Chevron Left
Zurück zu Mountains 101

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Mountains 101 von University of Alberta

4.9
Sterne
2,237 Bewertungen
839 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

Top-Bewertungen

BS
11. Feb. 2021

Great fun, I really enjoyed this course. Sometimes the dialogue was somewhat repetitive but overall you can see a lot of effort went into finding experts and giving quality, accompanying video clips.

SK
22. Dez. 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

Filtern nach:

301 - 325 von 838 Bewertungen für Mountains 101

von Tseng-Mau Y

20. Apr. 2020

Awesome content and video production. Very interesting and covers a wide range of topics. As some that enjoys mountain recreations, it is a good primer on the environment I spend so much time in.

von Jeanne B

11. Juni 2021

Great course, well organized and presented. A large amount of information, but not overwhelming. I highly recommend this course and hope that soon there will be a sequel Mountains 102 or 201 ...

von Neil H

10. Apr. 2020

This was a great way to learn and spend time in a valuable way during isolation while I can't physically be in the mountains. Can't wait to see what knowledge sticks the next time I'm out there!

von Liza v G

21. Juni 2018

Thanks to Zac Robinson and David Hic and all the other ones. Nice voices, good music, beautiful pictures. Very interesting. I have enjoyed this course very much. Good Luck and Love from Holland.

von Charles T

2. Mai 2020

Extremely informative and well presented by the professors. The added insight of various other scientists and members of Parks Canada amplified the understanding of lesson subjects. Thank you!!

von Carlos B G

8. Jan. 2021

This is the best coursera course I have taken so far. I have enjoyed every minute of it. The content is superb, the guest speakers are very interesting and the main instructors are excellent.

von Paolo P

11. Juni 2020

Right, I just basically DEVOUR this course! What a joy! Great videos, great interactive material and what a scenery! Of course, there is also a great amount of really, really good information!

von Talha K

25. Mai 2020

Amazing scenic views on the backdrop of all lectures. I am in love with the Canadian Rockies. May God grant the neighboring US with a sane president who is not a climate change denier as well.

von Redvers F C

8. Mai 2020

I can honestly say that this course is the best course that I have ever studied in my life. I have learned so much about mountains and I will always appreciate everything to do with mountains.

von Camilo A G M

1. Aug. 2017

Excellent course, it's very complete and it reaches several disciplines, making it an integral course. Besides, it's interactive and it gives a lot of examples. Thanks for such a great course!

von Nibesh S

27. Juni 2020

Definitely the best MOOC I have completed. Excellent video presentations from the instructors, great examples and some surprise guest speakers who just made this course even more interesting.

von omoding d

8. Apr. 2021

it's really been a great platform to appreciate nature, especially mountainous landscapes, and its roles. they play in our well-being and the planet at large thanks for allowing me to learn.

von Karthaus R

16. März 2021

A complete survey of the mountains and their role in the mondial climate, the historical development of the earth in time, their footprint on our climate and future of the world in general.

von Ignacio F D

11. Juli 2020

Amazing, im a 17 year old student from Argentina, and I loved this course. Thank you so much to the University of Alberta and Coursera to giving me the oportunity of completing this course.

von Marjorie F L

30. Dez. 2020

Some interesting info and the photos were wonderful.

There was a problem with Lesson 5 - the first time I completed it it didn't register so I had to do it twice to 'complete' the course.

von Becky F

29. Okt. 2019

Incredible mixture of geography, biology, conservation policy, biodiversity, art, culture, literature and social issues!! Entertaining, engaging, interesting, informative, 10/10 recommend.

von Virginia N F C

19. Sep. 2017

thank you very much for thic curse. I connected to mountain environments even more. tahnk you for taking the time for preparing this course and leaving it open and free for the world.

von Yugansh B

10. Juli 2020

I refer this course to all nature lovers. It is an interdisciplinary course. You will learn how to survive on mountains, reasons behind the experiences you will face in the mountains

von David K

1. Juli 2020

Very interesting course! I love the field aspect of the course more maybe because I'm a field geologist . The course gave me more understanding about what mountains are in real life.

von Way C A

27. März 2017

This course is absolutely wonderful and educational. I should get back to hiking. How did you guys manage to get Justin Trudeau to give a speech for this course? Thank you very much.

von Amy D

23. Feb. 2021

I loved this course, it was full of information and each week was engaging and fascinating. I also loved the test at the end! Thank you for making the course free, it was brilliant!

von ABDU S M

28. Sep. 2020

Awesome Course!

Excellent lecture classes. I learnt many terms and concepts from this course.

Thank you COURSERA, University of Alberta and the most respected professors and lectures.

von Vinci A

13. Juli 2020

Informative, engaging, and beautifully done. Not only has it instilled a deeper and renewed appreciation for mountains, but it also made me extra proud of to be Canadian. Thank you.

von robea i

1. Mai 2020

Very nice & interactive course .Quite rich in information and very nice applied examples regarding the given information. Also the maps were a nice touch to this course . Thank you!

von Kubčo T

30. Apr. 2017

This course helped me a lot during my intensive studies for exam at my University. I would like to thanks all contributors and authors for achieving this great piece of good job :)