Chevron Left
Zurück zu Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions von University of Pennsylvania

4.7
Sterne
1,642 Bewertungen
445 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this first part--part one of five--you will extend your understanding of Taylor series, review limits, learn the *why* behind l'Hopital's rule, and, most importantly, learn a new language for describing growth and decay of functions: the BIG O....

Top-Bewertungen

YG
2. Juli 2018

Very well structured for a refresher course. Thank you Professor Ghrist for your effort in putting this course together. A little additional outside research was required but well worth the effort.

NL
9. Feb. 2021

Excellent introduction to Calculus, I wanted to review the material to tutor my child but I am very happy that I learned a whole new way of looking at Calculus.\n\nThank you so much Prof. Ghrist.

Filtern nach:

401 - 425 von 439 Bewertungen für Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

von Yashh S K

29. Nov. 2018

Everything was exceptionally well taught except the Big-O part.

von Peanut G

11. Juni 2017

my first math.It is the best lecturein in my university life

von Fulgence O I

7. Jan. 2019

Very well and simply explained

Made review easier for me

von Kasym N

23. Juni 2020

Still, I couldn't grab the meaning of Limits.

von Shwet R

10. Jan. 2016

Its really challenging and rewarding course.

von adilet a

17. Juni 2016

This is very good course for students!!!

von Rajasekhar

21. Mai 2016

Good illustration of complex topics.

von Atef H

21. Mai 2016

Great new approach towards calculus.

von PADMA A

12. Mai 2020

The course is really informative

von Ahsan M

25. Jan. 2020

great course fot beignners !!

von Jaspreet S

25. Jan. 2016

very good learning process

von Amri M

8. Feb. 2021

lil bit confusing

von Balakrishnan M

11. Apr. 2020

Improve knowledge

von Sattam S S A

26. Apr. 2020

it was great

von Johannes M

20. Mai 2016

Very good!

von Aditya T

25. Juni 2017

good

von Senanayake H

18. Dez. 2016

good

von Suman K

21. Juni 2020

nic

von Jonah A

11. Feb. 2019

E

von Arthur H G

4. Okt. 2020

Much of the couse is good but the Homework test for Exponentials is attrocious.

Firstly the person setting it needs to learn English. Questions 6 & 7 say "which of the following expressions describes ..." describes is the singular form of the verb and leads one to expect only one expression applies. I did these questions twice being marked wrong because I had only included one answer It needs altering to "describe".

There are 2 correct answers listed for the first question but the marking system does not recognise one of them,

Question 8 again expects 2 answers but does not indicate there is more than one.

I did this test twice getting 50% but on realising these weaknesses i had no problem getting 100% but resdent wasting a whole morning because of your errors.

von Suyash M

18. März 2019

Very good course for revisiting calculus. It never feels old as it tackles functions and limits from a different perspective - that of the Taylor Series. But it is mostly concerned with evaluating limits and series. Some things were assumed to be true without explanation, which, I admit, might have made understanding them easier. But it slightly chafes the mind to know something without knowing proof for it, and how it came to be. Some questions that may arise but remain unanswered in the lectures include : How to find the domain of convergence of a series? Where did the Taylor's Series formula come from? These and some more are not addressed in this course, but they might be in the future chapters (which I have not completed)

von Becky B

17. Aug. 2020

I find the forums much more difficult to navigate than the edx.com MIT calculus course forums. So when I had a question on a homework question or needed additional explanation for a particular topic or type of problem I found it frustratingly difficult to find help in the forums.

I know he is very popular, and his videos are well done, but I didn't learn nearly as much as when I took the MIT courses on edx. I didn't feel like the videos adequately prepared me to be successful on the homework.

von NA

5. Sep. 2020

This course is good and the lecture is okay. However, I hated lengthy question that only assess your time in multiplication and addition of terms. I expect hard questions mean question that trigger higher level order thinking not complex multiplication and addition that is really time consuming but can be done without using critical thinking skills.

von Tomas R

21. Mai 2020

Great course, but I think that Calculus One (

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Calculus_One) is even beter. I found it more comprehensible.

von Canan G

19. Apr. 2020

Thanks for your efforts for this course but despite i have finished the course, it was hard for me