Chevron Left
Zurück zu Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health von Stanford University

4.7
Sterne
24,492 Bewertungen
7,117 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top-Bewertungen

NP

22. Aug. 2021

Very informative! Thanks for having this course free so that more people who are starting to learn about eating properply (like me) will be able to get access to authentic and legit lessons on food ;)

VI

18. Jan. 2021

It was an interesting and informative, at a basis level, course. The information is easy to understand and the new gained knowledges tend to remain in your memory, due to short and interactive videos.

Filtern nach:

6776 - 6800 von 7,167 Bewertungen für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

von Katie J

13. Juni 2020

This course is for complete beginners. The first week i learnt something about nutrition and was rather excited, the next few weeks, however, were so basic i don't know why one would need a course on that since it's such basic knowledge. Overall, the course is fine and the speaker, Maya, is a very nice presenter.

von Diana H F P

12. Jan. 2018

It is well edited and has good but very basic information of nutrition which is not what I wanted, I wanted a more advanced nutrition course, this was not for me, but if you don't know anything about nutrition this is a good course and takes you through the basics so you can have a better understanding.

von Thomas C

23. Nov. 2016

Incredibly basic- more for the average person rather than a student or professional, but it seems as though that is who the material is directed at- so not a great course if you are a professional looking to increase your knowledge, but great usable information that the average person can easily apply.

von kondapalli t

2. Juli 2020

i found this course interesting to an extent as this is my first online course. But apparently, the information was too compromised. Although, I got to learn quite a bit, it didn't reach my expectations. There could be another course introduced in extension to this one which would be great.

Thank you.

von Ricardo C H

11. Mai 2020

Es un curso realmente muy básico, ideal para personas que no entienden nada de nutrición o su conocimiento respecto a este tema es mínimo.

Las explicaciones y la información se presenta de una forma bastante sencilla y entendible por lo cual no debería haber mayor dificultad para aprobar el curso.

von Makarova V A

18. Juli 2021

Среди тонны бесполезной информации промелькивали действительно полезные факты.

1. Пейте чистую воду много и заменяя любые другие напитки

2. Питайтесь с большим содержанием белков и жиров, а в виде углеводов предпочитайте две чашки овощей и столько же фруктов. Еда не переработанная - лучший выбор.

von Eric J

7. Aug. 2020

Decent course but could have been better. Information was okay but confusing and repetitive in some ways during the weeks of this course. I got very bored with this course in the 3rd week. Overall this course is a 3 out of 5 starts and execution could have been better with presentation as well.

von Jayde F

17. Apr. 2020

Very basic course aimed at somebody who is on a very unhealthy american diet and focused on helping them to get slightly healthier. For somebody who already makes good food choices this course isn't for you. To be honest, I can't imagine anybody is unhealthy enough to need this level of basics!

von Alexander U

4. Sep. 2019

Interesting, but did not learn much I did not already know. Course was nice though, would recommend it to my acquaintances. I would diversify the references, and not always have Michael Pollan (some controversial stuff there), even though his interviews were on point and politically correct. :)

von Aliona C

13. Feb. 2016

extremely short & easy - fun-ducation. Not hugely informative for someone who's looking to learn about the links between what we eat and how we eat, and how human bodies respond. But the instructor is very charming, so it was a pleasant experience. The whole course can be completed in 1-2 hours

von Fiona V

29. Apr. 2017

This course gives you a general overview over nutrition. It is a good start for those who want to have an healthier diet. Personally I already knew most of the information provided and I am a bit further into the 'eating healthy' process. The course is well done anyway and worth a look.

von Cassi T

12. Aug. 2016

Starts off informative and then becomes very basic. It felt like it was more for informing families struggling with nutrition than for informative education on health and food.

The interview with Michael Pollan that was woven in to each lesson were the main reason to finish the course.

von Yoke D

8. Apr. 2021

If you have absolutely no prior knowledge about food I could see this course being beneficial. Nothing against the instructor; it was very well spoken and put together. I would have loved to have a little more nutritional science involved. This makes for an interesting documentary.

von Marvin B

1. Sep. 2020

Copied review which captures my experience: "Not actually a 'course' but a short series of very basic self-help videos with distracting background music throughout. 3 stars because it's a nice public service by Stanford but I personally was expecting a university-level course."

von Simran P

22. Mai 2020

The course was informative. However, i was very basic. Being a post graduate in food science and technology myself, I was looking for advance level. I have a suggestion as well, the background music was high which hindered the listening when the coaches were speaking. Thank you!

von Jennifer H

1. Feb. 2016

This seems like a good overview for those new to the kitchen, and/or health concerns more generally. For someone interested in deepening their understanding, it's of more limited value--but it is presented as an introduction. I wish there were readings to supplement the videos.

von Susan M M

1. Sep. 2017

I enjoyed most of the information in this course. The last week recipes and instructions seemed ridiculous as it was out of sync with: "eat food, not too much, mostly plants." I would have appreciated some plant based recipes. These recipes had too much dairy and meat. <3

von Jessie Z

16. März 2016

It was filled with a lot of interesting, pertinent information but I did feel that there was not enough variety in terms of interviews and I do wish that she had delved more into some of the topics. I understand it was an overview but I often felt that it was very brief.

von Sarah M J

3. Feb. 2016

I was hoping for something a little more technical. This course might be good for someone who has no previous knowledge of the nutrition content of food or how to cook. It would be perfect for kids getting ready to head off to college who've never cooked for themselves.

von mihail m

22. Sep. 2020

A good beginners course that is well presented and easy to follow along. Kind of behind of raising awareness on the damage eating meat and dairy causes on a personal level, and a global level, but a good first step for the well intended, misinformed people out there.

von Patsy D

29. Juni 2018

Most of the concepts are very straight forward. I have been on and out of diets since I was 12 years old, at least the first week was a different approach, the rest was common sense. I would like to do deeper into the topics of nutrients and choosing better options.

von Cyril P

1. Juli 2019

Some good advices, but it lakes of amounts and informations are rapidly repetitives (i'm french, so perhaps those informations are for me mainstream and that's why i find it repetitive).

It's actually helpful to begin my own seach but i expecteted more informations

von Milica S

21. Juli 2021

The course was short and easy to digest. Both moderators are easy to understand and ideas are transmitted in a clear and coherent way. It seems as though there are too few key notions and maybe different public than myself would draw a lot more to learn from it.

von Chloe P

8. Feb. 2021

I was a bit underwhelmed with the information in this course. It was definitely a "Nutrition 101" and I would recommend it for someone who has little to no knowledge of food & health. I did take away a few good points but overall would have liked a deeper dive.