Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part II

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part II von Tel Aviv University

4.8
305 Bewertungen
68 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will discuss the developments in the Middle East from the early 20th century to the present. It will discuss the rise and retreat of Arab nationalism, the problems of internal cohesion of the Arab states, issues of religion and state, and the evolution of Islamist politics. It will also focus on the evolution of the Arab-Israeli conflict and its impact on the region and will conclude with an in depth analysis of the “Arab Spring” by placing these contemporary revolutionary events in their historical context. Please note that this course builds upon a previous course - The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I (https://www.coursera.org/learn/modern-middle-east-1/home/welcome) Learn about the history of the Middle East for a deeper understanding of current regional developments!...

Top-Bewertungen

MK

Jul 31, 2018

Excellent Course. Professor Susser does a thorough, careful job of bring the Middle East up to date to 2013 or so. Would love to see an additional week added dealing with developments up to today.

DE

May 04, 2017

One of the very best courses available, the historical examination of continue changing in the Middle East, allows students think the pieces that derive in actual regional struggle.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 67 Bewertungen für The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part II

von Kyong H K

Feb 06, 2019

V

von Ioannis M

Jan 17, 2019

Excellent!!

von Suharto G

Feb 19, 2019

This is an excellent course on the Middle East, its recent history and political landscape brilliantly outlined in such a way that one can have a bird's view of the whole region as it moved from one point in time to the modern era with full consideration of every tidbit of important events.

von Michael K

Jul 31, 2018

Excellent Course. Professor Susser does a thorough, careful job of bring the Middle East up to date to 2013 or so. Would love to see an additional week added dealing with developments up to today.

von Mahmoud E

Aug 07, 2018

very good

von Cesar A G Z

Jul 10, 2018

Excelente curso. Fácil de entender y bastante imparcial. Los felicito

von Antoine C

Jul 02, 2017

Very good overview of the Middle East, thank you

von Sencer T

Oct 27, 2017

Brilliant academic content...

Thanks for the opportunity:)))

von Aakash A

Sep 14, 2017

A complete and thorough journey from the Ottoman Empire to the Arab Spring with significant emphasis on the Arab-Israeli conflict.

von Manuela T

Jun 19, 2017

Un excelente recuento de la historia moderna de Medio Oriente

von Mick H

Aug 29, 2016

Brilliantly insightful summaries

von John V T

Jun 03, 2017

Excellent overview of a difficult subject

von Deleted A

Jan 31, 2016

An excellent course that examines the evolution of the Arab- Israeli conflict and which provides a historical context for the "Arab Spring" Insightful and thought-provoking...

von Kyle C

Jul 27, 2017

This course explained more about the Middle East than I had ever known in my life. I never understood the conflicts in that region, or why there was so much strife, but this class explained that perfectly. I wish this had been taught in school for me, I would have felt so much better informed.

von Armand R

Jun 27, 2017

Wonderfully informative and detailed. Fascinating topic.

Highly recommended!

von José d J D L C G

Nov 18, 2015

Excellent course and teacher.Congratulations!!

von Pedro S

Apr 08, 2016

Documentado y sintético curso sobre aspectos muy controvertidos de la historia contemporánea

von Mary F H

Apr 05, 2016

This was a brilliant course that has given me, for the first time, an understanding of the history of and issues in the Middle East. I highly recommend it.

von Oleg V K

Dec 16, 2015

Great MOOC for everyone want to learn about Mid East issue!!!

von MARCIO P D A

Jan 28, 2016

Professor Asher Susser is wonderful!

It is amazing to have the opportunity to study such high quality classes.

Thank you very much and best wishes from Brazil! :)

von Darcy R J

Dec 18, 2015

A great course all around, just like Part I.

Bitter sweet to be done as there was so much great information in here.

I highly recommend both courses if you want to learn a good amount of information on the Middle East in a short period of time.

von Deborah C

May 19, 2016

Thorough, insightful and taught with passion, this course gave me the understanding of the middle east conflict that I was looking for. They say experts can explain a complicated subject and make it feel simple and easy to understand and that is what Prof. Susser did with this course. Truly a "do not miss" course for any level if you want to gain insights into the history or get a simple and real understanding of the modern middle east. Really a great course.

von Christopher W

Dec 16, 2016

This course was thorough and non-bias look at the modern Middle East. A great two part course to help anyone better understand what is going in the region today, and how the events transpired from WWI onward.

von Angel V

May 27, 2017

I recommend this course to anyone interested in learning about the Middle East. (I took Part I and Part II of this course) The Middle East is a very hot topic of discussions these days, but sadly a lot of people don’t know much about the region. Most of the people learn about the Middle East trough media. Popular (mainstream) media creates an image of the region that only involves terrorism, autocratic governments and civil war. Even though most of the Middle East contemporary problems are extremely complicated, this course will help you understand a little about the region’s modern history, culture and ethnic/religious diversity. Understanding Middle East’s history (especially its modern history) will help you a great deal to understand the region’s contemporary issues. The Middle East is much more than what we see in the news. This course will greatly expand your knowledge regarding the history and culture of the region. I recommend people to take both, Part I and Part II, of this course. You will not regret it.

von Roberto D

Oct 01, 2016

Great course, great teaching !