of the covering HBCUs during this course. That was an unexpected and welcomed area of content. This course was very inspiring and I learned so much!

von Gwendolyn E H

2. Nov. 2021

I enjoyed the readings and videos. The information was engagaing. There was history included to help us understand how things have changed. Well done!

von Susan P

17. Sep. 2022

I enjoyed this course and learned a lot from it. I very much appreciated the novel approaches that felt different from many other DEI trainings and work.

von Josephine J

18. Apr. 2022

I wish there was more information on tangible differences and ideas one could make or follow into higher education and access in higher ed.

von Marianne J

7. Apr. 2021

This course was highly supportive of processes I was familiar with but brought in a deeper way of thinking as well as new approaches.

von Richard F

2. Dez. 2020

Really liked this course. A lot of information that needs to be a focus for not only higher education but our country as a whole.

von Hà A N

10. Aug. 2022

I learnt important concepts and tools to address the question of equity and inclusion at higher educational institutions.

von Soraia M

26. Okt. 2020

It was a good course to analyze the situational environment of the educational institutes that i have been leading with

von Patricia M

17. März 2022

This has been a very interesting and informative course. I learned a great deal and highly recommend it. Thank you.

von Mario L V

20. Feb. 2022

It was an outstanding experience learning from this course about Equity Diversity, and Inclusion in Higher Education.

von Maliheh R

13. Apr. 2022

One of the best courses I have ever taken. Excellent instructor, comprehensive content, important material covered.

von Deleted A

13. Okt. 2020

i love the content and the facilitator sharing. Wished we had more real time interaction and engagement though.