Chevron Left
Zurück zu Social Norms, Social Change I

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Social Norms, Social Change I von University of Pennsylvania

4.6
Sterne
1,496 Bewertungen
378 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Top-Bewertungen

PE

Mar 06, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

KL

Jun 26, 2019

the course worth the time spent as there a lot of take away that are basically practical in our communities. I think in a whole I have learnt a lot and hope to undertake similar courses in due time

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 368 Bewertungen für Social Norms, Social Change I

von Raj K S

Feb 01, 2017

This course was very effective in earning orientation and skills on understanding social norms, expectations (empirical and normative) and measuring norms through tools. Its really critical in delivering our activities and programming in more effective and efficient

von NLEMADIM P C

Jun 12, 2020

The above course is very impacting as it addresses most of the issues that we are facing here in Nigeria. The topic that really stood out for me was PLURALISTIC IGNORANCE. I thank UNICEF,COURSERA AND THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA for this wonderful opportunity.

von Shweta B

Dec 05, 2017

It was useful and informative. What it helped me is with providing a different perpective of viewing a social set up, how the issue can be tackled and what could be the alternate way of solving it.

As a professional working in CSR it has been an aid me for.

von BALAJI A V

Jul 07, 2017

An excellent course to pursue. Cleared number of doubts about society and the decisions made by them. learning from this course will definitely benefit me in upcoming time. Many thanks to instructor, the university and coursera for such enriching course.

von Vivek R

Aug 27, 2019

It's a wonderful experience of mine as it was my first online course. The way the things have been taught was awesome. Clear Voice, subtle statements with a bunch of examples to elaborate. Subtitles to make it more clear. Regular assessment. Everything!

von Hannah A M G

Nov 04, 2018

This is a very useful and informative course for me, especially in my line of work in research and public administration. I hope more people could take this course and appreciate the process of understanding and perhaps changing social norms.

von Yazhini M

May 31, 2020

The alternating between videos and text kept me interested in the course. In my experience, I have had very little to learn from online courses, but I learned new concepts in this course. I am definitely going to do the second parts as well.

von Anil

Aug 12, 2017

Great course for those who have a concern for social change and a non prudential personal normative belief to bring a social change for benefit of all. Greatly structured course and very well explained by

Cristina Bicchieri.

Thanks a lot :-)

von Macseline B M

Apr 15, 2020

This is a good course that gives one an in debt knowledge of societal norms, community reactions to the norms and how they can be evaluated and the bad norms can be eradicated. i am very impressed and hope to continue when time permits

von Hans B v d B

Dec 30, 2017

Great course, learned a lot about analysing social norms and how the different sides of social norms. The perspectives from the field were also very interesting and informative. Also the lecturer was very articulate and a great speaker.

von Camlus O O

Dec 01, 2016

Cristina makes difficult concepts such as randomised response approach to limiting social desirability bias easy. Very easy to navigate, and the Android App is efficient and effective. Lots of new learning too, no recycled content

von Ng S M J

Feb 05, 2020

Excellent course! It is more academic and rigorous than some other courses offered here. Learnt a lot about theories of social norms and look forward to taking the second course to apply my learnings to social change.

von Milecia M

Oct 19, 2016

This class changed my view on the way I look at the world. I didn't realize how much was under the surface of how we interact with each other. This class broke down how we influence each other in the most subtle ways.

von Venkata R M

Mar 25, 2019

This course is really very helpful to me in improving my academic weightage.It's really helpful to me in gaining the knowledge.It's like studying with the real world scenarios and understanding it in much better way.

von Carmen M M

Jul 11, 2018

This is an excellent theoretical base for understanding social norms and the complex dimension to be considered in assessing impact on behavior. The lectures are well delivered and compel one toward further reading.

von Anurag

Jan 19, 2020

This course gave me the reasoning behind all events which i see on day to day basis. From complex issues by the governments to minute details shown by my friends and family. Cant Thanks enough to learn this course.

von Alvaro C

Sep 11, 2017

I really enjoyed taking this class. First of all, it gave us tools on how to approach norms and behaviours, and secondly it made is seem clear. I will definitely use some of the learnings in my future missions.

von Riaz A

Dec 02, 2017

I am grateful to Cristina Bicchieri for her amazing lectures. I enjoyed the lectures and learnt a lot. All those who are interested in social change will surely find the course extremely relevant and useful.

von David L F R

Apr 16, 2020

It is a really great course. The content is very interesting, the topics are well divided and presented, all the given information is clear and the lectures are amusing. You can learn a lot in this course.

von Rajah B

Mar 26, 2018

A brilliant course that organizes the formation of social norms as a science, helping activism aimed at changing negative norms achieve higher success rates. The Professor and Unicef did an amazing job!

von Waqar A

Nov 23, 2019

its been really wonderful to have Social Norms, Social Change certificate course . Bicchieri C, Lindemans is wonderful lecturer , explain in simple and easy way which is easy to understand.

von Sam G

Nov 09, 2017

This course is both informative and practical! It manages to convey the complexity of social norm analysis and measurement while remaining accessible to students with no prior knowledge.

von Arwa I B A

Aug 20, 2017

GOOD course i learn from it a lot of information and concepts about the community and how to analyse the behavior of my community and think different about the solution of the problem .

von Excellence T D

Oct 13, 2019

For a first time user, fresh to this information, it was stimulating and exciting to be learning how to identify social norms etc. and how to measure various aspects to effect change.

von Mohamud M

Jun 06, 2020

The course materials, videos and readings are quite detailed and appropriate to enable one easily understand the subject, participate in discussions and answer the quizzes questions.