Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Imagemaking

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Imagemaking von California Institute of the Arts

4.5
Sterne
1,619 Bewertungen
319 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

Top-Bewertungen

ID

May 22, 2019

Very useful course. Really puts you to practice. I learned a lot and feel encouraged to continue. Reviewing other peer's work was inspiring and gave me fresh ideas about what I could have done better.

LC

Oct 09, 2017

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 315 Bewertungen für Introduction to Imagemaking

von Hanna L

May 22, 2019

The instructor had such a soothing voice and explained everything very well! The videos were very helpful in showcasing the concepts and providing examples, plus the assignments were super fun!

von F A

Sep 26, 2018

I recommend this course to all future designers, art lovers and also for more experienced people to step a bit outside the box and have the freedom to take mistakes and take new perspectives.

von Natalia M

Feb 24, 2017

Really enjoyed this course and it pushed me to think about the application of the design. In this case, I learned a lot about composing spreads for books which was something very new to me.

von Tristan S

Feb 28, 2018

This course is more self-driven than others I have done on Coursera, but if you are open to exploring different techniques for yourself it is a great course providing a creative stimulus.

von Ana F

Oct 09, 2016

I really loved this course. Useful information presented in an attractive format. Hands on approach. It opened my mind regarding a lot of possible applications in different areas of life.

von Huzaifa E A A

Jan 16, 2020

harder than other courses of the specialization which makes it more important and valuable, I didn't know about designing images but now i'm confident I can make cool designs with images

von Bhavna S

May 22, 2017

My most toughest course so far. But it was such fun creating design by my hands. My design perspective truly has expanded and I am more appreciative of what I have accomplished.

von Sanda L

Jul 15, 2016

One of the most enjoyable courses for me. It was really fun to do all the assignments and to practice different ways to express myself. A very very nice way to lear. Thank you!

von Assel N

Aug 13, 2016

This course gave me so much confidence not only in creating images and experimenting, but in writing too. I started to think out of the box and became more productive!

von Ronald K

Oct 10, 2017

Very interesting assignments and a more hands-on approach than the first 2 courses in this Graphic Design specialization. Really enjoy it and I recommend it! =D

von Sakshi J

Jul 02, 2018

I really enjoyed working in this course. It is action oriented and demanding. The instructions were precise and clear, and the results led to new learnings.

von Nene W

Feb 06, 2017

thought provoking course and the practical aspects were especially enjoyable. like looking at a subject in fresh new ways, then you would love this course

von 瞿睿

Mar 09, 2019

I really appreciate the listed styles and artist in week 2. It really helps for people who likes modern art but do not know that many excellent artists.

von Aba N

May 23, 2017

Gail Swanlund has done a great job of pacing the course and progressively teaching this image-making course with lots of great examples and resources.

von Magdalena P F

Jun 14, 2019

This course is really hands on and allows you to practice as you learn regarding composition, imagemaking and the different techniques involved.

von Diana A

May 20, 2018

This course is amazing, I really enjoyed all the content. If you wanna expand your creativity about making images, you should take this course.

von Sharon S

Jun 15, 2017

i loved it - it gave me the opportunity to freely explore perspectives and investigating the world in order to do my works. I had a great time.

von Guthrie A

May 09, 2019

Great exercises and the final project was very fun! I learned a lot about myself and ways to discover things I don't know. Highly recommend.

von Henintsoa T A

Sep 13, 2016

I loved it, it pushes me to get out of my confort zone. the course helped me a lot especially in discovering new technique for image making.

von Kassy S

May 27, 2016

From the lectures, we've got the techniques of making various types of images and also the basic points of making images and compose images.

von Celeste S

Aug 08, 2019

A really cool course. I loved the way how every topic was develope and the way this made me watch the things in a different perspective.

von David A V D S

Apr 28, 2018

Has been hard comprehend all the process that is need to express a message, but have help me a lot this part of the course. Very well!

von Adriana C N T

Mar 21, 2019

I really liked this course, for its content and practice exercises. Awaken creativity and the results of my work, I surprised myself!

von Ellie R

Sep 29, 2018

Great course that pushes you to explore the breadth of possibilities in creating images aside from the traditional and realistic way.

von Hasan I M

Dec 26, 2019

I think some video music need to lower a bit. Cause, can't hear the teacher's voice clearly. Besides this the course is helpful.