Chevron Left
Zurück zu Modern & Contemporary American Poetry (“ModPo”)

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Modern & Contemporary American Poetry (“ModPo”) von University of Pennsylvania

4.9
Sterne
413 Bewertungen
154 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

ModPo is a fast-paced introduction to modern and contemporary U.S. poetry, with an emphasis on experimental verse, from Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman to the present. Participants (who need no prior experience with poetry) will learn how to read poems that are supposedly "difficult." We encounter and discuss the poems one at a time. It's much easier than it seems! Join us and try it! ModPo is open all year, so you can enroll now, or any time, and join us. Each year we host a lively, interactive 10-week session, in which we move together through the ten-week syllabus. The next live 10-week session of ModPo will begin on September 4, 2021, and will conclude on November 15, 2021. Al Filreis will be in touch with you by email before the September 4 start of the course with all the information you'll need to participate. If you have questions, you can email the ModPo team any time at modpo@writing.upenn.edu. Much more information about ModPo can be found at modpo.org. During the 10 weeks of the course, you will be guided through poems, video discussions of each poem, and community discussions of each poem. And (unique among open online courses) we offer weekly, interactive live webcasts. Our famed TAs also offer office hours throughout the week. We help arrange meet-ups and in-site study groups. If you are curious about the ModPo team, type "ModPo YouTube introduction" into Google or your favorite search engine, and watch the 20-minute introductory video. You will get an overview of the course and will meet the brilliant TAs, who will be encountering the poems with you all the way to the end. If you use Facebook, join the always-thriving ModPo group: from inside Facebook, search for "Modern & Contemporary American Poetry" and then request to be added as a member. If you have any questions about ModPo, you can post a question to the FB group and you'll receive an almost instant reply. Much more information about ModPo can be found at modpo.org . We tweet all year long at @ModPoPenn and you can also find ModPo colleagues using the hashtag #ModPoLive. ModPo is hosted by—and is housed at—the Kelly Writers House at 3805 Locust Walk on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia USA. All ModPo'ers are welcome to visit the Writers House when they are in our area. Our discussions are filmed there. Our live webcasts take place in the famed "Arts Cafe" of the House. To find out what's going on at the Writers House any time, just dial 215-746-POEM....

Top-Bewertungen

WC
20. März 2017

best coursera class of them all. The instructor and teaching assistants are closely in the class + there is a lot more interaction with them and the rest of the students than any other MOOC.

MF
29. Dez. 2016

Enriching, wide reaching in scope. The Prof. Al Filreis lets ideas, not necessarily his own, in for debate and comment. The TAs are simply brilliant both in form and content. Bravo!

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 152 Bewertungen für Modern & Contemporary American Poetry (“ModPo”)

von Katia R

27. Juli 2017

Fantastic community! Have been with ModPo since 2014!

von Margaret F

14. Juni 2021

One of the best courses I've taken, anywhere.

von Louiza

21. Sep. 2019

One of the very best courses!!!!

von Kaushik B

24. Aug. 2018

I am simply loving it

von Daniela M V

17. Nov. 2019

Best thing in life!

von stanislava o

23. Juli 2017

Best decision ever!

von Wayne G

23. Nov. 2020

Simply fantastic.

von Shinichirou K

16. Feb. 2020

Very good course.

von Sandy L

12. Juni 2017

Wonderful course.

von Paccelli Z

17. Nov. 2016

Excellent course!

von Mônica M

3. Okt. 2017

Learning lots :)

von Helen M

15. Juni 2020

Best course k

von yumeng

2. Juni 2018

das ist toll

von Kamala D

1. Nov. 2020

Nice course

von Ana P S A

26. Jan. 2020

Mind opener

von Bruna B d S

27. Okt. 2021

Excelente

von Deleted A

23. Apr. 2020

excellent

von Jack H

15. Nov. 2019

Excellent

von champubhai v

7. Sep. 2018

nice

von Rohit V

14. Dez. 2020

The course is enriched with tremendous content. It takes all the full hours, days and months to complete this course. As the Coursera is giving opportunity to do multitasking while learning from anywhere, this course seems a bit lengthy and demands full time attention. One may miss the link if one remains irregular. Poetry is a vast filed of thoughts and ideas. Indeed the course opens many new ranges of thoughts and ideas.

What I liked the most about the course is live discussion of the poems. Many poems were very difficult to understand but when more than two people get together to churn and decipher the words beyond their face value, any difficult poem becomes easy to grasp.

von NADENE A K

6. Apr. 2021

This course was easy to manage as a self-paced course. I appreciated options to look at additional materials. I liked the interaction in the discussion.

von Ehud S

21. Mai 2020

The course is approachable for people with little to no knowledge in poetry yet is interesting and challenging. It is well explained and manageable.

von Tammy P

2. Apr. 2020

The professor interrupts the panel so much it’s incredibly distracting and it makes even the transcript hard to read.

von Suresh D

19. Nov. 2016

not bad!

von GARGI C

26. Nov. 2020

I am Gargi Choudhury. I have taken this course and I would like to share my expeeience with the world. I would anyone who wants to impove their thought process in english literature should take this course. It was quiet helpful for me.