Chevron Left
Zurück zu Writing in the Sciences

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Writing in the Sciences von Stanford University

4.9
Sterne
6,384 Bewertungen
2,125 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

Top-Bewertungen

SD

25. Feb. 2020

Respected Dr.kristiani sainani madam and coursera.\n\nI thank you for the wonderful classes and presentations, it really didn't made me feel that i was learning online course but as in class learning.

KK

14. Sep. 2020

Hello Kristin\n\nThank you for teaching me the basics of academic writing and editing with proper grammar. In this course, I was introduced to the scientific panel which further enriched my knowledge.

Filtern nach:

176 - 200 von 2,187 Bewertungen für Writing in the Sciences

von Paravee O

15. Jan. 2021

An amazing course. Probably one of the best I have ever joined in Coursera. The professor is wonderful at teaching, fun and informative. The course focus more on the medical science, but it offer many tips on scientific writing in general. Also, I now feel more encouraged to write knowing that I'm not the only one struggling with these problems (e.g. passive voice, clustering, tense) haha. Thanks so much for this course.

von Andrea S

1. Juni 2020

I really enjoyed this course. It was well structured, detailed, and covered a broad range of topics related to writing in the sciences. I found the peer review homework assignments to be the most helpful assignment type. The module covering writing for the average person was a particularly interesting exercise. It really helped impress upon me the importance of translating your work to make it accessible to more readers.

von Karen A F

7. Jan. 2019

Dr. Sainani's course is incredible! She explains everything in an exciting way, discussing various subjects pertinent to those who wish to pursue their academic career. I am ecologist and I think it is perfectly feasible to transpose the ideas presented by dra sainani to other areas of knowledge. I took more time to finish the course because I have a little difficulty with English, but I assure you: worth every minute!

von Kari D A

12. Okt. 2021

I highly recommend this course. It is informative and relevant for higher level academic professionals. The peer-reviewed assignments and quizzes are manageable and the grading policy is transparent. Deadlines can be postponed and navigation through the course is user friendly. In addition, the scientist who teaches and runs the course is knowledgeable in her field and clearly a skilled writer at a professional level.

von Özge Ç

16. Juni 2020

An excellent and absolutely necessary course for PhD students and early science career researchers from all fields of science. Professionally planned and well-taught. I wish I had learned what this course teaches during my PhD studies. I have been away from research for a while and dearly wish to resume my career. This course was a treasure for me. Thank you Prof. Sainani. It was pleasure to have taken your course.

von Raquel M

31. Aug. 2020

The course is excellent. Dr Kristin Sainani starts with valuable guidelines regarding grammatical construction and style. She guides us to writing a scientific article and submitting it for publication. Also, the course shows us how we can communicate with the lay public and social networks. This course is useful for all researchers, whether beginners or experienced. Exercices assist in learning. Congratulations!

von Katie V

4. Juni 2022

This was the 2nd time I have taken this course and this was a much better experience! I really enjoyed the changes and the quiz questions at the end of every activity that allowed me to double check my knowledge before the graded quiz. I really enjoyed this course and I feel like I learned a lot more and will use a lot more of the information in my writing in my doctorate program. Thanks for a great course.

von Annya S

5. Juni 2018

Wonderful critical thinking course. Having written a case report and personal statements in the past, I learned there was so much that I didn't know. This course broke writing down into goal oriented snippets and showed me what a wonderfully streamlined process it can be. I also found it lovely to be able to de-mystify the grant process as a young professional. A must course for any individual in the sciences!

von Renuka P

9. Juli 2020

Thank you so much Dr.Kristin Sainani for this excellent course. A course covering all the topics step by step. I have started this course as a free course, as I don't know the course would be completed by me or not. But I completed the course & took the certificate only because of your pretty way of teaching. Now I want to start my career in medical writing. Thanks to Coursera also for providing this course.

von Kurnia F

8. Nov. 2021

This course is a great and amazing. I am an medical technology laboratory and this course very helpful to my job because i never received courses like this in formal school. My writing has improved significantly, this courses teach me how to edit paper, critical thinking, interviewing a scientist and writing in social media. I think everyone must try this courses. Thank you Dr. Kristin Sainani and Coursera.

von Antonio T

18. Apr. 2019

This course should be a "must" for any PhD students or prospective researchers. It gives a clear method for writing scientific research with good examples, and helps to "clear the fog" we (students) usually have when drafting our first article. It also provide a guide on how to manage workload (and writing techniques) to avoid frequent mistakes among young writers. I wish I had known this course earlier!

von Danijela P

24. Juni 2020

Scientific writing seems so easy and simple when Dr. Kristin Sainani speaks about it! When you try it yourself, of course, it's not quite like that ... at least in the beginning :) This course allowed me to get one step (and not a small one!) closer to that goal. It helped me structure the topic in my head and make things simpler and easier - in thoughts and sentences. I am infinitely grateful for that!

von Maciej B

7. Juni 2020

It is an excellent course, full of precious information and it was a pleasure to take part in. Some of the information were very surprising to get to know, as some teaching models of how to write papers are usually totally different (lots of clutter and passive voice). Thus, it made me feel more comfortable to change my mind about scientific writing and try to experiment on this, using gained knowledge.

von Anne T

17. Dez. 2019

I found Writing in the Sciences incredibly helpful and challenging. I wish I had known about this course when I was handed a manuscript assignment without having had any previous experience writing a journal submission. Dr. Kristin Sainani is clear and concise (and personable!) in her presentations. I highly recommend this course for anyone who is or will be writing scientifically or needs a refresher.

von Swadhin S

25. Mai 2020

The course covers lots of technical aspects of writing manuscript, review, recommendation letter, and science news. The course is very helpful for biological science grad student/postdoc. There are real examples of good and bad writing from Nature/Cell/Science journals. The quizzes at the end of each module are easy—if someone carefully listens to the video. I would highly recommend taking this course.

von Adam R

8. Juni 2020

As a high school student in South Korea, this course has assisted me in developing the writing skills that I did not have and also helped me to receive grant for my current project!

It is a great course that is so helpful now and I believe it to be even more helpful in the future!

Thanks to Dr. Sainani and many other doctors and professors who have put in their effort to create this WONDERFUL course!

von Fabio M M

23. Nov. 2020

Very complete course, which give an exhaustive overview of all there's to learn about writing in the science, with many practical examples and exercise. Dr. Kristin Sainani is a very competent scientist and writer and very able to communicate the lessons with explanations and humor. She also gives her personal opinion on various aspects of writing, which is good in this case, in my opinion.

von Heder d V

2. Jan. 2019

This course has been an eye-opener. I used to dread writing new, original articles. I could barely bring myself to start. This course has provided me with useful tips and tricks to start writing more effectively. It has also thought me more on the basis of writing, and on some tendencies that exist in academic writing.

Thanks to this course, I now look forward to writing my next manuscript!

von Jorge V

23. Juli 2018

The course has met all my expectations as it added pertinent information to my knowledge and answered basically all of my questions towards scientific writing style. Kristin Sainani has proven overwhelming qualified as a writing coach, encouraging me to write more confidently and clearly. And last but not least, this course addresses only what is relevant or pretinent to a piece of writing.

von Reza J

18. Okt. 2021

I found this course almost necessary for anyone who's interested in continuing an academic career as a PhD student. It was a bit hard for me to solve the assignments as I'm not a native English speaker but later it became a reason to be able to search more deeply and efficiently ! I've recommended this course almost anywhere online, to pay Coursera back ! thanks for this great opportunity.

von Simone S

4. Juni 2020

It was a pleasure! A great course I can only recommend.

Very well chosen real-live-examples taken from current research literature.

I was able to deepen my grammar knowledge in English as well as gain experience with writing styles. I have developed a feeling for the linguistic differences between German and English. And I was surprised how precise you can be with a few well-chosen words.

von Muhammad A R

1. Feb. 2022

This online course is very informative and helpful in scientific writing. My writing has improved with basic skills, academic writing, editing and grammar. I would like to say thank you to course instructor Dr. Kristin Sainani, and Coursera team for wonderful lectures and presentations. I highly recommend this course to everyone who want to become effective writer/author of a publication.

von Virginia S

3. Jan. 2022

D​r Sainani is knowledgeable and enthusiastic. She obviously loves writing and inspires me to pursue this as a career. I always knew my writing style had issues such as wordiness, but she nails these problems and their solutions in the course. She even helped me to brush up on areas that I considered my strengths. This is one of the most practical and enjoyable courses I have ever taken.

von Ana C d S

20. Juni 2020

An incredible course! I can’t say enough about how much I’ve learned. It leads you through most types of texts you might find in scientific field in a very simple though complete way. However, I’d recommend it to students - specially graduate - from areas related to Medicine or Biology. Math, Physics or Engineering students might feel a bit bored, althouh they can benefit from it as well.

von Sheetal D

7. Juni 2020

The teacher is very enthusiastic and has done wonderful job. The difficulty level of the course increases slowly and steadily. I think there can be one more session on news and communication article. Grant writing module is really useful. My only criticism is course gives examples mainly from biological sciences and other sciences are kind of ignored. In all wonderful learning experience.