Chevron Left
Zurück zu Speaking to persuade: Motivating audiences with solid arguments and moving language

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Speaking to persuade: Motivating audiences with solid arguments and moving language von University of Washington

4.7
Sterne
106 Bewertungen
26 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In the professional realm, we need to be able to argue without being argumentative. Whether you are fundraising for a nonprofit, pitching a business proposal, or suggesting a change to company policy, you are making arguments. In making the case for your topic, you often want to raise awareness, identify a pressing problem, discuss appropriate solutions, and outline specific steps for the audience. To be persuasive, you must be clear (the audience may have little to no existing knowledge), you must be convincing (you are trying to sway the audience that your argument is valid), and you must be compelling (you are trying to motivate the audience enough so that they want to take specific actions). Persuasive speaking thus requires clarity, strategy, topic mastery, plus a sense of style and presence. By the end of this course, you should be able to design persuasive speeches that address problems and solutions and that motivate audience members. You should be able to use rhetorical style strategically and deliver passionate and compelling speeches. Learners will record speeches, providing and receiving peer feedback....

Top-Bewertungen

VS

Nov 15, 2017

A really exceptional course. I have done eulogies and ceremonial speeches before, but I always felt that I wasn't quite connecting with the theme. This course helped to complete the jigsaw. Thank you.

PS

Oct 03, 2018

Another great course by Matt. Really breaks down what you learned in the first course to use with persuasive speeches. Really enjoyed.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 26 Bewertungen für Speaking to persuade: Motivating audiences with solid arguments and moving language

von Michele D

Jul 04, 2017

Excellent course! Covers best practices for organizing a persuasive speech, as well as effective phrasing. Also addresses the use of "um" as fillers. Prof. McGarrity is an excellent teacher and keeps things fun and interesting.

von Goralowski

Jul 05, 2017

Well done Matt. The course is full of practice tools how to prepare ourselves to convince others to our initiatives, thought etc.

von felicia a

Jul 21, 2017

very interesting and helpful course, taught by a great professor in a lovely, easy and sometimes even funny way.

von Shyam P

Jun 21, 2017

i love the professor. He is great! I took all of his classes on coursera. I hope to meet him in person one day.

von Sharath K

Sep 06, 2017

Fantastic beginning course on Rhetoric.

von LATHRO

Nov 11, 2018

Many useful tips to be a good speaker.

von Aniceto P

Jul 20, 2017

Great McGarrity, as always

von Juan T

Jun 06, 2017

Great course!

von Muhammad W A

Sep 21, 2019

This course so so helpful and very easy to follow. Especially our teacher is very professional and He knows what He is doing and I am really impressed by his communications skills. I am very happy that I finally completed it. Thanks a lot for everything.

von Santosh S

Oct 16, 2017

I think this is one of the best on persuasive speaking. THis is I feel also best of this specialization.

I was working on my persuasive speech for Toastmasters (CC#9 - project 9 of competent communicator manual) and this helped me lot!

von Vincent S

Nov 15, 2017

A really exceptional course. I have done eulogies and ceremonial speeches before, but I always felt that I wasn't quite connecting with the theme. This course helped to complete the jigsaw. Thank you.

von María d C O R

Apr 06, 2018

Muy buen curso, es excelente que al fin de cada video aparezca el recuento de lo tratado, esto facilita una revisión de lo aprendido.

Muchas gracias!!!

von Panagiotis S

Oct 03, 2018

Another great course by Matt. Really breaks down what you learned in the first course to use with persuasive speeches. Really enjoyed.

von Oleksandr T

Dec 23, 2017

This is the 3rd course of this specialization completed so far. Very interesting and entertaining.

von Rebeca C

Mar 20, 2020

thank you so much for all of your professionalism

von Venkata N C

Nov 02, 2017

Very practical and insightful

von Nhat Q L

Jul 02, 2019

Great Course

von Hao W

Sep 28, 2018

Completed

von Tanmay M

Dec 23, 2019

Awesome

von Abdul H

Aug 13, 2018

Great

von Rolandas R

May 31, 2017

L

von Linda E

Aug 13, 2019

Really rigorous. Learned alot. Final assignments were a bit redundant.

von Palani T A

Jan 23, 2020

Very useful.

von GIOSUE P

Jun 13, 2019

A bit better than the previous courses, yet again: too many videos that do not provide consistent tips and strategies to improve the analysis and the production of speeches. Sometimes the videos are boring and the content non-stimulating.

von Marcelo B Y

Nov 09, 2017

Good corse, great practice with the vídeos. The interaction in the forums and groups is quite low, I thiink because s