Chevron Left
Zurück zu In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting von The Museum of Modern Art

4.9
Sterne
800 Bewertungen
340 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

Top-Bewertungen

CG

Feb 25, 2019

This is the best art class I have ever taken. It offers a perfect mix of studio art/painting techniques and art history. Instructor Corey D'Augustine is fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed this course!

AS

Oct 04, 2019

Well-designed course; interesting material, including optional readings. The studio demonstrations and accompanying exercises were very helpful to my own art work. Excellent overall; thank you.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 335 Bewertungen für In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

von Nina V K

Sep 14, 2018

This was the most enlightening course - it has highly motivated me, not only in my own painting but in my continued research and learning. I now have a deep appreciation of the New York School approach, the intriguing artists featured in this course and their intense philosophies. Thank you MoMA

von HB B S B

Jan 09, 2020

Excellent. Just plainly excellent. One of the best art courses I have ever taken in or out of art school. Many thanks to Corey D'Augustine for this course and for driving my art studio practice and art teaching practice with higher challenges and greater goals. HB Barry Strasbourg-Thompson BFA

von Christie

May 22, 2017

The technical aspect of art history was fascinating and really helped me understand and remember how the artist worked, and the development of their practice. I feel able to talk about these artists, the movements they are associated with, and to produce credible visual analyses of their work.

von lorna z f

Jul 17, 2017

Excellent! Not boring at all. Plenty of well done reading materials and interesting links. My favorite part - "In the studio", I think I learned a lot and got motivation to do more.

Curators' and Corey's videos are informative, professional, involving. I would highly recommend this course.

von N.G.S. P

Jul 01, 2017

This course has been extremely helpful to me. I am a fresher in painting and wanted to learn more about the various artists of modern art and explore various painting materials and techniques.

This is really an amazing course! Thank you for all your effort in making this course for us.

von lucy g

Apr 16, 2017

Thank you for a very well organized course, with Corey who did a brilliant job of demonstrating a wide variety of techniques and discussing in depth the artists featured. He is so knowledgeable and any future courses he and MOMA offers will have me as a student. A thousand thanks.

von Hilary L

Nov 02, 2018

I loved this course. Full of content, knowledge and invaluable technical insight, it has helped broaden my perspective of this era immensely, whilst positively contributing to my own artistic and creative journey. Thank you MOMA and to Corey, who really does a fantastic job.

von Carol P

Oct 18, 2017

Not just informative with regard to the New York School of Abstract Expressionists, this course is replete with lots of studio fun! Expertly taught by Cory D' Augustine, one will learn the techniques and methods of the members of this dynamic and innovative group of painters.

von Jennifer G

Aug 14, 2017

The In The Studio: Materials and Technique portion was most helpful in understanding the work of the artists and gave me a greater appreciation of their pieces. Overall, the course has taught me how to look deeper at abstract painting and give it more than a quizzical glance.

von SHRUTI L T

Dec 02, 2019

I learnt about the birth of Abstract Expressionism as well as gained an understanding about the artists behind it. It changed my perception regarding the individuality of the artistic process, and how an artwork can silently reveal the inticasies of the mind that created it.

von alissa c

Jul 18, 2017

An amazing course about difficult art. I loved every minute, even when I was bored. NO, really! I found out a lot about how little I knew. And a great deal about technique....I'm going to have to bookmark some of the films, in case I need to find out "What would X do?"

von Angela O

May 22, 2020

I not only Learned a lot in this course I enjoyed in full. The practices, the videos, and the readings made this course an amazing experience full of knowledge and creativity. I thanks to the professor and all of the people that made this possible. Was a great course.

von pedro g w

May 15, 2020

A complete course. I have learnt many skills to apply in my paintings, revealing how important is the previous proccess to create a painting, thanks to Corey for his closed and friendly way to teach, incluiding the videos, books, interwiews and information available.

von JAUNEAU L

May 23, 2020

Excellent cours. Cela m'a donné envie d'en faire de nombreux autres. Vraiment intéressant et enrichissant. Une pépite dans les nombreux cours ou Mooc que l'on peut trouver en ligne. Merci. Belle découverte pendant le confinement en France et l'aventure continue...

von James W

Sep 12, 2018

Thoroughly enjoyable and provided fantastic inspiration for my own work. The lecturer was clearly very knowledgeable and conveyed sometimes difficult concepts simply and reinforced these throughout the course. It really was easy to stay motivated with this course!

von Sarita R

Jun 01, 2020

Well-designed course; I learnt so much about the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists. The studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs were favourites, thank you Corey D'Augustine for great presentations. Excellent overall.

von Josephine V

May 27, 2017

Corey D'Augustine and MoMA curators engaged participants, like myself, in a multi-sensory hands-on experience that transformed our nascent perceptions of abstract expressionism into a developed sense of artistic appreciation for the revolutionary approaches

von Linda B

Mar 27, 2019

Totally fascinating course that offered to me avenues to pursue with my own art, expression with materials, and compositions. I am extremely grateful for the time, the efforts taken to instruct, and inspire your students. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

von Sabera P

Jan 19, 2018

Fantastic Course. I am so glad to have stumbled upon this course. Professor Corey Augustine is a great teacher. His method is flawless and he has carefully curated the courseware to include some noteworthy artists. Thank you Professor. Thank you Coursera

von Scherwyn U

Sep 12, 2017

I am very happy and consider myself lucky to be staying in a city as far away as Mumbai and learning about art and Postwar Abstract Art in particular from the very best range of videos by the tutor and theoretical readings/exercises. Thank you very much.

von Roman B

Apr 26, 2017

Excellent course. Very unusual approach of the course presenter showing how the artist actually created their paintings clearly made me to remember the names, styles and techniques. I hope MOMA would introduce similar courses about other remarkable art

von Daniella R

May 27, 2017

I really enjoyed this enriching and inspiring course. The material shared is so valuable and the teachers and exponents are really good. A life changing experience to learn to observe an artwork, exploring deeper into the artists' lives and vision.

von Glenis S

Jun 09, 2018

An exceptional course. We learned about postwar Abstract Artists but also got to see videos showing how they did their paintings. Plus there were slideshows of the artists' career in eight works. Corey d'Agustine was great at teaching. I loved it.

von Michael A

Mar 13, 2019

Cory D'Auguestine is so adept in both his analysis and executions in the studio. I wish there were more courses like this. It allowed me to work in the manner of many artists that i admired growing in appreciation for the process and methodology.

von Stacy N

Nov 14, 2018

This was a really great course. The subject matter was very interesting, the instruction was outstanding and the studio work was very helpful for technique and process. I enjoyed it thoroughly and have more appreciation for abtract expressionism.