Chevron Left
Zurück zu Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Ideas from the History of Graphic Design von California Institute of the Arts

4.7
Sterne
2,229 Bewertungen
464 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This condensed survey course focuses on four key periods or themes from the history of design in the West. Together we’ll trace the emergence of design as a recognized practice, why things look the way they do, and how designers approached specific design problems in their work. Students will develop an understanding of where the wide variety of today’s design practice comes from. By participating in this survey of the works of innovative groups and individuals, we outline the process by which graphic design moved from a purely instrumental practice, to becoming a demanding creative and hybridized field. Each week, a short quiz will test your knowledge of concepts, and a short reflective assignment will give you the opportunity to analyze the questions designers ask themselves today. This is an essential course for emerging designers entering the field, or for students interested in learning more about visual culture and analysis. No previous experience is required. A note about this course: This course is taught from the perspective of contemporary design, to connect ideas that helped formulate design practice from the 1850s through the 1960s to the ways that designers think today. The relationship of words and pictures in graphic design is looked at through the ever-changing social and cultural contexts, technologies, aesthetics, and politics of their eras. The definition and practice of graphic design includes all public visual communications, which is a global practice. It was the evolution of mass production and communication in the West that specifically redefined graphic design as a professional practice and is this course’s particular narrative. We hope students will consider how to connect the themes and ideas offered in this course to your own culture....

Top-Bewertungen

ER

21. März 2022

I was a little bit nervous about this course, I always hated History in school, but surprisingly this was very good! I enjoyed it! The assignments were easy to understand and managebale to complete.

PD

26. Nov. 2016

Its been a great course, many info and points that are fantastic in the learning or adding new knowledge always. I will always recommend this course for those who want to know more and learn design.

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 464 Bewertungen für Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

von Sanjeevini M

16. Juli 2020

Was fun exploring and knowing the history of designing and made me think and understand various new fields which I was unaware of.

von Iole M

3. Feb. 2017

A concise course with very meaningful visual contents. English spoken in a very understandable way, even for a non-native speaker.

von Brianna P

10. Okt. 2016

I loved how straight forward and informative this course was. I have such a stronger appreciation for what we see as design today!

von Balaji A

8. Mai 2018

Wonderful course, helps a lot in understanding the historic perspective in design and helps reflect the same in our modern design

von Christopher J

27. Mai 2019

the whole course is great. i learned i didn't know much about graphic design. and i know now i need to continue to practice.

von Joshua L

23. Feb. 2017

It was definitely an eye-opening course for someone who only knew how graphic design works and none of the history behind it.

von Freyana K

15. Mai 2022

I learnt a lot about the history of graphic design through this course. The explanations and facts shared were truly amazing

von Rui A M d S

20. Mai 2020

This part of the course was lovely, I learned a lot about some of the most important marks of the history of graphic design.

von Kevin J

7. Aug. 2016

Really enjoyed this course and would love to indulge in more activities and information on the history of Graphic Design.

von Ruben q

19. Juli 2016

Very good course where you get a short summary of modern graphic design, from the industrial revolution until the late 70s

von Patil C V

2. Juli 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course as it helped me to expand my knowledge and helped me pop a lot of ideas for my project!

von Muhammad A Y

29. Jan. 2018

i have get excellent experience to take this course thanks a lot to coursera give me this opportunity love you coursera

von Ferdinand P

29. Aug. 2016

This is a very important course in understanding the history of graphic design. Good job to the creators of this course.

von Deb S

27. Jan. 2017

Very interesting course. Would love to see an advanced course that explores more history of graphic design. Much fun!

von Shambhvi V

4. Juni 2021

Really interesting course! Learned a lot about History of Graphic Design. Very Insightful and well-structured course.

von Aslı A

16. Feb. 2021

I am so happy to take this course, I have learned so much and definitely gave me a new perspective on graphic design.

von Clara D l S C

26. Jan. 2022

L​oved it, I really appreciate the effort teachers and CALARTS staff put into this course, I enjoyed it and learned.

von Fuguo X

24. Juli 2020

This course gave me a broader view of graphic design and revealed the connection between graphic design and society.

von Mw S

24. Sep. 2020

This course makes students dig deeper into some concepts of graphics designing that they may already familiar with.

von Rui

1. Apr. 2019

I really think the materials are well organized. For beginners like me, it offers so much inspiration. Good course!

von Dhan B

12. Feb. 2021

Great Course iv learn a lot in this course and i wish that i could apply this new knowledge though out my carrerr.

von Ivan O

15. Dez. 2016

Interesting and fun to watch. Not so practical as other courses in the Specialisation but definitely good to know.

von Daphne V V

9. Jan. 2021

I loved this course, learning more about the history of design. It is very inspirational and tastes like more!

von Salem F A

28. Sep. 2019

I get a lot of information from this part of graphic design specialization courses, very highly recommended .

von Viorel-Daniel S

9. Okt. 2017

It was fun learning about the history of design. Assignments are easy and do not require much effort, though.