Chevron Left
Zurück zu Writing in the Sciences

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Writing in the Sciences von Stanford University

4.9
Sterne
5,087 Bewertungen
1,751 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

Top-Bewertungen

IA
25. Aug. 2020

A very helpful course. My writing has improved significantly in these 8 weeks. I highly recommend this course to everyone. Thank you Dr. Kristin Sainani and Coursera for bringing this course together.

AL
3. Juni 2019

This was an amazing course that really helped me with my medical writing skills and understanding how making things clear for all audiences can help in spreading scientific knowledge across the world.

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 1,779 Bewertungen für Writing in the Sciences

von Farheen M

21. Mai 2021

The course was engaging and Dr. Kristin Sainani was an enthusiastic teacher - no, let me rephrase that - Dr. Kristin Sainani was one of the best teachers I have had the pleasure to learn from in my entire life as a student. I highly recommend this course. One thing to consider is that most examples are from medical literature. I wanted to be as engaged as possible, but as a Psychology student, I had difficulty reading and editing prompts in the examples. Nevertheless, I was able to maintain interest in the material as I got to get insights thoughts during the editing process.

von Ahmed S

12. Juni 2021

This is my first time doing any online course in Coursera. And getting a certificate from Stanford is like a dream come true. I am truly honored to get this opportunity. The course is well organized, clear and easy to understand. I enjoyed my time during the course. I had a hard time doing the homework. But it was worth it. I hope this course will help me improve my scientific writings in future. I think Dr.Kristin Sainani is a great teacher. She is funny, casual, polite and creates a friendly environment that made my learning enjoyable. I wish her every success in life.

von Alex K

7. März 2021

The course provides succinct and very well elaborated concepts of writing in general and - with a lot of illustrating examples - specifics of scientific writing. My peers and advisor saw my writing improved greatly after the first two monhts of the course. Additionally, I was able to better contribute to several publications after the course, by communicating my ideas properly.

As we are moving towards globalization and strive for more collaborations, "speaking science" both for other scientists and for non-scientific audience is crucial. This course teaches this skill.

von Mamiko T

4. Aug. 2020

Dr. Kristin Sainani has a talent for teaching things in a bite-size and makes it fun to learn. Her ability to organize materials and how she talks in an uplifting tone also helped a great deal to finish this course. I am a non-scientist (I am a translator who deals with research papers a lot) so, I was a little bit nervous if I could even finish the course. It was challenging but packed with very useful information. Now I can edit/translate research paper written by non-native English speakers much more confidently and in a shorter amount of time. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

von Juzer K

21. Okt. 2020

This is an excellent course for anyone ranging from beginners to people who need a refresher in good writing practices. The examples are relatable and engaging (I've shared the Watson and Crick paper with so many people as an example of good writing), and the quizzes/assignments are challenging enough. On a holistic level, I felt that this should be a standard requirement for all scientists, since scientific literature is becoming more and more inaccessible (due to poor communication)--giving way to pseudoscience purely because it is better written and accessible.

von Zachary N

5. Juli 2021

A​lthough I've written several manuscripts, a thesis, and WAY too many clinical notes, this course was 100% worth my while. There's an outstanding focus on critically reviewing and editing, and in particular on clarity and brevity, that I think anyone interested in anything from manuscript preparation to science journalism can benefit from. The 30-35 hours spent here will pay you back in orders of magnitude if you do any significant future wrtiting in the sciences (or, frankly, writing in general, since much of the course material is broadly applicable).

von Jenna A

13. Aug. 2020

This is an amazing course! I am a college Senior and I found this to be a comprehensive course, full of relevant and helpful information and exercises to make me a better writer. I learned that writing in science is a skill of its own, different than writing a book or essay for English class. Dr. Kristin Sainani is a wonderful instructor, everything about her teaching style and breadth of information is excellent. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in becoming a scientific researcher, or looking to edit scientific journals. Great job!

von MahiM

12. Okt. 2020

Thanks to coursera for providing me this opportunity, that has significantly improved my writing skills and knowledge of journalism in Sciences. A special thanks to the charismatic instructor, Dr. Kristin Sainani, who has articulated each session in an excellent and enthusiastic manner, making this course a wonderful learning experience. Every topic, video, assignment, homework, of the course was unique, informative and interesting, adding great value to the course content and with Dr. Kristin Sainani as the instructor - it was a top-notch course.

von Sergey S

29. Aug. 2020

In the beginning of the course editing was hard for me. My internal scientist was speaking in stiff lifeless sentences which he picked up from all the books and papers that I have read.

Now I see that engaging science writing is not only possible, but necessary. If you produce a result you are proud of (and why produce different ones?), you should put your best effort into sharing it with your scientific community. I hope all the lessons from the course will help me with writing further articles and will help my colleagues with understanding them!

von Vasanti K

1. Okt. 2020

I am passionate about science and about writing. The course title attracted me and I am happy I enrolled for the course. I am a retired Professor with 42 years of teaching and writing science. The learnings from this course have enriched my writing style especially for writing science for common (non-science-domain) people and to popularize science. Dr Kristin Sainanii is wonderful writer, editor and teacher. With a tongue in chek, she will ask to cut the clutter and use action words.

I am looking forward to enroll in such innovative courses.

von ARYA A V

19. Juni 2020

What an experience it has been!!

A big thank you to Stanford University and Kristin Sainani for this endeavour which helped researchers in across various disciplines. It gave me a different take on reading and understanding manuscripts, along with the very useful tips on writing effectively. The demo edits and peer reviews have helped me tremendously. It convinced me that a scientific piece need not be abstract and boring. Kristin showed elegantly showed us that keeping it simple and real is the key to communicate any idea across any platform.

von Rod T

26. Feb. 2018

I completed the course over a month ago, and I am struck by how often I recall and use things I learned. Writing in the Sciences lays a broad foundation for science writers and subject matter experts alike. Young scientists will find many helpful hints and tips, and even experienced editors will find nuggets to squirrel away. The instructor owns a strong background in science as well as in writing/editing, and her expertise and experience lend a unique perspective to the material. I give Writing in the Sciences my highest recommendation.

von Rafaela C P

3. Juni 2020

This course is extremely helpful and very well organised. Dr. Kristin Sainani does an outstanding job in explaining how to write effectively. The polls, exercises, and essays are a great complement that help you to practice what you have learned, giving a new meaning to each lesson. As the themes of each week are broad, this is a course for anyone, at any career stage (from tips on how to be a better writer up to how to write scientific manuscripts and grants!). Definitely recommend it to anyone that wants to improve scientific writing.

von Jillian

31. Jan. 2020

Great course! I do recommend updating the social media section (5.6, I believe). There are some inaccurate facts (ex. twitter's character count) and one MAJOR issue wasn't addressed: social media blow back. How can one survive if a tweet about the development of a coronavirus vaccine is brigaded by anti-vaxxers, for example? How to avoid getting drug down into unproductive debates? Also, maybe a quick reminder that "the internet is forever" so never ever post anything you wouldn't want a future employer to see. Choose words wisely.

von Astrid P M C

9. Jan. 2019

I was a little bit sceptical of taking a writing course on line. I had no idea whatsoever how a writing course could be run on line - I am satisfied and happy about the course in general. The course brings the essential tools to improve the writing. It helped me to be more aware of the mistakes I commonly do during my writing. I found quite interesting that it involves the different scenarios : a scientific manuscript, a book for general audience, social media and networks. I definitely will be recommending the course.

von Andrew M

25. Okt. 2017

I have always struggled to right scientific papers. They often suffer from redundancy and poor organization. Not to mention the long time it takes me to complete one.

This course was transformative. It provided me with a game plan to efficiently structure my writing time. Unlike other courses it went into detail about how different sections should be written and what language should be used. In addition the breadth of the course also includes other types of writing which all researchers will inevitably have to tackle.

von Louis P

29. Juni 2021

The course overall is very organized and well structure. It was very informative and helpful for students who do not have experience in writing scientific manuscripts. The only suggestion I have is to omit the peer-reviewed assignments of the course. I had a negative experience with this particular section of the course. Students made very inappropriate comments, which can be very discouraging for the students trying to learn. Otherwise, Dr. Sainani did a great job teaching the course and providing great examples.

von Cristina S

24. Apr. 2021

I thought this course was so amazing and insightful. I am 40 years old but I wish I had taken this course in undergrad or even high school! I think every human being should take this. I have recommended it already to so many friends and colleagues. The way you speak is so engaging and the platform was very easy to use. My only critique is that one of the last speakers you had (I forgot her name) said "um" a lot. She was the only speaker that I did not follow as well, only because her "ums" really distracted me.

von Beyza D

16. Aug. 2020

Thank you, Dr. Kristin Sainani, for this fantastic course. I will strongly recommend this course to those who pursue an academic career. Besides its benefits, I enjoyed attending classes. Some editing exercises are a little bit difficult since they are mostly about medical sciences, but overall the content was great. I completed my thesis and published an article before taking the course, but after finishing, I can't stop thinking about how much I could make them better with the tricks I learned from this course.

von Shaymaa A

7. Okt. 2020

Thanks so much Dr. Kristin Sainani for such a great course . This is really what I need to move forward in my career as a researcher. Despite my research area is not biology and medicine, the content was useful, wealth of information and writing principles. I will consider your tips when I write my first research paper. Writing is such a challenging task especially for non-native English speakers, this course make it easier. I will express my gratitude by encouraging my friends and workmates to join the course.

von Karla M

13. Juli 2020

This course has been incredibly helpful in advancing my writing skills. The course covers a wide range of topics, from writing scientific articles to writing for the media and lay audiences. Professor Sainani is an amazing writer and her tips and lessons have been very useful; I can already see improvements in my writing. This course is useful for non-native English speakers as well. I loved the real-life examples and stories. Overall, one of the best courses I have taken for professional development.

von Maria R

13. März 2018

I really enjoyed the course. Although the subject can be tedious and boring, this course was neither. It corrected some of my misconceptions regarding scientific writing and hopefully will help me in becoming a better writer. I really like that there are a lot of examples and opportunities to try things out and then compare with the instructor. I also liked that there is a section about the paper review process and what do editors and reviewers look for when they reviewing papers. Thank you!

von Aigerim Z

18. Apr. 2020

This is the best course I've ever studied on Coursera! The content is very practical with tons of tips, examples and exercises. The teacher Dr. Kristin Sainani is very engaging - the speed and the tone of speech make listening and watching video enjoyable (not like many other teachers in here which just read loud out the text), her comments during the video are really important and sometimes funny (I used to skip video lectures at other courses due to monotonous tone of speakers). Thanks!

von Ruijia W

28. Jan. 2019

I've taken this course before it is redirected to coursera (1-2 years ago) and I'm coming back to it. I still enjoy the powerful, simple tips and recommend this course to many colleagues in my field - geophysics. You definitely don't need to be in the medical school to take this course.

A bit personal story: I finished my PhD thesis since the last time I took the course - I'm no longer waiting for inspiration. Thank you for reading this far and thank you for offering this great course.

von Aditi S S

20. Juni 2020

The course, as well as the course instructor, has greatly helped me in distinguishing the various formats of writing. Now, I am confident to communicate my interests and research in the form of grants, papers, interviews, and reviews. Earlier, it was always a task to explain my study to the common people. After taking this course, it has become much easier for me to keep aside the scientific mind and communicate with the layman. Thank you, Kristin. You're a great instructor.