Chevron Left
Zurück zu Sports and Society

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Sports and Society von Duke University

4.8
Sterne
1,026 Bewertungen
275 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Sports play a giant role in contemporary society worldwide. But few of us pause to think about the larger questions of money, politics, race, sex, culture, and commercialization that surround sports everywhere. This course draws on the tools of anthropology, sociology, history, and other disciplines to give you new perspectives on the games we watch and play. It's the new and improved version of Professor Orin Starn's original "Sports and Society" for Coursera, which drew more than 40,000 students. We will focus on both popular sports like soccer (or “football,” as anyone outside America calls it), basketball, and baseball, and also lesser-known ones like mountain-climbing and fishing. You will never watch or think about sports in the same way again....

Top-Bewertungen

MM
11. Nov. 2016

I loved this particular course. The topics are relevant. Each topic is supported by historical facts and examples and how is it relevant in the present time. It was a great learning experience!!!

RK
13. Jan. 2017

This course tells us about how social customs and traditions have contributed to the evolution of sports and how sports has vice versa reflected the changes in social order of any age.

Filtern nach:

251 - 274 von 274 Bewertungen für Sports and Society

von SOUMYA J

28. Mai 2020

very interesting informative sports. specially the knowledge we grasped in this course about indoor and outdoor sports and the extreme sports pleasure. good work. thanks team

von Pietro O

26. Apr. 2020

Wonderful course! Sport world is fast changing, so maybe some lessons are not super up to date, but Orin is a fantastic and passionate teacher: very very recommended

von Abrar H

20. Juni 2020

A good course relating sports and society, bringing some interesting topics and history related to sports in light. Learnt a lot and really liked the course.

von Gerardo B P

31. Jan. 2019

Tiene una gran variedad de temáticas y la mayoría de los videos son dinámicos .

It has a great variety of topics and most of the videos are very dynamic.

von Joy S

3. Juni 2017

surprisingly interesting and apropos considering I do not watch nor participate in any traditional team sports. Not just about the big sports.

von Aline K

19. Juni 2020

I loved the course and the topics discussed during the lectures as I learned a lot of new things about sports and its relation to society :)

von Colleen O

24. Apr. 2020

i feel as though a few answers on some of the quizzes were wrong, which frustrated me, but I loved the material and highly recommend it

von Coach F

2. Feb. 2016

Great course for sports coaches, PE teachers and anyone interested to pursue a career in sports.

von Yoosaf A

20. Juli 2020

Excellent approach to learning.The instructor really explains the things in great manner.

von Vaibhav K

24. Aug. 2021

most of the topics are covered. the flow of the course is not syncronized.

von Kriti S

11. Mai 2020

fascinating to study and learn to know more about sports and society.

von Yukesh R

2. Sep. 2020

It was so useful,thank you for duke University and Mr.orin starn😊

von Lee K K

26. Feb. 2018

Gives you a good insight into understanding people and history..

von Anisha M J

12. Juli 2020

its really a great course i really loved learning that course

von akash v

18. Nov. 2020

Very informative and covered variety of topics

von Akhmad S A f

23. Okt. 2020

nothing I could say, just perfect lessons.

von Rafael U

24. Mai 2021

Great, thanks for the knowledge Orin!

von jean d c r

18. Okt. 2019

no comment for the moment

von julian

4. Juni 2017

informative and helpfull

von Aaron A

21. Juni 2019

It´s a very good course

von Ajilore O E

9. Aug. 2020

Very interesting .

von Anubhav S

3. Juni 2017

The evaluation for this course has questions which are very memory based and not application based

von Brandon L

4. Jan. 2021

Not in depth enough, could be a lot more interesting. OK but not great.

von Elio K

12. Juni 2019

The pace is quite slow and the content maybe it is not for young boy