Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Imagemaking

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Imagemaking von California Institute of the Arts

4.5
1,454 Bewertungen
292 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

Top-Bewertungen

LC

Oct 09, 2017

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

ID

May 22, 2019

Very useful course. Really puts you to practice. I learned a lot and feel encouraged to continue. Reviewing other peer's work was inspiring and gave me fresh ideas about what I could have done better.

Filtern nach:

151 - 175 von 289 Bewertungen für Introduction to Imagemaking

von Giovanni F

Mar 07, 2017

Exellent lectures and assignments. You will learn about how to compose page spreads for illustrated books by composing two or more images, experimenting with shapes, colors, sizes, negative space, foreground vs background.

von Valentina D

Feb 16, 2017

Great course! Thanks to the organizers from all my heart! I received a charge of inspiration, learned a lot. Thanks to all the classmates for their feedback and good wishes! It was great to see the works and approaches of others. I was able to realize my old ideas, the course has pushed me to the point to be more focused and self-disciplined. I feel more positive and able! Thank you!

von Yuri G

Feb 15, 2017

everything is great. thanx

von Mat L

May 24, 2017

Great Hands on Course!

von Rosa P M V

Aug 09, 2017

Excellent course!!

von Deb S

Jan 27, 2017

Excellent course.

von Abhilash V

Dec 24, 2016

Image making is the focus of this course.If you love making images you will love this.Not much theory but all the more making.Assignments needs a bit more time and thought than the other courses in the specialization.

von Maya S

May 01, 2016

Excelente

Los ejercicios son tremendamente didácticos y de muy buen gusto

von Sharon S

Jun 15, 2017

i loved it - it gave me the opportunity to freely explore perspectives and investigating the world in order to do my works. I had a great time.

von CARLOS J G C

Sep 28, 2016

Excellent, It was a really good course. I recomend it

von Pranjal S

Jun 15, 2016

ONe of the best available courses :)

von hangying w

Oct 26, 2016

This video lectures are very clear and well made. I learned the concepts of designs and new ways of thinking.

von Pamela D

Jan 04, 2017

Excellent course

von Chana M H

Jul 31, 2018

I enjoyed this course. I do not draw or paint, but the course did expand my knowledge of layout and establishing visual hierarchy in designs. I was forced to think more about using a grid as part my concept development. It was also helpful in developing a stronger sense of how to integrate colors scale and text into my work. Great additional reading suggestions for continued growth in image making for those who are into making their own image, which I am not!

von Kritika D

Apr 24, 2019

Love this course especially the detailed section where we look at reference books. Gives so much clarity to the students..

von Guthrie A

May 09, 2019

Great exercises and the final project was very fun! I learned a lot about myself and ways to discover things I don't know. Highly recommend.

von Karla L

Apr 28, 2019

Super! I've studied very interesting subjects on this course, thanks!

von Iskra D

May 22, 2019

Very useful course. Really puts you to practice. I learned a lot and feel encouraged to continue. Reviewing other peer's work was inspiring and gave me fresh ideas about what I could have done better.

von SaSha D

Jun 17, 2019

Fun and very informative. Good hard work that is productive!

von Artak A

Jun 20, 2019

Greate! Makes the brain constantly stir also brings a variety of techniques in the everyday life of a novice artist

von Konstantinos A

Jun 20, 2019

Very useful course another step towards specialization

CalArts is doing a wonderful job!!

von GALO R

Jun 27, 2019

Un curso realmente de mucho aporte, me ayudó para comprender y afinar mi creatividad.

von Adler A

Jun 28, 2019

That was a useful and practical course, like the rest in CalArts in the specialization in the Graphic Design.

von Sandeep M

Jun 11, 2019

So thankful to learn from such renowned and talented teachers. Thanks for the course, thank you Coursera!.

von chelsea r

Jul 16, 2019

Probably the most I learnt about Image-making so far.